Author Topic: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts  (Read 3229 times)

Jordy Vandeput

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 5D Mark II / 600D
Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« on: February 07, 2013, 09:29:02 AM »
Hey everyone,

I recently got a V-plate to power my LCD monitor and 5D2 camera. The output of the V-plate is 2x5 volts and 1x7 volts.
The 7v is reserved for the camera. But unfortunately my LCD monitor cannot run on 5v. So I have to attach it on 7v.

The camera however is able to run on 5v. Everything works perfectly, only my shutter sounds a little different (a more higher tone).

My question is, if this is healthy for my camera? Should I continue like this, or look for another solution and power my camera with 7v as it should be?

Thanks in advance!
DSLR evangelist and Tuts+ instructor

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2013, 09:46:55 AM »
Can't you just plug in a Y-adapter and connect both your devices to 7 Volt?  Don't know if you plate is able to run both devices at once (maximum output power exceeded or not?).

Ciao, Walter

Jordy Vandeput

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 5D Mark II / 600D
Re: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2013, 10:01:18 AM »
Can't you just plug in a Y-adapter and connect both your devices to 7 Volt?

Thanks for your reply.

Doesn't that lower the output of the 7v?
DSLR evangelist and Tuts+ instructor

g3gg0

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3166
Re: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« Reply #3 on: February 07, 2013, 10:39:39 AM »
Depends in the internal resistance of the supply and the current the both devices need.
How much amperes can the supply deliver?
Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: paypal@g3gg0.de
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

Jordy Vandeput

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 5D Mark II / 600D
Re: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« Reply #4 on: February 07, 2013, 07:06:03 PM »
Depends in the internal resistance of the supply and the current the both devices need.
How much amperes can the supply deliver?

These are the specs of the battery: 150WH / 14.8v / 10.2AH

But if it doesn't hurt to use 5v, the better.
DSLR evangelist and Tuts+ instructor

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7879
Re: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« Reply #5 on: February 07, 2013, 07:28:10 PM »
Thanks for the info but this is not the info we're looking for. Is a current limit (in Ampere/Milliampere/A/mA) given for the 7.2 volts output?

Ciao, Walter

Jordy Vandeput

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 5D Mark II / 600D
Re: Canon 5D2 running on 5 volts
« Reply #6 on: February 07, 2013, 08:01:57 PM »
Thanks for the info but this is not the info we're looking for. Is a current limit (in Ampere/Milliampere/A/mA) given for the 7.2 volts output?

Ciao, Walter

Hmm okay. Then I'll give you the specs when I get the battery. It's still shipping. I tired this test on a V-battery from a friend.

Thanks for your info so far!
DSLR evangelist and Tuts+ instructor