Author Topic: Changing Memory Card Question?  (Read 4160 times)

AJ153

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Changing Memory Card Question?
« on: January 24, 2013, 01:57:18 AM »
Ok so I own a 60D, and a 600D. I own two SanDisk Extreme Pro 8 GB SDHC Class 10 UHS-1 Flash Memory Card 95MB/s.  I plan to install Magic Lantern on both my DSLRs (with there firmware updates). I was wondering lets say if my 60D runs out of memory space, would it be okay to use my 600D's memory card into my 60D's or vis versa? Will Magic Lantern still work with changing memory cards from a different DSLR model? would it change my firmware?

Francis

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 818
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2013, 07:02:17 AM »
It is recommended to not use the same cards with different models when using Magic Lantern. Not all features are supported by all models and the configuration files might cause some difficulties. You might not have any problems but it is still not suggested. Check out this article  for some other tips and suggestions.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #2 on: January 24, 2013, 08:51:11 AM »
Most of the times the worst risk is a broken feat until you don't restore correct settings, HDR video for example on 600D you can't use values that on 60D are used so using setting from 60D to 600D could force those ISO value that on 600D will not works.

A safe way to switch card is to disable autosave and clear ML settings from ML menu and then move the card to the other camera.

And what about having this done automatically? If settings are from another camera build delete them or rename them instead of loading them?
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #3 on: January 24, 2013, 06:37:14 PM »
like load a config depending on camera model? this would work for unified in theory.

scrax

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1543
  • Code monkey
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #4 on: January 24, 2013, 07:32:58 PM »
like load a config depending on camera model? this would work for unified in theory.
Yes maybe just having a 600D_SET.CFG instead of MAGIC.CFG could work, or if we can differentiate only not sharable settings in there and others still in magic.cfg, but sems to be too complex for nothing
I'm using ML2.3 for photography with:
EOS 600DML | EOS 400Dplus | EOS 5D MLbeta5- EF 100mm f/2.8 USM Macro  - EF-S 17-85mm f4-5.6 IS USM - EF 70-200mm f/4 L USM - 580EXII - OsX, PS, LR, RawTherapee, LightZone -no video experience-

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #5 on: January 24, 2013, 07:38:49 PM »
Good point, the file can be simply called 600D.CFG and so on.

AJ153

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #6 on: January 25, 2013, 09:03:00 AM »
so its not recommended to do it?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Changing Memory Card Question?
« Reply #7 on: January 25, 2013, 12:35:18 PM »
No, unless all the cameras are the same model

edit: for backward compatiblity we should rename the existing MAGIC.CFG to ##CAMERA_MODEL##.CFG on first boot
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5