Author Topic: recording movie red dot  (Read 3644 times)

billacat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
recording movie red dot
« on: January 17, 2013, 08:04:16 AM »
 I just installed ML 2.3 on my 600D. I'm finding that the red dot that normally indicates I'm filming only stays on for a few seconds (about 4 sec) when ML is on. But it doesn't happen in normal mode. Anybody have any ideas how I can correct that?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2013, 10:37:15 AM »
Can you post a video showing the problem?

billacat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2013, 01:05:42 AM »
Hi Alex:  I'm sorry I didn't have a second camera to record what was going on.  I uninstalled ML, reformatted my card and re-installed ML. Now it's working fine.

Previously, the "Red" recording dot would appear for about 4 secs. after I started filming. It would then go away, even though the camera kept on filming.

If it happens again, I'll try to capture the bug (if there was one).

Thanks for all you do.

micklesh

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2013, 09:27:26 AM »
Hi,

This bug seems to be present in Canon firmware/hardware as it happens on stock firmware.
this bug is also noticeable on 550D and probably on other cameras, afair there are threads on the forum with similar description


michael

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2013, 09:37:00 AM »
Never noticed it, can you show a video?

micklesh

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2013, 02:54:39 PM »
not mine videos, still
problem

some kind of solution - low level format in camera menu


I've noticed only once on my 600d
card class 10.
tested and got 12 MB/s true write speed
I was not able to recreate the issue again

upd:
billacat, are you using 2 different sd cards for running the camera with and without ML?
If it is the same card, can you recreate the issue every time/sometimes you start ML?

phunkyboy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 35
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #6 on: January 21, 2013, 01:09:56 AM »
Ive seen it before< The format should fix the problem.

billacat

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: recording movie red dot
« Reply #7 on: January 22, 2013, 08:44:29 AM »
Hi Micklesh:

I'm using a class 10, 32GB SD card and no, after reformatting and re-installing ML 2.3 it hasn't happened again (yet).

Good to know it's a canon firmware issue and not ML. I'll report it to Canon.