Author Topic: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2  (Read 1000357 times)

crazyrunner33

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1050 on: August 05, 2013, 01:44:18 AM »
I tried a quick and dirty crop mode test today, I'm impressed with what I see so far and will experiment a little more with it.

5D Mark III, 7D

jemabaris

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 53
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1051 on: August 05, 2013, 02:09:10 AM »
How did you enable crop video? Is another module required? Can you give a more in depth description to the video you shot? What is the framerate? How is it possible to record more frames than the usual 41 in silent pic burst mode at an even higher resolution? Please share those infos :)

tonybeccar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1052 on: August 05, 2013, 02:20:02 AM »
How did you enable crop video? Is another module required? Can you give a more in depth description to the video you shot? What is the framerate? How is it possible to record more frames than the usual 41 in silent pic burst mode at an even higher resolution? Please share those infos :)

I think you have to zoom in 5X and then do the burst.. that's how you get in crop mode if I'm not mistaken..

I wonder what crop factor would that be in the 7D...

crazyrunner33

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1053 on: August 05, 2013, 02:28:44 AM »
I shot it the same way that I would shoot on the 5D Mark III.  To enable the crop mode you just hit the magnifying glass and viola, you have 1:1 video with no line skipping.  The resolution that was coming out of the camera was 2520x1200 and I assume the frame rate is either 29.97 or 30, we won't be able to have 23.976 until we have FPS override.  I was hitting a consistent 59 frames, it might be more than others because I'm running the Komputerbay 64 GB 1000x card.  In playback I'm hitting almost 92 MB/s and only 58 MB/s in record mode.  Jemabaris, have you tried benchmarking your card to see how it's performing?

I like the performance in crop mode, it is very clean and compares to the 5D Mark III when light properly, the 5D however looks a lot better in crop mode when you start increasing the iso.  I'd be interested in trying some super 16 glass if the crop mode can cover it.

Here's a link to the video file I uploaded to Youtube.  https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxvjJuCko_vAeTBudWNJZ1lTZ1U/edit?usp=sharing
5D Mark III, 7D

crazyrunner33

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1054 on: August 05, 2013, 02:40:01 AM »
I think you have to zoom in 5X and then do the burst.. that's how you get in crop mode if I'm not mistaken..

I wonder what crop factor would that be in the 7D...

The full sensor size is 22.3mm x 14.9 mm and the resolution is 5184 x 3456.  Full crop mode is 2520 x 1200 which would create a sensor size of  10.84mm x 5.17mm, I think.  This would put the 7D as a slightly smaller sensor than the Blackmagic Pocket Camera, it'll be even smaller at 1080p.  Otherwise it should work with Super 16 glass.  This is of course is assuming that my math is correct, someone should probably check it for me.   :)

Edit, it probably won't work with Super 16, forgot about the EF mount that's in the way. 

5D Mark III, 7D

tonybeccar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1055 on: August 05, 2013, 03:04:41 AM »
Yes you are right in your math!! But, if you hit the magnifying glass ONCE, you get into 5X... that FULL 1:1 crop mode? I mean there is NO line skipping? If there is NO line skipping then you are right, but if there is some, then we're talking about a bigger sensor in that crop mode :D.

Downloading the full res video now!!! Simply cannot believe the quality that we are getting.. will try and test myself but got crappy cards.. 166x... :/

Cheers!

britom

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 113
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1056 on: August 05, 2013, 03:13:01 AM »
The full sensor size is 22.3mm x 14.9 mm and the resolution is 5184 x 3456.  Full crop mode is 2520 x 1200 which would create a sensor size of  10.84mm x 5.17mm, I think.  This would put the 7D as a slightly smaller sensor than the Blackmagic Pocket Camera, it'll be even smaller at 1080p.  Otherwise it should work with Super 16 glass.  This is of course is assuming that my math is correct, someone should probably check it for me.   :)

Edit, it probably won't work with Super 16, forgot about the EF mount that's in the way.

You're right about the sensor size and super 16 and 1/1.2" lenses would be perfect. But i don't know, they might not focus properly because of the distance of the mount to the sensor and may need modification, also might be some problems with the mirrior of the camera. It would be nice if someone clarifies this.
7D Builds with RAW support: http://bit.ly/14Llzda

crazyrunner33

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1057 on: August 05, 2013, 03:30:29 AM »
Yes you are right in your math!! But, if you hit the magnifying glass ONCE, you get into 5X... that FULL 1:1 crop mode? I mean there is NO line skipping? If there is NO line skipping then you are right, but if there is some, then we're talking about a bigger sensor in that crop mode :D.

Downloading the full res video now!!! Simply cannot believe the quality that we are getting.. will try and test myself but got crappy cards.. 166x... :/

Cheers!

Keep in mind that is still H.264, just really high quality H.264. Here's a couple random DNG frames, try to look for any moire or aliasing on the rocks.  You'll have to bring the exposure down a little on some of them since I tried to ETTR, but I didn't know how far I could go since I didn't have the RAW zebras at the time.

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxvjJuCko_vAeVNlRlZjYng1VFU/edit?usp=sharing
5D Mark III, 7D

crazyrunner33

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1058 on: August 05, 2013, 03:33:38 AM »
You're right about the sensor size and super 16 and 1/1.2" lenses would be perfect. But i don't know, they might not focus properly because of the distance of the mount to the sensor and may need modification, also might be some problems with the mirrior of the camera. It would be nice if someone clarifies this.

That's what I'm worried about, I wouldn't be afraid to mod the camera strictly for this since I would sell I was originally going to sell it for the Blackmagic. A speedbooster might also work if we can adapt one of the current ones to an EF mount. 
5D Mark III, 7D

codypowers

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1059 on: August 05, 2013, 05:02:56 AM »
I'm noticing a grid pattern in my DNGs...  Anybody else noticing this?

tonybeccar

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 319
  • 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1060 on: August 05, 2013, 05:08:51 AM »
I'm noticing a grid pattern in my DNGs...  Anybody else noticing this?

Yes me too.. will try and upload some pictures when I get the time!

crazyrunner33

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1061 on: August 05, 2013, 05:24:28 AM »
I'm noticing a grid pattern in my DNGs...  Anybody else noticing this?

Try putting the sharpening to zero, ACR always pushes the sharpness amount to 25.  Are you seeing this pattern when pixel peeping? 
5D Mark III, 7D

Pelican

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 406
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1062 on: August 05, 2013, 08:21:17 AM »
Clear some things about make an autoboot version:

1. Download bspatch.exe, make a work folder copy the bspatch.exe there.
2. Download original Canon fw 1.1.0 (http://pel.hu/down/eos7d110.exe) and put it to the work folder and run it. It will make a fw file (7d000110.fir)
3. Download the patch (http://pel.hu/ML/booton.bsdiff) to the same folder, open a command prompt, go to the folder and type: bspatch 7d000110.fir 7dbooton.fir booton.bsdiff
4. Copy the created 7dbooton.fir to your CF cards root folder and put the card to your camera.
5. Start the firmware upgrade on your  camera. It will loading for a while then red led will be on for a few seconds (it saves the ROM.bins) and that's it, your bootdisk flag is ON now.
6. Use EOScard to make your card bootable and install ML files on it.

For disabling the bootdisk flag:
1. same as above
2. same as above
3. Download the patch (http://pel.hu/ML/bootoff.bsdiff) to the same folder, open a command prompt, go to the folder and type: bspatch 7d000110.fir 7dnoboot.fir bootoff.bsdiff
4. Copy the created 7dnoboot.fir to your CF cards root folder and put the card to your camera.
5. Start the firmware upgrade on your  camera. It will loading for a while then red led will be on for a few seconds (it saves the ROM.bins) and that's it, your bootdisk flag is OFF now.

Don't put the 7dbooton.fir and 7dnoboot.fir together on your card because you cannot choose which will run.
EOS 7D Mark II, EOS 7D, EOS 5, EOS 100 + lenses (10mm to 300mm), 600EX, 550EX, YN600EX x 3
EOScard, EOS DSLR firmwares, ARMu, NiControl, etc.: http://pel.hu/down

Digital Corpus

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 64
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1063 on: August 05, 2013, 08:27:01 AM »
Try putting the sharpening to zero, ACR always pushes the sharpness amount to 25.  Are you seeing this pattern when pixel peeping?
Video in the 7D is done not just through line skipping but pixel binning as well according to the release information. This is what is responsible for the grid like pattern. You need the VAF-7D. If either of you were local to SoCal, I'd consider loaning it out to you as I own one.
7D w/ ML | 30D | 17-55 f/2.8 IS | 70-200 f/4 L | Tokina ATX 116

codypowers

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1064 on: August 05, 2013, 08:43:44 AM »
Video in the 7D is done not just through line skipping but pixel binning as well according to the release information. This is what is responsible for the grid like pattern. You need the VAF-7D. If either of you were local to SoCal, I'd consider loaning it out to you as I own one.

I do live in SoCal, and was considering purchasing one.  It would be great to test drive one.  How effective is it in the raw files?

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1065 on: August 05, 2013, 11:24:58 AM »
Clear some things about make an autoboot version:

1. Download bspatch.exe, make a work folder copy the bspatch.exe there.
2. Download original Canon fw 1.1.0 (http://pel.hu/down/eos7d110.exe) and put it to the work folder and run it. It will make a fw file (7d000110.fir)
3. Download the patch (http://pel.hu/ML/booton.bsdiff) to the same folder, open a command prompt, go to the folder and type: bspatch 7d000110.fir 7dbooton.fir booton.bsdiff
4. Copy the created 7dbooton.fir to your CF cards root folder and put the card to your camera.
5. Start the firmware upgrade on your  camera. It will loading for a while then red led will be on for a few seconds (it saves the ROM.bins) and that's it, your bootdisk flag is ON now.
6. Use EOScard to make your card bootable and install ML files on it.

For disabling the bootdisk flag:
1. same as above
2. same as above
3. Download the patch (http://pel.hu/ML/bootoff.bsdiff) to the same folder, open a command prompt, go to the folder and type: bspatch 7d000110.fir 7dnoboot.fir bootoff.bsdiff
4. Copy the created 7dnoboot.fir to your CF cards root folder and put the card to your camera.
5. Start the firmware upgrade on your  camera. It will loading for a while then red led will be on for a few seconds (it saves the ROM.bins) and that's it, your bootdisk flag is OFF now.

Don't put the 7dbooton.fir and 7dnoboot.fir together on your card because you cannot choose which will run.

I think this should be updated to the first post lest it gets buried in the pages.

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3535
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1066 on: August 05, 2013, 11:28:14 AM »
I think this should be updated to the first post lest it gets buried in the pages.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7464.0

feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1067 on: August 05, 2013, 12:55:03 PM »
Awesome. Thank you

danistuta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1068 on: August 05, 2013, 01:00:33 PM »
A question...but in crop mode, with zoom 5x, how do you see the right video framing?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11833
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1069 on: August 05, 2013, 01:56:06 PM »
For now, you can see it by taking a few test pictures. You should be able to see them with the pic_view module (if it's not included, grab it from the regular nightly builds). Make sure you also have the file_man module.

There's a grayscale preview in raw_rec. Reminder: it's your job to port it, not mine ;)

arrinkiiii

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1101
  • ML ADDICTED 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1070 on: August 05, 2013, 02:20:16 PM »
For now, you can see it by taking a few test pictures. You should be able to see them with the pic_view module (if it's not included, grab it from the regular nightly builds). Make sure you also have the file_man module.

There's a grayscale preview in raw_rec. Reminder: it's your job to port it, not mine ;)

Wonderful  :D

Sairon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1071 on: August 05, 2013, 02:55:18 PM »
I have a problem, when used cr2hdr.exe (or cr2hdr_exp.exe)

"Doesn't look like interlaced ISO"

1) I load module
2) I use file from this msg
New nightly:
agic Lantern v2.3.NEXT.2013Aug03.7D203
Mercurial changeset: a8db5666a3dd (unified) tip
Built on 2013-08-03 21:01:55 by [email protected]
http://pel.hu/ML/autoexec.bin
http://pel.hu/ML/7D_203.sym

cr2 file: http://yadi.sk/d/5AA94pfJ7aIeN

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3535
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1072 on: August 05, 2013, 03:10:23 PM »

danistuta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Magic Lantern for 7D alpha 2
« Reply #1073 on: August 05, 2013, 03:22:34 PM »
I can't find pic_view module, is there a download direct link?
Thanks.

Sairon

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8