Author Topic: Canon 6D / Firmware 1.1.3  (Read 1292963 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8339

udugru

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #401 on: July 30, 2014, 10:14:42 AM »
Can someone looky at the FPS override? It only goes down to 0,477 FPS :/

Thanks

udugru

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #402 on: July 30, 2014, 09:53:47 PM »
@Audionut and @ Nikfreak

Nope, it should be corrected. The test should be done with the fullres-silent-pics branch (the offsets changed).

With these results, ETTR on this camera is also not much better than random exposure.

Help is needed, Alex want's us to have the offsets tested, otherwise he throws the Canon 6d out of the nightly builds (by the first of august...)
See the Full-res-Silent-pics topic for more information (see my and alex's posts on page 7)
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12523.msg124063#msg124063

Offset data is known already, I've read it in the EXIF info in an original CR2 from my 6d
The offset seen in exif info from normal Canon CR2 is:
Sensor Left Border = 84
Sensor Top Border = 50
Sensor Right Border = 5555
Sensor Bottom Border = 3697
Which results in an image 5472 width and 3648 Height

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #403 on: July 31, 2014, 07:30:06 PM »
Full-res-silent pictures things are done!
6d will be kept in the nightly builds for now  8)

Thanks Nikfreak  :D

Alright, it's correct then :D

Sidneywish

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #404 on: July 31, 2014, 08:31:23 PM »
Much thanks to everyone contributing to the nightly builds. Lots of DL but I seldom see a thank here from 6D users.

pythionoth

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #405 on: July 31, 2014, 08:39:02 PM »
Loving the nightly build attention for 6D.

Thank you SO MUCH Devs!

I'm having trouble with the mlv_snd module. Don't have any control over it beyond on/off, rate, and log.

Anybody working on this? I'd love at least some analog gain control. Shooting a short film in a couple days with a wireless lav system and it would be amazing if I could skip recording to an external recorder.

Thanks again, guys. So happy to see the 6d working its way back. Raw video is changing my life!

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #406 on: July 31, 2014, 09:30:07 PM »
MLV_sound works together with the audio controls in the canon menu.

So you can manual adjust the audiolevel in the canon menu.

This give you some controls, although I have no idea if you can check if it's only using analog gain ?

PhilMW

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 17
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #407 on: July 31, 2014, 10:31:19 PM »
Much thanks to everyone contributing to the nightly builds. Lots of DL but I seldom see a thank here from 6D users.

I definitely want to 2nd this. Thank you to all the devs, and users for the support! It's good to see things back up and running for the 6D.
Currently using: Canon 6D nightly build

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #408 on: July 31, 2014, 11:00:43 PM »
 :) Good to see more and more users with a 6d  :)

Remember, to keep Magic Lantern for the 6d alive and up to date, it's always good to look if you can help development somewhere:

Topic:Want to help with development, without having to code?
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12657

Some things are already done for 6d, some still need to be done , for example

Measure how the camera does pixel binning
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=10111.msg118232#msg118232
This one requires a suitable target to photograph.  If you have a resolution target, please jump over and help a1ex.

Accurate temperature reporting
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9673.0



From this one I already did the PAL and NTSC screen dumps for 6d, will do the screen dumps with SD monitor attached in the near future.
But I'm not using a HDMI monitor and don't have a HDMI cable, so if someone could do the screen dumps for 6d with HDMI monitor attached...
Fixing HDMI (monitor) related problems
http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=12375.0
With some new development of QMENU, it has become somewhat easier to look at monitor related issues, without the developers requiring an actual HDMI device.  To help, simply dump some image buffers.

substr

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #409 on: August 01, 2014, 01:04:21 AM »
Wow! Great job on keeping the 6D on the nightly builds! :)

column

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #410 on: August 01, 2014, 09:36:59 AM »
Hello,

I'm trying to install ML into Canon 6D firmware version 1.1.3.. After firmware update "OK" selection I have noncontinuous message:

Firmware update program
Loading…

And ML is not installed. How to solve this problem?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #411 on: August 01, 2014, 09:51:45 PM »
Don't know what you exactly mean  :-\

You updated your 6d to firmware to 1.1.3 (from the download in this topic on page 1 ?)
And then you turn camera of and on, and then there's no magic lantern ?

Can you describe better what is happening and what you did ?

peter221

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #412 on: August 02, 2014, 09:46:10 AM »
i've seen a similar problem on the 700d.
Reinstall 1.1.3 before another attempt of installing ML

Hello,

I'm trying to install ML into Canon 6D firmware version 1.1.3.. After firmware update "OK" selection I have noncontinuous message:

Firmware update program
Loading…

And ML is not installed. How to solve this problem?

column

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #413 on: August 04, 2014, 09:59:29 AM »
Don't know what you exactly mean  :-\

You updated your 6d to firmware to 1.1.3 (from the download in this topic on page 1 ?)
And then you turn camera of and on, and then there's no magic lantern ?

Can you describe better what is happening and what you did ?

My D6 is already has firmware Canon 1.1.3 (it is shown on menu). I have downloaded  magiclantern-Nightly.2014Jul30.6D113.zip, unpacked and placed all content to formatted SD card. I have following noncontiguous message while trying to update firmware from SD card:
Firmware update program
Loading…


Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #414 on: August 04, 2014, 09:02:19 PM »
Have no idea how to help you  :-\

Probably only people with a 6d are looking at this thread(which aren't that much...), so maybe start a new topic and hope somebody can help you there ?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8339
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #415 on: August 04, 2014, 09:16:57 PM »
- Make sure to have only one FIR file on card's root.
- Dial M mode, reset camera to factory defaults, including Fn settings. Run ML installation.

If this doesn't work: Format card again, download Canon's firmware version 1.1.3 from here:
http://pel.hu/eoscard and install this firmware version.
Format card again and start ML installation process once more.
Please post results.

peter221

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #416 on: August 05, 2014, 09:59:34 PM »
as I said reinstall 1.1.3 and then try magic lantern

Exile

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #417 on: August 06, 2014, 05:13:01 PM »
Hello, Ive been away for a wile and are still running tragic lantern.
If i want to update to magic lantern is it as simple as removing tl files and replacing them with ml files(like normal update)
or do I need to do something more?

Thanks in advance!

Gr, John

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #418 on: August 06, 2014, 09:24:44 PM »
Just replace the tragic lantern files withe ml files from the nightly build (ML directory and auto exec.bin)

column

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #419 on: August 08, 2014, 11:51:02 PM »
- Make sure to have only one FIR file on card's root.
- Dial M mode, reset camera to factory defaults, including Fn settings. Run ML installation.

If this doesn't work: Format card again, download Canon's firmware version 1.1.3 from here:
http://pel.hu/eoscard and install this firmware version.
Format card again and start ML installation process once more.
Please post results.

Hello, I have done everything, but this doesn't helped. Reinstallation of Cannon firmware was ok, but not ML.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8339
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #420 on: August 09, 2014, 12:05:07 AM »
Which files and directories are located in card's root directory?

Sidneywish

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #421 on: August 09, 2014, 09:24:44 PM »
Just installed the latest nightly build for 6D, the cropmark framing is off to the right when shooting MLV -- this wasn't on the precedent build, if this can help. It's not centered.

column

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #422 on: August 10, 2014, 11:44:52 PM »
Which files and directories are located in card's root directory?

F:\DCIM
F:\MISC
F:\ML
F:\autoexec.bin
F:\ML-6D113.FIR
F:\DCIM\100CANON
F:\DCIM\EOSMISC
F:\System Volume Information\IndexerVolumeGuid
F:\ML\cropmks
F:\ML\data
F:\ML\doc
F:\ML\fonts
F:\ML\logs
F:\ML\modules
F:\ML\scripts
F:\ML\settings
F:\ML\docs
F:\ML\README
F:\ML\scripts\brack.c
F:\ML\scripts\clock.c
F:\ML\scripts\dump.lua
F:\ML\scripts\dumpcfg.lua
F:\ML\scripts\hello.c
F:\ML\scripts\hello.py
F:\ML\scripts\img.c
F:\ML\scripts\keys.c
F:\ML\scripts\print.lua
F:\ML\scripts\sokoban.c
F:\ML\scripts\test.c
F:\ML\scripts\wb_shoot.lua
F:\ML\modules\6D_113.sym
F:\ML\modules\arkanoid.mo
F:\ML\modules\autoexpo.mo
F:\ML\modules\deflick.mo
F:\ML\modules\dot_tune.mo
F:\ML\modules\dual_iso.mo
F:\ML\modules\ettr.mo
F:\ML\modules\file_man.mo
F:\ML\modules\mlv_play.mo
F:\ML\modules\mlv_rec.mo
F:\ML\modules\mlv_snd.mo
F:\ML\modules\pic_view.mo
F:\ML\modules\raw_rec.mo
F:\ML\modules\silent.mo
F:\ML\data\apsc8p.lut
F:\ML\data\apsc8r.lut
F:\ML\data\ff8p.lut
F:\ML\data\ff8r.lut
F:\ML\cropmks\CineSco2.bmp
F:\ML\cropmks\CrssMtr2.bmp
F:\ML\cropmks\Passport.bmp
F:\ML\cropmks\PhiPhoto.bmp
F:\ML\cropmks\PhiVideo.bmp
F:\ML\fonts\arghlf22.rbf
F:\ML\fonts\argnor23.rbf
F:\ML\fonts\argnor28.rbf
F:\ML\fonts\argnor32.rbf
F:\ML\fonts\term12.rbf
F:\ML\fonts\term20.rbf

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8339
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #423 on: August 11, 2014, 05:01:41 AM »
DCIM
MISC
ML
autoexec.bin
ML-6D113.FIR
System Volume Information

Looks fine.
You still got stuck at
"Firmware update program
Loading…"?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Magic Lantern for 6D | Dev kit released
« Reply #424 on: August 11, 2014, 07:56:14 AM »
Just installed the latest nightly build for 6D, the cropmark framing is off to the right when shooting MLV -- this wasn't on the precedent build, if this can help. It's not centered.

As far as I know, the 5x and 10x zoom used for crop mode, are showing the the content of you're focus box, the white square on your live view.
If you can't see a white square box, switching AF off and on, on the cameralens will help. You can move the white box with the arrow keys to the center.