Author Topic: Canon 650D [OLD]  (Read 978813 times)

Lucas_W

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1675 on: May 30, 2013, 07:00:11 AM »
Go ahead.  ;)
Canon EOS 650D + Kit lens, EF 50mm 1.8 and 52mm polariser.

lordgnagey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1676 on: May 30, 2013, 07:01:27 AM »
Here's an early test. It's a 1600 x 540 3:1 (if memory serves) and sorry it got downsampled to 720p (I hate QuickTime presets). Ill have a more interesting full 1080p stream later tonight. Plus plenty of reference DNGs.

As a reference this is California sunrise at around 7:30am... Very bright but you can see the details both inside and outside.


Edit: I promise the next upload won't be as ugly. :P
"You're all freaks, sir. But you always have been freaks. Life is a freak. That's its hope and glory."  - The Robot Bartender

xanta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Not new here anymore!
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1677 on: May 30, 2013, 09:31:41 AM »
Here's an early test. It's a 1600 x 540 3:1 (if memory serves) and sorry it got downsampled to 720p (I hate QuickTime presets). Ill have a more interesting full 1080p stream later tonight. Plus plenty of reference DNGs.

As a reference this is California sunrise at around 7:30am... Very bright but you can see the details both inside and outside.


Edit: I promise the next upload won't be as ugly. :P

that sequence seems fine despite the moire~~
looking forward to seeing your next one, IF the 650D can do a real 1080P RAW  that would be fantastic~
650D 18-135mm kit, 50-1.8 lens
hoping it can do faster than 45MB/s on RAW video mode......

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1678 on: May 30, 2013, 10:00:37 AM »
You can get rid of the moire by using raw_rec with the 5X zoom in movie mode, which basically gives you the good old "crop zoom mode" of the 600D
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

Aborgh

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1679 on: May 30, 2013, 01:34:22 PM »
Here's an early test. It's a 1600 x 540 3:1 (if memory serves) and sorry it got downsampled to 720p (I hate QuickTime presets). Ill have a more interesting full 1080p stream later tonight. Plus plenty of reference DNGs.

As a reference this is California sunrise at around 7:30am... Very bright but you can see the details both inside and outside.


Edit: I promise the next upload won't be as ugly. :P


How do you change the resolution on raw video?
Cameras: Canon EOS 650D and Canon 50 (the old one) Lenses: 18-55mm kit lens , Canon 50mm , Sigma 18-105mm

kostasra

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1680 on: May 30, 2013, 01:49:04 PM »
Sorry but I think I'm foolish because I can't pass the program to camera....

xaxa
Canon 650d with 18-135mm is STM and 50mm f/1.8 II
Flickr account

xanta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Not new here anymore!
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1681 on: May 30, 2013, 01:54:03 PM »

How do you change the resolution on raw video?

Q button is for further settings of the feature, try it 
650D 18-135mm kit, 50-1.8 lens
hoping it can do faster than 45MB/s on RAW video mode......

Aborgh

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1682 on: May 30, 2013, 03:24:45 PM »
Q button is for further settings of the feature, try it

When I go in silent picture I can only choose Simple , burst , burst en trigger , best shots and slit-scan. Am I missing something here?
Cameras: Canon EOS 650D and Canon 50 (the old one) Lenses: 18-55mm kit lens , Canon 50mm , Sigma 18-105mm

dngrhm

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 83
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1683 on: May 30, 2013, 03:40:54 PM »
When I go in silent picture I can only choose Simple , burst , burst en trigger , best shots and slit-scan. Am I missing something here?
Raw is a completely separate module.  You need a build with the raw_rec module.  Either compile the source yourself or use a satriani build.  (This is alpha territory. If you can't live with a bricked camera, don't do it.  If you do and experience a lockup where your camera or ML don't respond, remove your battery immediately to stop all processes and prevent your camera from overheating)

Once you have the correct ML installed on the SD card.  Open the ML menu and there should be a new "M" menu.  Select load modules under the "M" menu.  Raw rec will then appear under video.
EOS 650D + 620 | Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 STM + 55-250mm f/4-5.6 | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8
Mac OS 10.9 | PinkDotRemoval Tool | RAWMagic | DaVinci Resolve | FCP X

Aborgh

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1684 on: May 30, 2013, 04:17:22 PM »
Raw is a completely separate module.  You need a build with the raw_rec module.  Either compile the source yourself or use a satriani build.  (This is alpha territory. If you can't live with a bricked camera, don't do it.  If you do and experience a lockup where your camera or ML don't respond, remove your battery immediately to stop all processes and prevent your camera from overheating)

Once you have the correct ML installed on the SD card.  Open the ML menu and there should be a new "M" menu.  Select load modules under the "M" menu.  Raw rec will then appear under video.

Thanks man it works! But how to open the files in a computer? Do you know any converting software?

Nevermind! Found a whole thread about this :P
Cameras: Canon EOS 650D and Canon 50 (the old one) Lenses: 18-55mm kit lens , Canon 50mm , Sigma 18-105mm

33black

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1685 on: May 30, 2013, 07:52:09 PM »
So does anyone out there have a comparison of the standard T4i HD video, versus the RAW video?

I'm an actor, still learning more about the technical side of the business, going to try and do some of my own shorts at some point, so don't flame me for this question.  I learn better visually instead of reading about luminance values and raw data.

Now that someone has made the very beginning version of it available on the T4i, I am just curious what that looks like.  I get that the idea is that it's the raw data from the sensor, and there is no compression or processing of WB or anything from the camera, but what sort of image will that get vs the standard.

Great work to everyone.  If I was still back in high school years ago cracking away at ansi C, I'd try and pitch in, but I've mostly forgotten.

Except for printf().

Aborgh

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1686 on: May 30, 2013, 07:59:10 PM »
Here's an early test. It's a 1600 x 540 3:1 (if memory serves) and sorry it got downsampled to 720p (I hate QuickTime presets). Ill have a more interesting full 1080p stream later tonight. Plus plenty of reference DNGs.

As a reference this is California sunrise at around 7:30am... Very bright but you can see the details both inside and outside.


Edit: I promise the next upload won't be as ugly. :P

How did you get rid of the red lines?
Cameras: Canon EOS 650D and Canon 50 (the old one) Lenses: 18-55mm kit lens , Canon 50mm , Sigma 18-105mm

Gorilla

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1687 on: May 30, 2013, 08:03:11 PM »
I get that the idea is that it's the raw data from the sensor, and there is no compression or processing of WB or anything from the camera, but what sort of image will that get vs the standard.

Someone else will be able to give a better answer than this, but basically the raw video would probably give you an image that is sharper, contains very little to no noise reduction, has less banding, and has a greater dynamic range.
Canon T4i - Canon 50mm 1.4 - Samyang 35mm 1.4

lordgnagey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1688 on: May 30, 2013, 10:48:17 PM »

How do you change the resolution on raw video?

 By adjusting the raw_rec module. There is a section to select aspect ratio and another for choosing horizontal resolution.
"You're all freaks, sir. But you always have been freaks. Life is a freak. That's its hope and glory."  - The Robot Bartender

red5446

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1689 on: May 30, 2013, 10:52:33 PM »
if useful i have some crash logs:
currently using the build of satriani.
works ok. but be careful i got a semibrick or err (i dont remember what number i just pull of the battery and all is allright)

if i use 24fps over ride i can obtain 600+ frames of 1280x720. That´s 3x times what i get the normal way. But it crashes if i choose other any option than optimized for low light.

1crash
Quote
ASSERT: 0
at ./Capture/Capture.c:509, task EventMgr
lv:0 mode:3
Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.650D101
Mercurial changeset   : 87906563dde1 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 11:44:35 by root@magiclantern-VirtualBox.
Free Memory  : 106K + 3457K
2. crashes
Quote
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR(semErr)
at ./EekoApp/Color/WB/LV/LvWbAlgorWrap.c:522, task CLR_CALC
lv:1 mode:3
Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.650D101
Mercurial changeset   : 87906563dde1 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 11:44:35 by root@magiclantern-VirtualBox.
Free Memory  : 106K + 3433K
2 crashes
Quote
ASSERT: !IS_ERROR(semErr)
at ./EekoApp/Color/WB/LV/LvWbAlgorWrap.c:522, task CLR_CALC
lv:0 mode:3
Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.650D101
Mercurial changeset   : 87906563dde1 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 11:44:35 by root@magiclantern-VirtualBox.
Free Memory  : 106K + 3464K

assert log for all crashes:
Quote
ML ASSERT:
PROP_LEN(206000a) correct:4 called:18
at ../../src/property.c:308 (prop_request_change), task GuiMainTask
lv:1 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : v2.3.NEXT.2013May28.650D101
Mercurial changeset   : 87906563dde1 (unified) tip
Built on 2013-05-28 11:44:35 by root@magiclantern-VirtualBox.
Free Memory  : 106K + 3463K

LOG000.LOG
Quote
Wed May 29 04:47:30 2013
      0:    33.238 [STARTUP]
K301 ICU Firmware Version 1.0.1 ( 5.5.9 )
      1:    33.271 [STARTUP]
ICU Release DateTime 2012.05.24 17:48:32
      2:    35.259 [SEQ] seqEventDispatch (Startup, 0)
      3:    35.286 [STARTUP] startupEntry
      4:    35.367 [PROPAD] PROPAD_CreateFROMPropertyHandle DRAMAddr 0x42000000
      5:    36.066 [PROPAD] SerialFlash Packages!! 0x10000
      6:    46.584 [STARTUP] InitializeIntercom
      7:    46.839 [STARTUP] InitializeIntercom End(0x0)
      8:    95.605 [PROPAD] SerialFlash Packages!! 0x7
      9:    96.266 [PROPAD] SerialFlash Packages!! 0x340000
     10:   125.867 [PROPAD] SerialFlash Packages!! 0x7
     11:   125.963 [STARTUP] startupPropAdminMain : End
     12:   126.026 [SEQ] seqEventDispatch (Startup, 1)
     13:   126.055 [STARTUP] startupPrepareProperty
     14:   127.855 [SEQ] seqEventDispatch (Startup, 2)
     15:   128.284 [RSC] hMemoryQueue (0x980010) hStorageQueue (0x9A0012)
     16:   129.522 [RSC] ### LIST 6 0 6 ###
     17:   141.284 [JOB] InitializeJobClass (ID = 5592, Num = 13)
     18:   143.279 [EM] emLockControl (TYPE_JOBSTATE = 0x0)
     19:   145.193 [JOB] InitializeInnerDevelopJobClass (ID = 5592, Num = 16)
     20:   145.224 [JOB] InitializeHDRShootJobClass ( Num = 12 )
     21:   145.249 [JOB] InitializeHDRSaveAndEndJobClass ( Num = 32 )
     22:   145.273 [JOB] InitializeGISShootJobClass ( Num = 12 )
     23:   145.300 [JOB] InitializeGISSaveAndEndJobClass ( Num = 26, 32 )
     24:   147.713 [RTC] ChangePropertyCBR 0x0, 0x0
     25:   148.106 [RTC] RTC_Permit 0x20
     26:   149.149 [RTC] InitializeRTCDriver 0x20, 0xff1306dc
     27:   149.898 [DOS]threshold 0x37a 0x35c
     28:   154.482 [SND] Seq LPC fin
     29:   154.845 [SHTRD] [MNAV] MEMNAVI_Initialize
     30:   155.132 [SHTRD] [MNAV] MEMNAVI_SetMemoryMap: 1
     31:   157.095 [ENG] [ENGIO](Addr:0x41400000, Data:0x   44000)
     32:   160.928 [ENAV] EEKO_NAVI_Initialize[START]
     33:   161.255 [ENAV] EekoNavi_InitializeEekoSystem
     34:   161.313 [ENAV] EEKO_NAVI_Initialize[FINISH]
     35:   194.267 [ENAV] Eeko Initialized:Async
     36:   194.343 [SHTP] spsInit
     37:   211.330 [FM] FM_RegisterSpaceNotifyCallback
     38:   211.365 [MRK] MRK_RegisterSpaceNotifyCallback
     39:   211.433 [FM] FM_RegisterSpaceNotifyCallback
     40:   211.598 [TERMINATE] SHUTDOWN init comp
     41:   211.652 [TERMINATE] Abort init comp
     42:   214.682 [MC] PROP_GUI_STATE 0
     43:   214.935 [MC] JobState 0
     44:   215.720 [MC] PROP_VARIANGLE_GUICTRL : Enable
     45:   215.780 [MC] [MC] PROP_HEADPHONE_VOLUME_VALUE : 0
     46:   215.906 [MC] [MC] PROP_MOVIE_PLAY_VOLUME : 9
     47:   216.873 [MC] regist master CardCover
     48:   557.153 [SD] sdSendOCR: 1.8V Signaling Card
     49:   558.375 [SD] sdSendOCR: Hi-Capacity Card
     50:   566.787 [SD] Set 1.8V Signaling
     51:   601.640 [SD] CARD CAPACITY is 30436Mbyte( 62333952Sec )
   42:   214.682 [MC] PROP_GUI_STATE 0
     43:   214.935 [MC] JobState 0
     44:   215.720 [MC

Benchmarks with a sandisk 45MB/s


Please anyone with a 95MB/s make a benchmark a post it, will be helpful to see what buffer are better and if by any chance there is at least 10MB more of performance over a 45MBs :)

lordgnagey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1690 on: May 30, 2013, 11:04:09 PM »

How did you get rid of the red lines?

Color and Luminance noise reduction in photoshop. But they do appear to degrade the image when turned up too high. In the future uploads this apparition will probably be more pronounced, but only to retain detail in the resulting video.
"You're all freaks, sir. But you always have been freaks. Life is a freak. That's its hope and glory."  - The Robot Bartender

papkee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Casual amateur
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1691 on: May 30, 2013, 11:06:41 PM »
I've got an extreme pro 95mb/s. I'll have to play around with this today.

Downloading a build now. :)
EOS 650D, a bunch of random lenses & adapters

papkee

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 72
  • Casual amateur
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1692 on: May 30, 2013, 11:33:40 PM »
Okay, videos are processing now.

So far with a SanDisk Extreme Pro 16gb 95mb/s card the max I've been able to use RAW-wise has been 1440 at 2.35:1 with sound off. Anything higher uses up the buffer and recording stops within 100 frames. So overall not bad. If we can ever figure out how to downsample to 10bit in-camera we may have some very usable footage soon.

Will be posting test videos later today.
EOS 650D, a bunch of random lenses & adapters

lordgnagey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1693 on: May 31, 2013, 12:27:48 AM »
if useful i have some crash logs:
currently using the build of satriani.
works ok. but be careful i got a semibrick or err (i dont remember what number i just pull of the battery and all is allright)

if i use 24fps over ride i can obtain 600+ frames of 1280x720. That´s 3x times what i get the normal way. But it crashes if i choose other any option than optimized for low light.

1crash2. crashes2 crashes
assert log for all crashes:
LOG000.LOG
Benchmarks with a sandisk 45MB/s


Please anyone with a 95MB/s make a benchmark a post it, will be helpful to see what buffer are better and if by any chance there is at least 10MB more of performance over a 45MBs :)


UHS-I only appears to be useful when UHS is usable by the cardbus...




I'm only getting 37.9MB/s MAX! I've tried this with and without Global Draw enabled and I get the same result.
 :( It literally hits a cieling. what card do you use? Is it this one:

http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Extreme-Pro-SDHC-SDSDXP1-032G/dp/B004JJQN8G/ref=pd_sim_pc_1
"You're all freaks, sir. But you always have been freaks. Life is a freak. That's its hope and glory."  - The Robot Bartender

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7229
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1694 on: May 31, 2013, 01:43:46 AM »
I'm only getting 37.9MB/s MAX! I've tried this with and without Global Draw enabled and I get the same result.
 :( It literally hits a cieling.

Benchmark results seem to differ in photo and video mode ...
Sandisk 95 MByte/s, 8 GByte
I use this build:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/sh/q1zrrlmy03psr2y/NoRx3aSzTl/ML_N_28.05.2013.zip



10 MByte/s more would be fine, but it seems the controller is the bottleneck.
Ciao, Walter
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

red5446

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1695 on: May 31, 2013, 02:48:18 AM »
Benchmark results seem to differ in photo and video mode ...
Sandisk 95 MByte/s, 8 GByte
I use this build:
https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/sh/q1zrrlmy03psr2y/NoRx3aSzTl/ML_N_28.05.2013.zip



10 MByte/s more would be fine, but it seems the controller is the bottleneck.
Ciao, Walter

looks like with a t4i it´s best to get a 45MB/s  card because with a 95MB/s you don´t get better performance at all.
anyways it will be cool to know if t5i has the same limitation.
i think at least 10MB/s more will get the job done for 1280x720

lordgnagey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1696 on: May 31, 2013, 03:20:21 AM »
looks like with a t4i it´s best to get a 45MB/s  card because with a 95MB/s you don´t get better performance at all.
anyways it will be cool to know if t5i has the same limitation.
i think at least 10MB/s more will get the job done for 1280x720

I'm sorry my first response was off, I misread your post. You're right, buying a UHS-I 95MB/s card is pointless if you are only using it on the T4i...

HOWEVER future UHS-I compliant devices will more than likely take advantage of the more than double speed increase from the 45 to the 95 cards. The prices aren't that different, so I say why not future proof your cards?
"You're all freaks, sir. But you always have been freaks. Life is a freak. That's its hope and glory."  - The Robot Bartender

MarlonSenanayake

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 58
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1697 on: May 31, 2013, 05:00:51 AM »

lordgnagey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1698 on: May 31, 2013, 05:25:46 AM »

I had to compress it pretty heavily to get it to upload, but the ProRes 422 file is about 1 gig. I've put the ProRes file on Dropbox and it should be able to view later, I'll update this post with the link when finished.

I'm going to wait until we figure out whether or not the color apparition can be dealt with in camera before I do too much more with RAW video.
"You're all freaks, sir. But you always have been freaks. Life is a freak. That's its hope and glory."  - The Robot Bartender

xanta

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 39
  • Not new here anymore!
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #1699 on: May 31, 2013, 10:25:55 AM »

I had to compress it pretty heavily to get it to upload, but the ProRes 422 file is about 1 gig. I've put the ProRes file on Dropbox and it should be able to view later, I'll update this post with the link when finished.

I'm going to wait until we figure out whether or not the color apparition can be dealt with in camera before I do too much more with RAW video.

That one was great! i wonder what SDcard you used for this, and is there any frame skipped?
i have my own 650D tested but the res must be set to 1280*720 so that it will not skip frames too soon

another problem i have now is the strange red and blue dots on the picture as i posted before
650D 18-135mm kit, 50-1.8 lens
hoping it can do faster than 45MB/s on RAW video mode......