Author Topic: Canon 650D [OLD]  (Read 1184037 times)

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #350 on: January 30, 2013, 10:50:32 PM »
Same here. Could be something different on some cameras?


Have you worked it out yet?
Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #351 on: January 30, 2013, 10:51:56 PM »
Please stop testing the build. Don't run the Firmware Upgrade
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #352 on: January 30, 2013, 11:05:42 PM »
Please stop testing the build. Don't run the Firmware Upgrade


Major issue or compiling the real alpha or what?

Canon Amateur

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #353 on: January 30, 2013, 11:11:19 PM »
ML is up and running.
Stability test runs perfect, but on screen I see some [fail] messages.
Touching the screen is the same as hitting the Q-button. That's nice.
Now checking out other functions.
Canon EOS 7D / Canon 1D Mark III / Lytro illum

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #354 on: January 30, 2013, 11:12:16 PM »
Major issue, the devkit had one check missing and could potentially screw up the boot flags (like it happened to baga)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #355 on: January 30, 2013, 11:14:36 PM »
Major issue, the devkit had one check missing and could potentially screw up the boot flags (like it happened to baga)

K. Oh btw Adv. Bracketing is under my shoot menu on mine.


Also, did you catch the bit about magic zoom being a little sketch not just with the green lines? Can't pull it up during recording unless I set it to focus+zrec

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #356 on: January 30, 2013, 11:21:59 PM »
It means that zoom isn't detected while recording, I'll have to disable that too (like it's on the 5D3 i think).

So, in the end, who managed to run the pre-alpha1 ?
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #357 on: January 30, 2013, 11:26:10 PM »
It means that zoom isn't detected while recording, I'll have to disable that too (like it's on the 5D3 i think).

So, in the end, who managed to run the pre-alpha1 ?

No, it's working on the 5d3 during recording. Just checked. Only thing on the 5d3 is that I have my SET button to zoom and that doesn't pull up magic zoom, only the real zoom does. That's a whole other issue though... more like a feature request than anything

ximes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #358 on: January 30, 2013, 11:57:27 PM »
It means that zoom isn't detected while recording, I'll have to disable that too (like it's on the 5D3 i think).

So, in the end, who managed to run the pre-alpha1 ?

First of all, thank you Nanomad for your work :-D
I tested just before your advice :-P I got the same error of baga, then finished the procedure following your instructions. I tried only few basic things (zebras, cropmarks) with no noticeable issues.
While the ML menu is active some elements of the main UI (such histogram or exposure level) randomly pop up and down when you press the shutter button.

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #359 on: January 31, 2013, 12:11:59 AM »
Notice the line top left corner.  Second picture is what it will later look like a few seconds later.
1:
2:
Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #360 on: January 31, 2013, 12:14:42 AM »
1st time installed.

Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

Greg

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 607

JannF

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #362 on: January 31, 2013, 01:19:05 AM »
Mhmm pre-alpha1 just runs fine on my camera.
Menu begins to flicker if exited with half pressed shutter button and SD Benchmark crashes.

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #363 on: January 31, 2013, 03:58:17 AM »
If everything installed alright on mine, is the major issue with bootflags still a hazard?

33black

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #364 on: January 31, 2013, 05:50:20 AM »
Just got home from work since 10am.  Did the pre-alpha already disappear?  link isn't working.

Can someone sum up what's going on?

Maddoxfotos

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #365 on: January 31, 2013, 06:37:32 AM »
Count me in too, I have 3 t4i's two that are just sitting around right know so I'm willing to lend a hand and test on those two.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
R: Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #366 on: January 31, 2013, 06:43:15 AM »
Notice the line top left corner.  Second picture is what it will later look like a few seconds later.
1:
2:
Easy enough... Forgot to tell you that you need the ML folder from one of the nightly builds
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

33black

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #367 on: January 31, 2013, 08:14:39 AM »
No?  Anyone?  Bueller?

saha007

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #368 on: January 31, 2013, 09:38:07 AM »
tell me how to install the alpha?, I can not find the manual.
I use T4i/650D and 600D (ML) for the video, I Wedding operator!
My Site - http://harodeii.wix.com/profilm

kazeone

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • 650D
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #369 on: January 31, 2013, 09:40:30 AM »

saha007

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #370 on: January 31, 2013, 09:50:09 AM »
OK, but the link does not work on alpha.
I use T4i/650D and 600D (ML) for the video, I Wedding operator!
My Site - http://harodeii.wix.com/profilm

kazeone

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
  • 650D
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #371 on: January 31, 2013, 09:54:19 AM »
They are working on a few things right now so you have to wait until they bring it back up.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #372 on: January 31, 2013, 10:02:04 AM »
Exactly, there was an issue with the old installer that could cause the camera to enter an invalid state while writing the bootflag. We got a fix but at this point I've got enough testers for a "closed" alpha1 testing before releasing it in the open
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

loplo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #373 on: January 31, 2013, 10:48:37 AM »
Hey guys, back after 12hrs of internet outage.
@baga, no I did not magane to do the firmware dumping as required
@nanomad, what is causing the font - ooops issue?
BTW, I've tried to boot the camera with the ML, it runs, the EV is always overlaying ML. Live view was very laggy and I did not manage to record more than 15 seconds.
I'm looking forward to see the alpha.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #374 on: January 31, 2013, 12:25:54 PM »
I don't remember what's triggering the font oops issue, but it probably has to do with a wrong memory address in the build. Anyway, seems like you have the bootflag ON on your camera so no worries.
Movie recording, on the other hand, is a strange issue I never experienced myself. Please check the following:
- You're able to record more than 15 secs without ML (use another card or disable the bootflag using EOSCard)
- You do not have FPS override enabled (check inside ML menu)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5