Author Topic: Canon 650D [OLD]  (Read 1174218 times)

Ivarss

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Dyxlexia and Dyscalcia has its scars...
Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #325 on: January 30, 2013, 06:30:29 PM »
WARNING: This will make both your card and your camera bootable. It should also be the only "permanent" change to your camera this build does, but I cannot guarantee you that

Reading that makes me wonder what that even means!

Not home right now so cant access my camera right now and get started!
Dyxlexia and Dyscalcia has its scars...

loplo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #326 on: January 30, 2013, 06:44:30 PM »
After 1st boot up I go to upgrade firmware and let it update, next it goes to the main menu.  Hello World comes up, signature=0x12aeb7b3, enableBootDisk, oops!  In the top left corner in real small print "font addr bad"

What am I doing wrong?  If I try using the camera it seems fine but once it powers down on it's own I find the drive light came back on or right after the sensor clean if I shut it down on my own. 

I've reformat and tried about 5 times.

Where am I dropping the ball?
I assume you did not follow this:
Run EOSCard, select your card, make it bootable (check all the flags, don't touch the ML or CHDK buttons)

Jseeker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #327 on: January 30, 2013, 07:13:58 PM »
Correct, lens focusing requires props

About bracketing, are you sure it's not in the shoot menu under the name of Adv. bracketing? (no camera here, so I can't check, sorry)

About movie restart, can you check if the "clear overlays when recording" feature works?
MOVIE RESTART - Yes Overlay does clear when I hit record (after turning on this setting)

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #328 on: January 30, 2013, 07:18:40 PM »
I assume you did not follow this:
Run EOSCard, select your card, make it bootable (check all the flags, don't touch the ML or CHDK buttons)
I thought I followed it.  I use a Mac and used MacBook.
Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #329 on: January 30, 2013, 07:49:17 PM »

About bracketing, are you sure it's not in the shoot menu under the name of Adv. bracketing? (no camera here, so I can't check, sorry)


under advance bracketing i have:
-bracket type
-frames
-ev increment
-sequence
-2 sec delay
-iso shifting
-post scripts

With all the options there it may be the HDR you mean, but noting called HDR
eos400D :: eos650D  :: Sigma 18-200 :: Canon 100mm macro

loplo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 36
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #330 on: January 30, 2013, 08:37:25 PM »
Same here. Could be something different on some cameras?

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #331 on: January 30, 2013, 08:48:32 PM »
I couldn't get the screen shot to upload so I just re-did everything again and then got stupid and tried moving files around (4g card) when that didn't work.  I still get the error message including the oops. 

I figure this part is normal.  Every time I turn the camera on/off/install batteries the firmware upgrade screen comes up and loads.  If I install my none ML 32g card no bootup and looks for upgrade file.
I'm not sure what steps to take.
Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
R: Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #332 on: January 30, 2013, 08:51:01 PM »
under advance bracketing i have:
-bracket type
-frames
-ev increment
-sequence
-2 sec delay
-iso shifting
-post scripts

With all the options there it may be the HDR you mean, but noting called HDR
What I meant is that it's called advanced bracketing now, but don't bother testing as it's not working in this build :P
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #333 on: January 30, 2013, 08:53:37 PM »
If I ignore the message and just start using the camera it works fine except for only 15 second movie of record time and then it turns the recording off. 
Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

Dr_Bigdiq

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #334 on: January 30, 2013, 09:03:19 PM »
Lets gets this going! I'm ready to get audio monitoring, I'm not sure if anything else matters!  Though it would be a bonus to have more manual features in video mode.

blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: R: Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #335 on: January 30, 2013, 09:05:43 PM »
What I meant is that it's called advanced bracketing now, but don't bother testing as it's not working in this build :P

Thats clear then wont test it....  testing video >4GB now...
eos400D :: eos650D  :: Sigma 18-200 :: Canon 100mm macro

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
R: Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #336 on: January 30, 2013, 09:11:37 PM »
If I ignore the message and just start using the camera it works fine except for only 15 second movie of record time and then it turns the recording off.
Does this happen with of without the autoexec bin on the card?

edit: I'm in the chat (http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/chat/index.php) if you want faster help
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

blade

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 195
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #337 on: January 30, 2013, 09:29:01 PM »
If i film above the 4GB the counter gets stuck at 0:03... however the file is split and just continues to record
eos400D :: eos650D  :: Sigma 18-200 :: Canon 100mm macro

baga

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #338 on: January 30, 2013, 09:36:23 PM »
Same here. Could be something different on some cameras?


That's the screen.
Canon T4i/650d, Battery grip,  Xti/400d, 5 lenses, 2x converter, External flash hot shoe, Minolta XG7, power winder, Minolta X700, power winder grip, Sunpak 522 with dedicated sensors, dedicated hot shoe flash, 2x converter, 6 lenes and 4 older cameras

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #339 on: January 30, 2013, 09:38:47 PM »
I know that, but did you continue with the install procedure? Or did you stop right there?
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #340 on: January 30, 2013, 09:41:20 PM »
Up and running! Everything's great so far!

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #341 on: January 30, 2013, 09:54:00 PM »
To whoever is having issues, what OS do you have?
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #342 on: January 30, 2013, 10:03:48 PM »
Magic zoom is having issues on mine. Works when not recording. When recording, only Focus+Zrec works.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8283
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #343 on: January 30, 2013, 10:04:19 PM »
Is "Trap Focus" not working in this pre-alpha?

Ciao, Walter

Jseeker

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #344 on: January 30, 2013, 10:06:35 PM »
Windows 8 (issue with MOVIE RESTART)

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #345 on: January 30, 2013, 10:08:49 PM »
To whoever is having issues, what OS do you have?

Issues with the installation, that's what I meant :P
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

1ricca

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
  • Level 50 - Power User
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #346 on: January 30, 2013, 10:14:24 PM »
What happened with the chat? Keeps failing on me...

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #347 on: January 30, 2013, 10:17:33 PM »
There were more than 5 users logged in, so it threw a stack overflow :P

breaker

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 73
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #348 on: January 30, 2013, 10:42:03 PM »
First of all, Thanks a lot for your work nanomad!  :)

I had the signature/oops issue during installation, but continued without any problem. ML autoloads during every startup. I don't have any issues with short video clips.
Issues i have seen : Canon graphics sometimes overwrites the ML menu (follow focus square). Magic zoom does not draw green lines when in focus, and splitscreen does not adjust.

I am using Win8.
EOS 7D | EOS 650D | Sigma 30mm f/1.4 | Canon EF-S 15-85mm f/3.5-5.6 | Canon EF-S 18-135mm f/3.5-5.6 STM | 50D RAW Monster :-D

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Canon 650D [Status: Hello, world!]
« Reply #349 on: January 30, 2013, 10:45:25 PM »
- Canon graphics sometimes overwrites the ML menu: Confirmed
- Magic zoom does not draw green lines when in focus: Confirmed, looks like the focus confirmation structure has changed (the address should be correct)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5