Author Topic: Programmable AF Confirm chips  (Read 21333 times)

daz101

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Programmable AF Confirm chips
« on: October 23, 2012, 11:46:03 AM »
Hi,
I have recently (due to a tight budget) discovered a way to use older lenses with my 600d using adapters available through ebay,
Also available on ebay are AF confirm chips.

The one i have installed at the moment is permanently programmed to 50mm F/1.6 and works well apart from the exif data being wrong but i have just ordered a couple of new ones which can be programmed.

Its a long shot because i really dont know whats involved but would it be possible to edit these things through ML?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12422
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #1 on: October 23, 2012, 11:48:59 AM »
You mean, the dandelion?

It may be possible to create some scripts that do the necessary actions (like adjust aperture, take pics) and make the task easier.

daz101

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #2 on: October 23, 2012, 12:01:26 PM »
I actually hadn't heard of the Dandelion, the chips i have ordered are much cheaper so im not sure if they will work in the same way.
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/120943299638?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1439.l2649
When i ordered these i just presumed i could programme them myself, but i have just recieved an email from the seller asking what i want them programmed to (could be a while before i get them though because they are from China and i am in the UK)

But having said that if ML can program Dandilion chips then at least i would know to get Dandilion chips so that would still be great!

dean.peace

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #3 on: October 23, 2012, 01:25:18 PM »
i  use these EMF af chips.
(http://www.ebay.com/itm/EMF-AF-confirm-M42-lens-to-canon-adapter-eos-5D-1000D-/220677929027?pt=US_Lens_Adapters_Mounts_Tubes&hash=item33616df843)
great thing is that you can make Focus micro-adjustment,
not so great is that you have to do  a loot of photos to calibrate this chip (  min 9  pictures for 1 calibration)
my question would be
how to calibrate without making actual picture, perhaps with fake pictures ??


tools: canon 550d and a loot of mf lenses

daz101

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #4 on: October 23, 2012, 04:10:33 PM »
I managed to contact the seller before they had shipped and now have the emf type ordered but im still not sure if they are the same as the Dandelion chip?
I have asked the seller but probably won't get a reply till tomorrow.
But like i said, even if ML only worked with Dandelion the thats the type i would get  ;)

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2012, 12:30:39 AM »
Be very careful with AF chips if you get them without an adapter. I bricked (and subsequently repaired) my 5d1 twice when trying to get the Optix v5+ mounted. I probably shorted the cpu contacts.

1%

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5936
  • 600D/6D/50D/EOSM/7D
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2012, 03:35:48 AM »
I'll second about the unmounted chips being a PITA. I did mark/position it the first time but epoxy-ing it was not fun.

PhotoCat

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2012, 08:52:53 AM »
Why don't we just get rid of the AF confirm chips altogether with ML!
Can we use software to fake the signal coming back from the dummy AF confirm chips?
After all, the real AF confirm is inside the camera but not in the lens LOL!
If so, no epoxy is ever needed! Just screw on a manual focus lens and shoot with ML!

PhotoCat

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2012, 08:59:58 AM »
or just set a flag inside the camera to turn on focus-confirm :)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12422
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2012, 09:08:55 AM »
Why don't you tell us how to do it?

On-topic: my no-name AF chip works on all digic 4 cameras, but not on 5D3. On 5D3 it simply closes any menus randomly (every 1-2 seconds). So... be careful with them.

I remember a topic where a user bricked the 5D3 with such an adapter and had to send it to service..

daz101

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2012, 11:04:06 AM »
Why don't we just get rid of the AF confirm chips altogether with ML!
Can we use software to fake the signal coming back from the dummy AF confirm chips?
After all, the real AF confirm is inside the camera but not in the lens LOL!
If so, no epoxy is ever needed! Just screw on a manual focus lens and shoot with ML!

Ooh that would be good (if its possible)EDIT: it's not, i just looked) may upset a few ebay sellers though  ;D How about an Exif data editor too?

I got a reply from the seller of the chips i've ordered and they are the emf af type and not Dandelion whatever that means?
with these you do get a little plasic template to hopefully get it properly alligned but thanks for the heads up about bricking the camera!
hopefully that won't happen.

engardeknave

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 339
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2012, 01:47:03 PM »
Quote
I remember a topic where a user bricked the 5D3 with such an adapter and had to send it to service..

Here's what I had to do to my 5d1 to get it working again. Apparently that's some sort of fuse.

PhotoCat

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2012, 04:47:15 PM »
Why don't you tell us how to do it?



I am sorry Alex, I was just thinking out loud... Perhaps it is just not possible, if the
Canon focus confirm circuit doesn't tie to any firmware.  Thanks for all the great work!
Really appreciate it!

ryebrye

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #13 on: October 27, 2012, 03:12:30 AM »
So for those EMF chips like the one linked there, do you just replace the mount part on the lens with the one sold there?

So for my Samyang 8mm I'd just have to screw that on in place of what's there, right?

daz101

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Programmable AF Confirm chips
« Reply #14 on: October 27, 2012, 10:19:49 AM »
So for those EMF chips like the one linked there, do you just replace the mount part on the lens with the one sold there?

So for my Samyang 8mm I'd just have to screw that on in place of what's there, right?

Nope,
rather that try to explain it have a look at this youtube video, it's a bit long winded but the only one i could find.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kQHHW2tUle0