[HARDWARE ISSUE] 5D Mark II Bricked - Need Help

Started by tsj5j, October 10, 2012, 04:16:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tsj5j

Hi,

I was recording video with Magic Lantern yesterday, everything went fine. I turned the camera off, took the card out and start transferring the videos out. When I placed the card back into the camera few hours later, the camera doesn't turn on anymore.

I've tried:
- Taking the lens, card then battery out of the camera, then re-inserting the battery to start. LED does not flash.
- Trying to start the camera in every mode - no response, LED does not flash either.
- Format the CF card, insert and trying to start the camera - no response either.
- Copying ML back into the CF card and trying to start the camera - no response.

This is my first time using ML, so I have a strong suspicion that this problem is ML-related.
Can anyone offer any help?

a1ex

Did you remove the card before the safety blink?

Make sure the battery is charged, then start without card. After each failed startup, you need to take the battery out (the power switches are software).

Also make sure the card and battery doors are properly closed.

tsj5j

I can't remember if it blinked, but let's assume I removed before the blink.

I've repeated the process (battery is verified fully charged, using 2 separate batteries), starting the camera repeatedly, taking out and putting the battery back in. Card and battery doors are closed.

Any other ideas?

a1ex

Try the first diagnostic tool from here (LED blinker): http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=2296.0

You may need to make the card bootable from the PC, since you have formatted it.

tsj5j

I can't try it right now, but what if it blinks, and what if it doesn't? What's the next step?

I just sent the camera into Canon Service Centre, if there is any hope of recovering it myself, I'll take the camera back from them.

a1ex