How to change bit rate?

Started by keisersozze, September 24, 2012, 05:00:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

keisersozze

Will I be able to change the bit rate to 66 if I install v2.3 release? If so, how? Maybe someone can point me in the right direction. I just got a Canon and I'm unable to find any info regarding how to do this. I'm new to hacking also so don't assume I know anything.
Thanks

Francis

66 whats? If you just got a Canon camera, spend a couple months figuring out how to use it. Then come back and see us.

nanomad

The only 66 that makes sense is the FPS and the answer is no
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

keisersozze

I mean how do I get 66Mbit?

I'm going on a long vacation soon and would like to maximize my video recording. According to several articles bit rate can be increased from 42Mbit to 66Mbit or 76Mbit, 76 not being as reliable.
Below is one such article if anyone is still confused.

eoshd.com/content/466/canon-5d-mark-ii-hack-brings-66mbit-1080p

Thanks.

nanomad

Just go to the bitrate sub-menu and increase it from there. There's no "XX Mbit" value because the canon firmware doesn't work that way
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

keisersozze

Quote from: nanomad on September 24, 2012, 06:02:10 PM
Just go to the bitrate sub-menu and increase it from there. There's no "XX Mbit" value because the canon firmware doesn't work that way

Thank you. That's pretty much all I needed to know. I did not know there was a bitrate menu. Do you know what increase options are available and which one would match what I'm looking for? Again I can't seem to find any info on this.

skydragon