Higher resolution than HD on MK III?

Started by axellauer, January 15, 2023, 01:34:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

axellauer

Hello everybody,

i am a noob on filming RAW with ML but not completely new on ML.
Now i tried the first time to film in RAW and after some issues i was able to make my MK III do it.

I read that it should be possible to film in higher resolution than HD but i got stucked.
When i change the resolution in the settings i get the message "...not possible in current video mode"

Is it the speed of the card that limits it?
(cause i dont see any other settings that could be resonsible for it)

kind regards
Axel

Bruno Italiano

Can you send a picture. What you did wrong.

Walter Schulz

spidiq8

I might be way off here being an M user.
But.....
In the M you select the preset. 1080 / 2.5k / 5kfrtp / 2.8k etc then you can tune the aspect ratio and maximum image size.
It will also give a warning as to the maximum you can write because even with a capable card like the SanDisk Pro there are restrictions from the processor.
As said this is coming from the Mb and I have no experience with ML on the 5D so I can't say that's definitely it.

Walter Schulz

Quote from: spidiq8 on January 16, 2023, 12:27:26 AM
I might be way off here being an M user.
You are

But.....
In the M you select the preset. 1080 / 2.5k / 5kfrtp / 2.8k etc then you can tune the aspect ratio and maximum image size.
I assume TO uses a standard build without presets.
It will also give a warning as to the maximum you can write because even with a capable card like the SanDisk Pro there are restrictions from the processor.
Prozessor has nothing to do with it. It is buffer to SD speed. This is calculated by a very short test by ML. The code can be found in the MLV modules source code.
As said this is coming from the Mb and I have no experience with ML on the 5D so I can't say that's definitely it.

The very message TO is quoting is found in FAQ.

axellauer

Thank you, Walter Schulz.