Author Topic: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?  (Read 1566 times)

scottsockett

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« on: September 07, 2022, 12:53:42 AM »
Bare with me because I am fairly new to the Magic Lantern world.  I have it installed on my Canon EOS M, and I have no issues.  However I just installed it on my Canon T2i and I can't seem to find a build that will let me go down to 12bit or 10bit, and unfortunately the 14bit is too high of a mbps for my SD card.  Which also makes no sense to me because I am using a Sandisk Extreme Pro which is supposed to have a write speed of up to 100mbps.  So i don't know if there is a setting to lower the bit rate on RAW, or if i am missing a setting to let my sd card write faster.  If anyone has some advise for me, it would be much appreciated.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8539
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #1 on: September 07, 2022, 03:40:32 AM »
SDcard interface in T2i/550D is limited to 25 MByte/s (theoretical) transfer speed. In RL you will get around 20.

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
  • UHS-I
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #2 on: September 07, 2022, 11:54:28 AM »
dfort had a test build for 550D/T2i which includes 10/12 bit depths for RAW video, unfortunately I couldn't find it.
Waiting some new DIGIC 5 models . . .


theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
  • UHS-I
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2022, 03:32:06 PM »
I couldn't build from that source code, also can't see commits, that archive misses .hg folder which is required for building and seeing commit history.

I wanted to ask dfort if he still his a copy for his repo, it seems he deleted his account on the forum? and his posts showing him as guest, example.
Waiting some new DIGIC 5 models . . .

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8539
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2022, 03:53:21 PM »
Ping Danne and ask. He saved some (all?) of dfort's repositories/builds.

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
  • UHS-I
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2022, 09:35:16 PM »
I asked Danne, he didn't find it.
Waiting some new DIGIC 5 models . . .

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #7 on: September 10, 2022, 06:30:37 AM »
I have it i do believe , have to look for it in my achieve of magic lantern old files
in fact i usually keep D4 developments builds and Log files and any reverse engineering
Maybe i should charge for it ?  :P
it seems to be acceptable now days to charge for what is normally free

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2303
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #8 on: September 10, 2022, 06:42:15 AM »
Ok , looks like i have found it .
10bit_12bit_raw_twk_crop_rec.2016Dec01.550D109.zip
No Charge Free as the birds  :P

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
  • UHS-I
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #9 on: September 10, 2022, 09:16:57 AM »
it seems to be acceptable now days to charge for what is normally free

Have you read selling forks under GPL?

Charging for a dev effort, time and hard work is what's normal, ML not used to do that, I agree. And nope my time isn't "normally free", if your time was like this, it's up to you and it's a personal choice. ;)
Waiting some new DIGIC 5 models . . .

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
  • UHS-I
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #10 on: September 10, 2022, 09:21:40 AM »
Ok , looks like i have found it .
10bit_12bit_raw_twk_crop_rec.2016Dec01.550D109.zip

Thanks, waiting scottsockett and Walter tests..
Waiting some new DIGIC 5 models . . .

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1068
  • UHS-I
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #11 on: September 10, 2022, 09:33:46 AM »
I think this 10-bit/12-bit is a old one?
Maybe there is newer.

I got dfort source code from Danne and dfort, will check it soon.
Waiting some new DIGIC 5 models . . .

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8539
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #12 on: September 10, 2022, 09:39:00 AM »
Haven't heard from OP since. Don't know if he/she wants to proceed with info given about 550D's limited storage interface bandwidth. 10 bit will give some 29 percent advantage in pixel count -> some 13 percent in vertical and horizontal pixels. Hardly making a difference IMO.

Skinny

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 204
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #13 on: September 12, 2022, 06:39:25 PM »
This build almost works :)
12 bit ok, but 10 - top 1/3 part of a frame shifts out of place all the time, so the image is broken. It behaves differently with FPS changes, so... I don't know :) Some registers values are not right?

For me 10 bits makes a lot of difference. For example, 1600x670 using 14 bits I can only record for 4 seconds, using 10 bits - for 8 seconds.
If this time could be increased to ~10...12 sec for me it can be enough to actually use RAW on this camera..

bhiter010

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon t2i 12bit or 10bit?
« Reply #14 on: January 03, 2023, 05:48:01 PM »
Ok , looks like i have found it .
10bit_12bit_raw_twk_crop_rec.2016Dec01.550D109.zip
No Charge Free as the birds  :P
actually looks like it is the right thing