Author Topic: Aperture Blade Lock?  (Read 1202 times)

newston

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Aperture Blade Lock?
« on: July 09, 2022, 08:38:52 PM »
Hi everyone,

let me first explain what i do, in order for the question to make sense:

I create stop-motion-animation videos using my old trusty canon 60d!
The camera is tethered to my computer, using capture one to view the scene and trigger the camera. A flash is also fired via sync cable to light the scene. I do not use video recording for this - i take actual images - frame by frame!

One of the major problems i have is variation in exposure due to the aperture changing slighly from shot to shot.

Does Magic Lantern offer a function where the aperture blades are locked in place?

(PS: I can not use the famous "depth of field preview button"- trick since the camera is positioned lens facing the ground and i need autofocus for focus stacking at the same time)

Thanks in advance, and in general for making this great software!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8542
Re: Aperture Blade Lock?
« Reply #1 on: July 09, 2022, 11:24:10 PM »
Yes and no.
Feature is called "Expo. override". It will adjust aperture blades for a session. But it can not guarantee to match aperture blade position for a second consecutive session after power off.
And unfortunately feature is buggy and only supports older lenses. See https://foss.heptapod.net/magic-lantern/magic-lantern/-/issues/2929

70MM13

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 560
Re: Aperture Blade Lock?
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2022, 11:41:10 AM »
Get a manual aperture lens.  Rokinon cine lenses are really good and very affordable!  Set it and forget it!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8542
Re: Aperture Blade Lock?
« Reply #3 on: July 10, 2022, 01:46:00 PM »
And forget ML's focus stacking feature, too  ::)

newston

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Aperture Blade Lock?
« Reply #4 on: July 10, 2022, 07:46:31 PM »
Thanks to all of you for the replies!

I will get a manual lens as suggested.