Author Topic: Best SD card for Canon EOS M + Magic Lantern  (Read 4778 times)

jer3my

• Just arrived
Best SD card for Canon EOS M + Magic Lantern
« on: August 14, 2019, 10:18:04 AM »
Hey!

I just have bought budget Canon EOS M with a Canon 22 f/2 lens from a co-worker who's working for the marketing department of Apknite. I'm a comp/dmp adept and my main reason for buying this equipment was to take some photo references for matte painting and to record some short clips to exercise roto/paint and other comp stuff. As I learned, EOS M was one of the cheapest gear at the market that offers to record in RAW, and yes, I'm aware it's not a pro camera...not even close.... yet it's still better than smartphone:) Since I'm a total newbie here, I would like to ask you about the best option in terms of SD/SDHC card for my EOS M to install Magic Lantern and record/take photos in RAW.

Extra questions, do you have any experience with small, portable, not expensive tripods? Which one is worth buying for someone on a tight budget?

Thank you very much for any suggestions,

Cheers!

walter_schulz

• Contributor
  • Senior
Re: Best SD card for Canon EOS M + Magic Lantern
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2019, 07:20:17 AM »
Sandisk Extreme Pro 95 MB/s or same type with higher/lower storage capacity.

Cards with faster designation (150, 170 MB/s) are a tad slower and UHS-II cards have to work in UHS-I mode when used in EOS M.

yokashin

« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2019, 07:27:15 AM »
Extra questions, do you have any experience with small, portable, not expensive tripods? Which one is worth buying for someone on a tight budget?

I recommend the great ZEEK channel
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCCn0RQHYheA41EudwmLnYKA/videos
70D.112 [main cam] | M.202 | S110 [CHDK]

ricardopt

« Reply #3 on: May 13, 2020, 12:52:18 PM »

Cards with faster designation (150, 170 MB/s) are a tad slower and UHS-II cards have to work in UHS-I mode when used in EOS M.

from another thread: