Author Topic: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3 (1.1.3)  (Read 777776 times)

Francyz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #425 on: November 22, 2012, 03:39:03 PM »
Everyone is waiting for startup and adjustment of bitrate. I especially!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #426 on: November 22, 2012, 03:47:01 PM »
Sure, after fixing all major bugs.

mnteddy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #427 on: November 22, 2012, 03:47:42 PM »
Just because so many people keep asking for auto-boot to be added, I thought I'd post a screen shot of my custom menu. Having firmware as my first option makes it extremely fast to boot into ML. And I think A1ex has said this before, to save power, just switch to photo mode in between shots rather than a full power down.

I do a lot of run and gun commercial shooting, and these are my most used settings:

Stedda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 504
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #428 on: November 22, 2012, 04:36:45 PM »
I did the same thing, takes no time at all.
5D Mark III -- 7D   SOLD -- EOS M 22mm 18-55mm STM -- Fuji X-T1 18-55 F2.8-F4 & 35 F1.4
Canon Glass   100L F2.8 IS -- 70-200L F4 -- 135L F2 -- 85 F1.8 -- 17-40L --  40 F2.8 -- 35 F2 IS  Sigma Glass  120-300 F2.8 OS -- 50 F1.4 -- 85 F1.4  Tamron Glass   24-70 2.8 VC   600EX-RT X3

swinxx

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 606
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #429 on: November 22, 2012, 07:46:00 PM »
- 16:9 bars for anamorphic preview

what is this for.. ?
i am a little confused.. cause anamorph has nothing to do with 16:9?

greets. swinxx

JohnN

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #430 on: November 22, 2012, 09:21:33 PM »
Sadly can't load mine since alpha 3 - just down to CF card though - can someone confirm that a "bad" CF card will stop loading as I'm not 100% sure.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #431 on: November 22, 2012, 09:23:44 PM »
Correct, you need a good card.

Arthur Rambo

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 23
  • 5D Mark III, 5D Mark II, 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #432 on: November 23, 2012, 12:38:17 AM »
mnteddy : it seems you like your LCD very bright  :D

stir fry a lot

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #433 on: November 23, 2012, 06:57:18 AM »
I could have sworn there was a 1/47 ss option earlier today but it is now jumping from 1/42 (red) to 1/60 (blue) with nothing in between. I've been going through my settings to see if I could reverse/replicate this but I'm striking out at the moment.

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #434 on: November 23, 2012, 04:45:47 PM »
is the bit rate feature something that will work with the alpha style boot that runs off the card? I love booting ML off the card. I know its not 100% safe but its deffintly less scary for noobs like me a ha ha

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #435 on: November 23, 2012, 05:06:27 PM »
No bumping your own posts  ::)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #436 on: November 23, 2012, 06:07:45 PM »
No bumping your own posts  ::)
Not sure if that was for me but i usally make a billion mistakes in my posts or word things poorly so wanted to correct them. grammer is not my strong point. deffinetly was not trying to bump my post.

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #437 on: November 23, 2012, 07:06:01 PM »
You can use the edit button ;)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

JohnN

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #438 on: November 23, 2012, 07:40:03 PM »
Well, I saw this card in Amazon's Black Lightning deals - Transcend 32 GB 400x Compact Flash  - I seem to recall this one working so have ordered.

Director

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #439 on: November 24, 2012, 10:47:31 AM »
Alex

The previous time invalidated you to provide me with information about this request did not provide me with information and now asks you if you do not see my question from first time


Can you tell me what are the settings that you used in the film "Bodie"

Thanks

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #440 on: November 24, 2012, 01:40:23 PM »
For the last time, ask the bloody producer, not alex (who is not affiliated in any way with the movie)
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

daveRe78

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #441 on: November 27, 2012, 10:19:32 PM »
Hello,

Freshman here, just wondering if there is any ETA for the movie restart mode on the Mark iii as that would be very useful to me.

Keep up the good work, definitely going to support you guys.


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #442 on: November 27, 2012, 10:20:24 PM »
The 30-minute limit is a legal one, so I don't want to remove it ;)

manniac

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #443 on: November 27, 2012, 11:30:46 PM »
Can we expect the analog/digital gain options to be included in the next alpha? They were actually one of the main reasons I used ML on my Mark II, because without, audio recordings are terribly noisy, and with, the audio sounds much better..

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #444 on: November 27, 2012, 11:49:27 PM »
No, the audio chip is unknown.

manniac

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #445 on: November 28, 2012, 03:13:47 AM »
Oh :-O Is this a thing that will be solved later or is the audio chip a hard one (and therefore those features probably not be included at all)?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #446 on: November 28, 2012, 10:53:16 AM »
We need high res pictures of the inside of the camera.... I doubt there's someone willing to take apart his for 'science'
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5


feureau

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 604
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #448 on: November 28, 2012, 06:13:50 PM »
We need high res pictures of the inside of the camera.... I doubt there's someone willing to take apart his for 'science'

I dunno what you're looking for looks like, but here's some pics of the insides of a mark III:

http://www.lensrentals.com/blog/2012/04/5d-iii-strip-tease

In case it's in there somewhere...

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3
« Reply #449 on: November 28, 2012, 06:37:20 PM »
We already have hi-res PCB pics at http://www.pbase.com/rcicala/magiclantern (thanks Roger!)

I believe the chip is the bottom-left one in the second pic, but... good luck reading what's on it ;)