Author Topic: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3 (1.1.3)  (Read 622212 times)

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #50 on: September 14, 2012, 12:52:47 PM »
thanks, i'll post results in a few hours

JasonATL

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #51 on: September 14, 2012, 01:26:22 PM »
Thanks for the reply with more info, A1ex.

I came across one issue that I forgot to post earlier: When I engage the ML menu while recording, I cannot navigate the ML menu using the aperature wheel. When recording, the aperature wheel only changes the aperature, regardless of whether I have engaged the ML menu or not. I can use the nipple to navigate the ML menu while recording. When starting the ML menu when not recording, the aperature wheel works fine to navigate the ML menu.


a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #52 on: September 14, 2012, 01:29:54 PM »
That's normal, scrollwheels can't be controlled while recording. You should see a crossed scrollwheel icon in menu that suggests this.

JasonATL

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #53 on: September 14, 2012, 01:55:22 PM »
That's normal, scrollwheels can't be controlled while recording. You should see a crossed scrollwheel icon in menu that suggests this.

See it now. Thanks! :-[

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #54 on: September 14, 2012, 02:04:19 PM »
Good news: I'm able to move the zoom button back to it's old place.

Not-so-good news: it's also triggered by M.Fn and Light button. But M.Fn is quite handy :)

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #55 on: September 14, 2012, 02:07:43 PM »
you are referencing the 5d2 as the zoom buttons old place? from where to where would that move the zoom button on the 5d3? i can't quite imagine it as i don't have a 5d2 to compare with.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #56 on: September 14, 2012, 02:30:12 PM »
Yes, and all other Canon dslrs before 5D3.

http://diglloyd.com/blog/2012/20120325_1-Canon5DM3.html

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #57 on: September 14, 2012, 02:46:40 PM »
ah, yes, that's true. not being able to do it with the thumb is indeed annoying. great to know that you can move it back :)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #58 on: September 14, 2012, 02:51:36 PM »
Well... I'm starting to think that the best place for zoom in button is actually M.Fn :)

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #59 on: September 14, 2012, 02:53:25 PM »
it would seem so, yes.

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #60 on: September 14, 2012, 03:40:40 PM »
alex:


sorry for the shaky video, it's a pita to hold the ipad steady   :-[

it tops out a bit over card specification.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #61 on: September 14, 2012, 03:49:09 PM »
Can you try in LiveView? What card do you have? (found: transcend 600x, rated at 90MB/s).

If those speeds are true, uncompressed video (at least in 2.35:1) is possible!

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #62 on: September 14, 2012, 04:32:11 PM »
sure. i went ahead and did it in movie mode, assuming you meant that?


vitafab

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #63 on: September 14, 2012, 04:38:00 PM »
Ok got it working, I'm running on a single SD and everytime that i switch off the camera i have to load back the firmware again.
Is it the same with the two cards method?

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #64 on: September 14, 2012, 04:39:47 PM »
Ok got it working, I'm running on a single SD and everytime that i switch off the camera i have to load back the firmware again.
Is it the same with the two cards method?
yes, as stated earlier, autoboot is disabled for now.

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #65 on: September 14, 2012, 04:42:10 PM »
alex, just checked, photo mode live view is a tad faster, don't know why.


AndreasK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #66 on: September 14, 2012, 04:51:17 PM »
Why is it that in LV-mode i get less write speed then from the menu ? (especially the 128k buffer mode is much slower)

Sandisk 60mb/s rated CF in liveview mode 54.6 - 61.7 in menu-mode

AndreasK

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #67 on: September 14, 2012, 05:00:40 PM »
my 30mb/s rated SD-card only gives about 11mb/sec ?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #68 on: September 14, 2012, 05:03:06 PM »
Well... with focus peaking and other graphics enabled, it's pretty good IMO. Try disabling GlobalDraw.

In photo mode, the sensor is sampled at lower resolution.

Looking forward to see some tests on a 1000x card.

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #69 on: September 14, 2012, 05:23:55 PM »
Well... with focus peaking and other graphics enabled, it's pretty good IMO. Try disabling GlobalDraw.
indeed, performance is pretty good and likely sufficient for high data rate video stuff. :)

video mode global draw disabled: 19,9mb/s 27,5mb/s 85,3mb/s
photo mode live view global draw disabled: 19,4mb/s 25,9mb/s 77,9mb/s

photo mode, menu, global draw disabled: 36,5mb/s 38,9mb/s 99,5mb/s (!)
(ran twice to confirm - missing autoboot is getting annoying ;)

i would guess we see the different results due to the fact that the data has to come from somewhere and also it's ml code which is dependant on how much stuff is going on. i bet canons native write operations are faster, independent on what mode the cam is in?

Looking forward to see some tests on a 1000x card.
oh yeah :)

Jason Montalvo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • 5D3/5D2 & Some BlackMagic
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #70 on: September 14, 2012, 08:42:59 PM »
These are my results using lexar 32gb 1000x card

keeps skipping last test, and lots of lines on top of display.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/[email protected]/7986196588/in/photostream

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #71 on: September 14, 2012, 09:04:09 PM »
For uncompressed FullHD 422 at 24p, I need "only" 100MB/s. Maybe with a 32MB write buffer it's exactly what I need.

For 2.35:1, I only need 75MB/s.

That's pure theory, so take it with a grain of salt.

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #72 on: September 14, 2012, 09:12:22 PM »
you could do a test version for us to play with :)

Jason Montalvo

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 54
  • 5D3/5D2 & Some BlackMagic
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #73 on: September 14, 2012, 09:13:17 PM »
Hmmm. I like your theory  ;)

joxxie

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #74 on: September 14, 2012, 10:40:09 PM »
yes definitely would be interested in testing that out