Author Topic: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 3 (1.1.3)  (Read 770446 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #125 on: September 27, 2012, 01:04:10 PM »
Well... if we knew what we are doing it wouldn't be called research ;)

If I'll be able to reprogram the DMA in order to write sensor data to a file, that means zero overhead in the recording process, so benchmark numbers should be accurate.

sicetime

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • 5D III
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #126 on: September 27, 2012, 05:07:50 PM »
I forget where, but I remember reading somewhere about starting a kickstarter, I personally think having a fundraising campaign would be a great idea, and open the floor to a broader spectrum of people who can donate.

Is that still on the table?

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #127 on: September 27, 2012, 07:56:41 PM »
Yes, and the answer was: we don't need it.
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

sicetime

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • 5D III
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #128 on: October 02, 2012, 04:51:49 PM »
So should I start investing in some 1000x lexars?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #129 on: October 09, 2012, 11:18:49 AM »
Just a little reminder for the testing form. I only have 12 answers. There are people who reported problems, but I can't reproduce any.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/viewform?pli=1&formkey=dFRxbGZlUHYyOHB6SDZWZFVpUlVRTUE6MA#gid=0

robertdouglas

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #130 on: October 09, 2012, 12:58:46 PM »
Done ! Haven't saw the spreadsheet before your post, hope more people will answer it

mbresle

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #131 on: October 09, 2012, 02:10:56 PM »
No problems so far.  It's been a positive user experience since I figured out how to work ML, and even though I'm a novice, I have not had any features in the Alpha not work nor any problems with my camera.

th65

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #132 on: October 09, 2012, 07:42:20 PM »
Thanks for the reminder!

smp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #133 on: October 10, 2012, 09:17:34 AM »
Likewise - Minimal use due to schedule but no lockups, no failures, no glitches when we did. Thought I loved ML on the 5D2 but wow... peaking on the 5D3 is heavenly. Whaddaya say kids.. Magic Zoom?? Zoom button? Thx all!!

RenatoPhoto

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1509
  • 5DM3 / 7D
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #134 on: October 11, 2012, 01:50:13 PM »
Still working well, no issues.  Waiting for Alpha 2 with donation!
http://www.pululahuahostal.com  |  EF 300 f/4, EF 100-400 L, EF 180 L, EF-S 10-22, Samyang 14mm, Sigma 28mm EX DG, Sigma 8mm 1:3.5 EX DG, EF 50mm 1:1.8 II, EF 1.4X II, Kenko C-AF 2X

t3sk3y

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #135 on: October 11, 2012, 04:40:44 PM »
I've also used Alpha 1 with no unusual results or lockups.  I used on 3 different occasions while on a paid video shoot and it did exactly as expected.

-Mark.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #136 on: October 11, 2012, 04:51:46 PM »
Nice. I'll try to prepare the alpha 2 next week.

HDMI is causing trouble - anyone needs 720p? I hope not.

wintix

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 56
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #137 on: October 11, 2012, 04:54:08 PM »
Nice. I'll try to prepare the alpha 2 next week.

HDMI is causing trouble - anyone needs 720p? I hope not.

great!
nope, not really. everything is headed for high-res anyway

mnteddy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #138 on: October 11, 2012, 04:55:56 PM »
HDMI is causing trouble - anyone needs 720p? I hope not.

Are you referring to 720p HDMI output? Versus 1080i?

vitafab

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #139 on: October 11, 2012, 09:10:31 PM »
Hi guys,
i'm currently shooting a movie with the mark iii and a d800.
ML is helping me so much as usual, but one thing that i don't like about the mark iii compare to the d800 is the fact that when you plug an HDMI monitor the picture goes away on the LCD so i need two monitor with a splitter to give the feed to the director. The d800 doesn't have this issue.
Is because of the clean HDMI? there is any chance to have it working in the next 2 weeks?
Thanks again for the amazing work you're guys are doing.
Cheers
Fabio

nanomad

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2918
  • All your websites are belong to us
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #140 on: October 11, 2012, 09:46:40 PM »
That's how the HDMI chip works as far as we know... it re-routes the signal from the LCD to the HDMI port
EOS 1100D | EOS 650 (No, I didn't forget the D) | Ye Olde Canon EF Lenses ('87): 50 f/1.8 - 28 f/2.8 - 70-210 f/4 | EF-S 18-55 f/3.5-5.6 | Metz 36 AF-5

bumkicho

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 102
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #141 on: October 12, 2012, 03:26:29 PM »
Nice. I'll try to prepare the alpha 2 next week.

HDMI is causing trouble - anyone needs 720p? I hope not.

a1ex says "HDMI is causing TROUBLE" and I think "he must be looking at clean HDMI out, YYYYEEEESSSSS!!!!"
Ha ha ha, does anyone else get excited whenever a1ex says the word "HDMI"?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #142 on: October 12, 2012, 03:30:24 PM »
I'm talking about basic ML functionality on HDMI - like zebras aligned with the image etc.

mnteddy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 20
Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #143 on: October 12, 2012, 04:46:36 PM »
I'm talking about basic ML functionality on HDMI - like zebras aligned with the image etc.

I haven't had a chance to fill out the survey yet, but here's the only issue I've had on my last 4 full day shoots. I've been using alpha one almost exclusive via HDMI with my SmalHD DP6. Everything I've tested works great; audio meters, fast zebras, focus assist, histogram, vectrascope, an even the manually enabled "Not recording" warning. Here'a what I've had enabled on my long day shoots: "not recording" warning, audio meters, histogram (with gradual warning), and LumaFast Zebras over 99%. The only time I have a problem is when I leave the camera on but power cycle my monitor. When the monitor comes back up, the 16x9 crop bars scale down a bit, slightly covering what should be the proper visible area and revealing part of what's actually not recording.

See this photo showing what I'm saying.


Other than that, I've had no alignment issues with any of the features (zebras, focus assist, etc).

Edit: I should add that to get around this, I simply reload the ML firmware.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #144 on: October 12, 2012, 04:50:47 PM »
In 1080p it's fine, but in 720p, on my dp6 it's completely distorted.

Thanks for the screenshots, didn't notice that.

CaptainHook

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 52
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #145 on: October 15, 2012, 05:40:09 AM »
Other than that, I've had no alignment issues with any of the features (zebras, focus assist, etc).

What about playback with crop marks? Doesn't extend fully on my DP6. Great while recording though.

I've had a couple of times the freeze people have mentioned that's fixed by removing the battery. They were on shoots though and i didn't have time to try figure out reproducible steps. I did notice on a music vid shoot last week that a couple of times i turned the camera off and the led that flashes with card activity kept flashing for at least a minute after turning off so i removed the battery to stop it. What does that mean?

Otherwise, ML peaking through the DP6 (with dp6 peaking on) was kicking ass. Got a heap more useable footage because i was able to rack focus on the fly with pretty good success (80-90% of the time) without blocking/rehearsing or marking the follow focus. Thank you Alex and the team! Add Higher bitrate (or whatever my lexar 1000x's can handle) and this camera would really kick ass for me thanks to ML.  :)

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #146 on: October 18, 2012, 07:49:47 PM »
So givin all the info on the benchmark tests being done, i asume the 5d3 is powerfull enough to handle true resolution of HD (at 2.35:1)

80+MB/s is really stinkin fast! (Doesnt 80MB/s = 640mbs? is this right?) Can it sustain this for more than a seconded or 2?

PLEASE correct me if im wrong.

If this is acurate then shame on canon for truely limiting this beast! (i know im sounding spoiled) Sounds like from this that theres plenty of processing speed  for canon to have included a 1080 mjpeg or something that resoves better. This makes me sad/excited all at once.

Thanks everyone for all your hard work! Once im more confident in my knowledge of software/firmware i will no dought be donating and running ML. I dont quite trust myself to test yet.

rosso_corsa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #147 on: October 18, 2012, 08:13:23 PM »
This is working extremely well so far. Can't wait to get autoboot. That will make this usable in production environment. Please give that to us soon! You will make many of us extremely happy.

bp

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #148 on: October 18, 2012, 08:27:43 PM »
Just curious - last week you'd mentioned possibly having Alpha2 ready this week?  Curious if that's still a possibility

Have a shoot this weekend, and a bit drooly at the possibility of shooting a version of an outdoor scene with HDR (which you'd also mentioned possibly coming in Alpha2) and seeing how it goes.   No pressure though - haha - your work is SO appreciated!!!!!!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12564
Re: Magic Lantern for 5D Mark III - Alpha 1
« Reply #149 on: October 18, 2012, 09:09:33 PM »
I'll do my best - because that's what I promised :P