Author Topic: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D  (Read 3950 times)

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #125 on: November 05, 2020, 10:35:12 AM »
Yes it is.
In this post is a download link for a build for 6d with sd_uhs in it.

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15088.msg228879#msg228879

pteichner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #126 on: November 05, 2020, 12:21:33 PM »
Thanks for the reply, I've got it down and with the UHS override at 240MHz I get around 71MB/s instead 39MB/s. Also thank you for all you hard work.

I've got a few questions:
  • The option for going higher resolution like 2.5K is still greyed out in RAW mode can I use it with crop mode + raw together?
  • I'm using the compressed 12bit at 1824x616 whilst set the Canon menu to 720/50 FPS...how can you get 60FPS?
  • Has anyone got a nice LUT for RAW that can be shared?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #127 on: November 07, 2020, 06:22:34 PM »
About question 1:
You need crop mode for that.
Enable the crop_rec module in the module tab.
When it is enabled there should be a crop_mode option in  the Raw video tab.
In the crop_mode menu, you can set your desired resolution (for example 2880 x 1200)
After that, you should be able to get the higher resolution in raw video menu (where you set resolution and aspect ratio etc.).
Note: the standard compressed 12 bit is not available with crop_rec module, you must select 14 bit compressed raw option in raw video menu.
BUT there is a way to get 12 bit compressed, but you have to select this option in the submenu (Q button) of Crop_rec menu.
 :P It's all a bit fidly and not very intuitive, but once you know how it works all is fine  8)
Note 2:
FPS override and other options that mess with fps aren't available/working with crop_rec options. Crop_rec options have fixed fps.


Question 2:
For normal 720/60 you need to switch to NTSC in Canon video menu. (PAL setting gives you 720/50fps and NTSC setting gives you 720/60fps).
So not a magic lantern setting, but a setting in the normal Canon menu system (you must be in video mode to see video options in Canon menu).

Question 3:
No idea, I don't use LUT's :P

pteichner

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #128 on: November 09, 2020, 09:06:46 AM »
Thanks

It is a bit fiddly to say the least, but it does things that would have never been possible before. The crop modes are not easy because you do lose a fair amount of the view, but it does things that it wouldn't have otherwise.

Any idea of crop_mode2?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #129 on: November 09, 2020, 04:00:10 PM »
Not sure what you mean with your last question ?

Quote
Any idea of crop_mode2?

What works for me for crop_mode is to go to raw video menu tab and then inside raw video options I choose preview option -> real-time.
This gives me 5x zoom Canon liveview in the high resolution modes.
Now the only problem is framing, to check framing, use half-press on the shutter button. When doing half shutter press, you'll see the actual framing (although a bit slow fps).
You can even do half shutter once in a while, while recording, to check framing.



swordsmasterxii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #130 on: November 26, 2020, 06:07:48 AM »
Hi Guys. I just want to share the music video I made shot entirely with Canon 6D Magic Lantern Raw.


I want to thank all of you guys responsible for developing this build and making our old camera still awesome. I have this camera for 7 years and with what it can do, I'm not planning to replace it anytime soon. :)

mineralof

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 14
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #131 on: November 27, 2020, 06:48:17 AM »
Hi Guys. I just want to share the music video I made shot entirely with Canon 6D Magic Lantern Raw.


I want to thank all of you guys responsible for developing this build and making our old camera still awesome. I have this camera for 7 years and with what it can do, I'm not planning to replace it anytime soon. :)
к

Wow.
excellent!  how about moore and alias?  Where are they?

swordsmasterxii

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #132 on: November 27, 2020, 03:12:18 PM »
Thanks. There isn't much aliasing when shooting in large apertures. Though I still have to figure out how to minimize black clipping in YT. It was ok in the OG file but YT compresses it too much.

c_joerg

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #133 on: January 02, 2021, 02:53:05 PM »
This is the first time I've had a crash with ML on my 6D while using the Advanced Bracket.
I haven't used the function before.
My version is a bit older. Should I update something first?


Code: [Select]
ML ASSERT:
0
at ../../src/raw.c:611 (raw_lv_realloc_buffer), task livev_hiprio_task
lv:0 mode:3

livev_hiprio_task stack: 2086c0 [208838-204838]
0x0048F7E0 @ 487934:208720
0x0048F750 @ 48f840:208718
0x0048D1DC @ 48f780:208710
0x0044C9F4 @ 48d37c:2086f0
0x0044C478 @ 44ca50:2086c0

Magic Lantern version : lua_fix.2018Sep17.6D116
Mercurial changeset   : 0040e6ccea8d (lua_fix) tip
Built on 2018-09-17 16:45:37 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 384K + 1895K
6D

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12562
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #134 on: January 02, 2021, 03:37:16 PM »
No improvements expected in newer builds regarding this issue. Can you find a way to reproduce it?

Seems to be a race condition between LiveView and still photo mode.

c_joerg

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 105
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #135 on: January 02, 2021, 04:33:43 PM »
Can you find a way to reproduce it?
Not always…
I used LV in M Mode and continuous shooting s.
I look like, it is only happening with Frame Autodetect. If I change to 7 Frames, I haven’t seen it until now.

The memory differs at last crash
Code: [Select]
Free Memory  :  381K + 1889K
6D

GregSmack

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #136 on: February 12, 2021, 01:12:57 PM »
Hey there,

I updated to the latest build from here and when I start my 6D a message appears in the bottom screen saying:
"tcc: error: undefined symbol 'raw_force_aspect_ratio_1to1'
[E] failed to link modules
updating Movie Tweaks -> Movie Logging


I Can not load any modules, what is happening?

EDIT: when I turn off mlv_rec it does not show an error but this way I can not use RAW mode. What is the sollution to this?

GregSmack

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #137 on: March 01, 2021, 06:19:09 PM »
Hey! I am using a Canon 6D withe the latest build for it and I have a few questions:
1)  I tried to use the 1x3 preset "5496x1960". When reviewing it at home the video looks not sharp and kinda blurry. Any ideas why this happens?
2) When I shoot in 1x1 with 5x crop i can get a resolution of 2560x1440. I need to upscale this but which is the best way to do this?
3) When I am trying to shoot in 1x3 I can choose the preset "4896x2160" but then there are only magenta, pink lines across the Live View. Any ideas why?

Thanks for your help!

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1683
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #138 on: March 04, 2021, 04:39:43 PM »
Sorry for the late reply  :D

Quote
EDIT: when I turn off mlv_rec it does not show an error but this way I can not use RAW mode. What is the sollution to this?
For raw recording you either use mlv_rec or mlv_lite, you can't use them both.
mlv_lite supports lossless compression, so use of mlv_lite is advised. So best to not enable mlv_rec module.

Quote
1)  I tried to use the 1x3 preset "5496x1960". When reviewing it at home the video looks not sharp and kinda blurry. Any ideas why this happens?
The 1x3 presets are not supersharp, the reason, the data is not saved as 5496x1960 but as 1832x1960 resolution. The sensor does horizontal pixelbinning, 3 pixels become one.
So the sensor does really readout 5496x1960 in pixels, but passes this data on as (5496/3 pixelbinning)= 1832 horizontal pixels x 1960 vertical pixels.
In post, for example in MLV_App, these 1832 horizontal pixels are stretched to the original 5496 pixels for normal aspect ratio.
So 1x3 is not as sharp as you would expect from the resulting resolution, because some trickery is used that is available at hardware level of the Canon camera.

Quote
2) When I shoot in 1x1 with 5x crop i can get a resolution of 2560x1440. I need to upscale this but which is the best way to do this?
In my experience the free software, DaVinci Resolve from Blackmagic does a really good job for upscaling video. (for free, download the normal version, the studio version is the paid one)
It's not that intuitive to use, but there are a lot of tutorials availabe on youtube.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/
 
Quote
3) When I am trying to shoot in 1x3 I can choose the preset "4896x2160" but then there are only magenta, pink lines across the Live View. Any ideas why? 
Unfortunately, this is normal  :P 
I couldn't get normal liveview to work in this mode, you could however use ML preview to see what the recording will be like.
You can choose different preview options in the 'RAW video' submenu. It's on the MOVIE tab of Magic lantern menu, highlight the 'RAW video' option and press Q button on camera.
Now the 4th option from above should show Preview, here you can set the option from 'real-time' to 'framing', whith the option framing selected, you should see a low resolution preview of your liveview (it's a little slow in FPS).
Another option, you could switch to 'framing' by doing a half press on the shutter button, while doing half press, you should see a preview.
I like this option, I use the half press to check the framing, and press record button, you can even do half press of the shutter button while filming, to check the framing.



GregSmack

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Levas' crop_rec_4k experiments for 6D
« Reply #139 on: March 19, 2021, 01:37:32 PM »
Sorry for the late reply  :D
For raw recording you either use mlv_rec or mlv_lite, you can't use them both.
mlv_lite supports lossless compression, so use of mlv_lite is advised. So best to not enable mlv_rec module.
The 1x3 presets are not supersharp, the reason, the data is not saved as 5496x1960 but as 1832x1960 resolution. The sensor does horizontal pixelbinning, 3 pixels become one.
So the sensor does really readout 5496x1960 in pixels, but passes this data on as (5496/3 pixelbinning)= 1832 horizontal pixels x 1960 vertical pixels.
In post, for example in MLV_App, these 1832 horizontal pixels are stretched to the original 5496 pixels for normal aspect ratio.
So 1x3 is not as sharp as you would expect from the resulting resolution, because some trickery is used that is available at hardware level of the Canon camera.
In my experience the free software, DaVinci Resolve from Blackmagic does a really good job for upscaling video. (for free, download the normal version, the studio version is the paid one)
It's not that intuitive to use, but there are a lot of tutorials availabe on youtube.
https://www.blackmagicdesign.com/products/davinciresolve/
 Unfortunately, this is normal  :P 
I couldn't get normal liveview to work in this mode, you could however use ML preview to see what the recording will be like.
You can choose different preview options in the 'RAW video' submenu. It's on the MOVIE tab of Magic lantern menu, highlight the 'RAW video' option and press Q button on camera.
Now the 4th option from above should show Preview, here you can set the option from 'real-time' to 'framing', whith the option framing selected, you should see a low resolution preview of your liveview (it's a little slow in FPS).
Another option, you could switch to 'framing' by doing a half press on the shutter button, while doing half press, you should see a preview.
I like this option, I use the half press to check the framing, and press record button, you can even do half press of the shutter button while filming, to check the framing.

Thank you for the great informations! :)
I will stick to 2K resolution then :D
I will also give DavinciResolve a try!