Author Topic: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit  (Read 6303 times)

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« on: June 14, 2020, 01:52:20 PM »
Hi forum members,

I would like to try 10 bit and 12 bit recording with my 5D3,

Right now I'am running 2018 07 03 5D 1.2.3 build.

Is 10 bit and 12 bit recording availible in fullframe recording or croprec only?

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #1 on: June 14, 2020, 03:07:00 PM »
Looked a bit more and found it. Fullframe 12 bit seams possible

muanthang

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #2 on: June 14, 2020, 05:41:13 PM »
Using crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2020May29.5D3123.zip i could record  non stop  anamorphic  12 bit losless  3840x1632  with realtime preview .[url]/url]
recording  in anamorphic 12 bit losless 5760x2232 recording stopped after 10 seconds
[url]/url]

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #3 on: June 15, 2020, 01:46:59 PM »
Using crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2020May29.5D3123.zip i could record  non stop  anamorphic  12 bit losless  3840x1632  with realtime preview

Looks awesome! Where can I find that build? Would be cool to try!

muanthang

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #5 on: June 15, 2020, 02:52:41 PM »
Thank you Muanthang! Can you use this mode without using the x5 zoom in fuction while recording to see the hole sensor?

12-bit lossless saves out jpegs?

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7258
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #6 on: June 15, 2020, 03:22:42 PM »
Thank you Muanthang! Can you use this mode without using the x5 zoom in fuction while recording to see the hole sensor?

12-bit lossless saves out jpegs?
jpegs? Hard to see what you already know about ml but if you´re interested in bleeding edge builds centred around 4k crop rec code you could test this build(version linked from muanthang in there):
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=23041.msg216899#msg216899

Most, if not all ideas in that build are very much ideas based on the eos m build here:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg208959#msg208959

Conclusion. If you´re really interested in maximizing resolution and recording times it is fully possible if taking the time and do the testing developed around these builds.

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #7 on: June 15, 2020, 09:57:55 PM »
I was just reading from all the settings in the camera with this build, I know I have a lot to read thru. But my question still is from the menu, RAW VIdeo - Data Format - 14-bit lossless and read in there "14-bit compressed with Canon's Lossless JPEG". Well if it was a bad question I can read the thread.

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7258
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #8 on: June 15, 2020, 10:00:05 PM »
I bypass RAW video bitdepth settings. Keep that to 14bit lossless. Instead change to 10 or 12 bit under the Crop mode sub menu. These changes will apply to all crop rec presets.

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #9 on: June 15, 2020, 10:09:15 PM »
I bypass RAW video bitdepth settings. Keep that to 14bit lossless. Instead change to 10 or 12 bit under the Crop mode sub menu. These changes will apply to all crop rec presets.

OK cool! I understand its much work in this! I also read preview broken. Image quality seams awesome but I think I stick with regular 1080p and go back to previous build and count my 5D3 as a 1080p camera since I need to preview what I'am shooting.

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7258
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #10 on: June 15, 2020, 10:33:27 PM »
Works exactly like the other build but with all the benefits.
But then again. Not so important after all with all that resolution even when it's there in front of you.

mannyfresh79

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #11 on: June 16, 2020, 12:02:55 AM »
Hi forum members,

I would like to try 10 bit and 12 bit recording with my 5D3,

Right now I'am running 2018 07 03 5D 1.2.3 build.

Is 10 bit and 12 bit recording availible in fullframe recording or croprec only?

Hey, I'm also new to ML on the 5D3. I'd love to get just 10-bit. Don't really need 12 or 14 at the moment. I'm gonna look into this CropRec module. What's your experience with it so far - any issues?

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #12 on: June 18, 2020, 07:23:48 PM »
Hey, I'm also new to ML on the 5D3. I'd love to get just 10-bit. Don't really need 12 or 14 at the moment. I'm gonna look into this CropRec module. What's your experience with it so far - any issues?

I'am not new to Magic Lantern, I've used ML for 6 years with my 5D but only at 1080p 14-bit raw. I think the quality of that setting is cool to and like it a lot. My experience with higher resolution is minimal.

Poster

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #13 on: June 23, 2020, 02:36:57 PM »
Looks awesome! Where can I find that build?

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #14 on: June 24, 2020, 10:05:09 AM »
Looks awesome! Where can I find that build?

Check post number #4 in this thread

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #15 on: June 24, 2020, 10:10:51 AM »
Using crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2020May29.5D3123.zip i could record  non stop  anamorphic  12 bit lossless  3840x1632  with realtime preview .[url]
recording  in anamorphic 12 bit losless 5760x2232 recording stopped after 10 seconds

That is super cool! I would really like to try that 3840px lossless. Do you zoom in x5 to get preview?

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #16 on: June 24, 2020, 11:33:28 AM »
Works exactly like the other build but with all the benefits.
But then again. Not so important after all with all that resolution even when it's there in front of you.

Yes sorry. It was so many new settings when coming from an old build. UHD with 1.5x crop looks great. To bad UHD looks so good ;)

Is any sort of preview possible while recording 3840px?

I set the resolution to 4096 and in menu it says 3840 is max and choose 3840px after restart which is good.




Any previewing possible while recording?

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7258
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #17 on: June 24, 2020, 04:42:53 PM »
You have preview options under RAW video menu.

Poster

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #18 on: June 29, 2020, 01:11:21 AM »
12-bit lossless saves out jpegs?

names_are_hard

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 478
  • 200D idiot
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #19 on: June 29, 2020, 01:57:28 AM »
No, jpeg is lossy.

allemyr

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 315
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #20 on: July 04, 2020, 09:26:13 AM »
Using crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2020May29.5D3123.zip i could record  non stop  anamorphic  12 bit losless  3840x1632  with realtime preview .[url]/url]
recording  in anamorphic 12 bit losless 5760x2232 recording stopped after 10 seconds

Hi again,

For me when using UHD width 12-bit isnt availible. I can only use 14-bit when using increased resolution like 3840px. What framerates are you using?

I've got 14-bit 3840x960 23.976fps with sound working. 3:1 ratio would be nicer then 4:1 but the data rate seams a bit high then. Sound doesnt take up much space but I've tried without. But I dont think 12-bit is possible when using 3840px?

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7258
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #21 on: July 04, 2020, 10:33:07 AM »
You still need this version:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=23041.msg216899#msg216899

With card spanning you get max res 130Mb/s.

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #22 on: July 11, 2020, 09:18:02 PM »
Danne, what does mean "card spanning"? Is it the same for CF as sd_uhs for SDXC?
Canon EOS 5D Mk III + Canon 24-105 F/4 L IS USM + SanDisk Exreme Pro 64 GB (SD, ML Nightly.2021Feb07.5D3113) + SanDisk Extreme Pro 128 GB (CF).

masc

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1956
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #23 on: July 11, 2020, 09:26:30 PM »
Card spanning: use CF and SD at the same time - the meaning is a kind of raid.
5D3.113 | EOSM.202

Wlad81

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: Would like to try 5D3 10 bit & 12 bit
« Reply #24 on: July 11, 2020, 10:32:22 PM »
I see.

Is it possible to use card spanning with sd_uhs on 5D Mk III?
Canon EOS 5D Mk III + Canon 24-105 F/4 L IS USM + SanDisk Exreme Pro 64 GB (SD, ML Nightly.2021Feb07.5D3113) + SanDisk Extreme Pro 128 GB (CF).