Author Topic: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only  (Read 17079 times)

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7655
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #25 on: September 22, 2022, 07:53:31 AM »
If that's the only way, I will take that route then.
It is a different kind of endeavour, as I will need a second tripod, etc.
Most likely compression errors if text appear while recording. Check this place in mlv_lite.c:
Code: [Select]
        if (OUTPUT_COMPRESSION)
        {
            /* PackMem appears to require stricter memory alignment */
            ASSERT(((uint32_t)out_ptr & 0x3F) == 0);
            ASSERT((max_frame_size & 0xFFF) == 0);
            struct memSuite * outSuite = CreateMemorySuite(out_ptr, max_frame_size, 0);
            ASSERT(outSuite);

            int compressed_size = lossless_compress_raw_rectangle(
                outSuite, fullSizeBuffer,
                raw_info.width, (skip_x + 7) & ~7, skip_y & ~1,
                res_x, res_y
            );

            /* only report compression errors while recording
             * some of them appear during video mode switches
             * unlikely to cause actual trouble - silence them for now */
            if (compressed_size < 0 && !RAW_IS_IDLE)
            {
                printf("Compression error %d at frame %d\n", compressed_size, frame_count-1);
                ASSERT(0);
            }

            DeleteMemorySuite(outSuite);

gabriielangel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #26 on: September 22, 2022, 03:12:55 PM »
I did a quick record this morning. I will be able to tell you about the data rates of the different sections in the mlv file this evening.

In the video I start with a soft focus of my test image. I stop recording myself;
Second trial I focus a little more, It stops recording itself;
Third trial I get sharp focus. You see the errors (As Danne said, while recording) I let it go a little then stop recording.

Video Demonstration: https://bit.ly/3Uxkkcs

Test conditions to replicate easily:
2.5k 1:1 Preset
Lens at f3.5
Iso 400 (Makes it easier to replicate)
Lens at 66 cm from the screen
Exposure as seen on screen (It will still happen without the Overlays, I left those on for ease)
Record the still first frame of the test file (The rest is to test something else): https://bit.ly/3LwH4W9

This is not limited to Lab settings, I ran into this problem during the summer when shooting certain foliage and animal closeups (Fur) under harsh sun, but could not figure it out.

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7655
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #27 on: September 23, 2022, 09:35:59 AM »
Compression errors can be fixed with tweaking regs. Often reg 713 and reg 7150. Seems this could be needed in this preset.

EDIT: Then again when looking closer I see liveview addons like histogram? If so, test is not valid. No extras to reduce overhead. Use only framing or real time previev, nothing else selected.
Generally when speed indicator goes in and out of orange red there could be a compression error risk.

gabriielangel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #28 on: September 23, 2022, 05:00:12 PM »
@Danne, if you read closely, I said that I left the overlays on for ease, because exposure is an important parameter (I specified, because we had an exchange about this).
I ran the test with and without the Histogram and spot meter, and it did it too. I am able to replicate the test results on demand.

I think that because it is easier to make it crap out 10 times out of 10 when ISO is set to 400, I suspect that the extra noise (Extra details) is one of the reasons.
But I could be wrong.

Edit: Do you know what reg_713c and reg_7150 Stand for? The values are -2000 to +2000. That's a lot of combinations to test :)

Danne

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7655
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #29 on: September 23, 2022, 05:16:12 PM »
You can check in crop_rec.c. Unfortunately I can't help atm but you could try lowering 7150 a little and raise 713c or lower. No more than 5-15 up and down 713c.
7150 not sure if needed.

gabriielangel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 157
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #30 on: September 23, 2022, 08:39:03 PM »
This is within my capabilities, no problem.
Maybe someone in the know could chime in, if they have the explanation handy(Actual purpose of each reg, so I can take potential problems into consideration)?

BTW, for those reading this out of context, this problem can be mitigated by:

1-Using a lower ISO (Less noise to encode)
2-Underexposition (Which results in a larger number of darker patches, easier to encode)
3-Avoiding tiny little details across the frame. For example, if I need to film a medium shot with blowing tree leaves without a subject in the foreground (Blurs the background a bit), I use the soft lens.

When I run into this problem, it is often because I move the camera, and the reflexions I tamed with the polarizer reappear suddently because of the change of angle.

I will move any findings, if any, in your main thread, to keep this one less cluttered.

dimas1md

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #31 on: September 29, 2022, 01:15:49 AM »
Guys i have a problem, my 6D doesn't want to load patch, i have this errore

https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1f4U_yzcbjYxZhoEm2s1ZQ5WQ0uTdGqxM?usp=sharing

Can you help me to make my old horse run like a young one? )))

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8603
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #32 on: September 29, 2022, 04:04:41 AM »
Guys i have a problem, my 6D doesn't want to load patch, i have this errore

You should always tell which build you are using. I suppose you are not using a crop_4k build as requested. See https://builds.magiclantern.fm/experiments.html or https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=25782.0

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1143
  • UHS-I
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #33 on: February 22, 2023, 11:02:26 PM »
I added the new sd_uhs source code to my ML github fork, also I have clean it up a bit, added more comments and split it to few commits.

-Also fixed a 6D issue, the card become inaccessible while running the overclock, pausing write/read operations is required too same as 5D3. Commit.
-Links are updated in first post, please report for any issues!

Edit: Will delete other sd_uhs versions which were posted by me (in other posts/topics) soon, and will redirect sd_uhs download to this topic.
Cooking some features . . .

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1143
  • UHS-I
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #34 on: February 23, 2023, 06:29:29 PM »
I just updated SD card recommendations in first post:

SD card recommendations:

-Any SD card with W90 label (capable of 90 MB/s write speed) should work with 240 MHz or lower.
-List of SD cards which were tested and they work fine at 240 MHz (pay attention to SD card capacity, lower capacities may not be capable of 90 MB/s write speed):
  • Sandisk Extreme PRO   95 MB/s  (64 GB or higher, SDR50, 32 GB isn't stable at 240 MHz)
  • Sandisk Extreme PRO 170 MB/s  (64 GB or higher, does 32 GB work?)
  • Sandisk Extreme PRO 200 MB/s  (64 GB or higher, does 32 GB work?)
  • Sandisk Extreme R190/W130      (256 GB, do lower capacities work?)
  • Sandisk Extreme Plus R170/W90 (256 GB, do lower capacities work?)
  • Samsung PRO Plus  (128 GB or higher, does 64 GB work?)
  • Samsung EVO Plus (256 GB)
  • Samsung EVO Select (256 GB)
  • Lexar UHS-II V90
  • Lexar Professional 256GB 1066x SDXC UHS-I (Silver Series)

-SD cards which doesn't work well at 240 MHz:
  • Kingston Canvas Go!

Feel free to suggest edits to update the list.
Cooking some features . . .

iaburn

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #35 on: February 23, 2023, 08:17:07 PM »
I would add the Kingston CANVAS Select Plus UHS-I, U3, V30, the ones over 128GB.
Slightly faster than The Sandisk Extreme PRO (tested 128 and 256GB), very stable on long recordings and reliable so far.


I can record RAW at 30fps on the BMPCC with no drop frames on this card, that says a lot  :D

theBilalFakhouri

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1143
  • UHS-I
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #36 on: February 23, 2023, 10:35:34 PM »
Thanks for the suggestion iaburn, I have added it in the list.

Slightly faster than The Sandisk Extreme PRO (tested 128 and 256GB), very stable on long recordings and reliable so far.

Could you share some benchmarks at 240 MHz in Play mode for both Sandisk Extreme PRO and Kingston CANVAS Select Plus?
Cooking some features . . .

iaburn

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 148
Re: SD Overclocking - DIGIC 5 only
« Reply #37 on: February 23, 2023, 11:07:30 PM »
Could you share some benchmarks at 240 MHz in Play mode for both Sandisk Extreme PRO and Kingston CANVAS Select Plus?

Sure, just did it with the 128GB ones, and I was actually wrong. I formatted both cards before the benchmark and the Sandisk got 94.4 MB/s max, I think it was around 85MB/s last time I checked. The Kingston tops at 89.8 MB/s:

Kingston CANVAS Select Plus 128GB:


Sandisk Extreme PRO (170MB/s) 128GB: