Author Topic: Zero Bit Error?  (Read 546 times)

fridaycaleb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Zero Bit Error?
« on: December 01, 2020, 03:22:34 PM »
Hi, I'm wondering if anyone else has had this problem. No RAW converters that I've used will recognize the data in my RAW files that I shot recently. Even if I use the most basic RAW2DNG it ends in 1 second and the folder created is empty. The footage has the info/size when I right click and it was shot on 2 different ML loaded CF cards and footage from neither will be recognized.

names_are_hard

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 313
  • 200D idiot
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #1 on: December 01, 2020, 03:34:13 PM »
We need more information :)  What camera did you shoot on?  What version of ML are you using?  What OS are you using?  Can you give us an example file?

fridaycaleb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #2 on: December 01, 2020, 04:20:15 PM »
5DMIII, It's an older version of ML, can't lookup the exact number right now. I've tried on Mac Catalina and this morning I tried on Windows 10 Pro 64bit. I can upload an example shortly if that's needed.

names_are_hard

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 313
  • 200D idiot
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #3 on: December 01, 2020, 04:26:01 PM »
Thanks.  Yes, we need an example file.  Can't fix a problem without being able to test it.

fridaycaleb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #4 on: December 01, 2020, 04:29:34 PM »
Sure, Do you have a preferred file hosting method? Google Drive work?

fridaycaleb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #5 on: December 01, 2020, 04:34:06 PM »
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/19lk7_D4fdi24oAB2MjoFH-2mH5ts2l__?usp=sharing

Here's a Drive link, but let me know if another method works better! Thank you

names_are_hard

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 313
  • 200D idiot
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #6 on: December 01, 2020, 04:38:22 PM »
File is 1.1GB and ends in .RAW.  This is not a Canon raw image.  What format are you expecting this file to be?  How did you produce it?  Is this perhaps supposed to be raw video?

fridaycaleb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #7 on: December 01, 2020, 04:40:47 PM »
Yes it's raw video. It's definitely an older ML version but i've been using them for a long time without issue until now.

names_are_hard

  • Developer
  • Senior
  • *****
  • Posts: 313
  • 200D idiot
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #8 on: December 01, 2020, 04:47:51 PM »
Okay, I think we now have the required information to help.

Longer term, you should move to a more recent ML version, the file format has been .mlv for several years now (which is a better name!  No confusion on whether you mean raw images or raw video).

It should be possible to convert these files but I've never worked with raw video so I can't help.  Probably someone else will see this and let you know how to convert.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7711
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #9 on: December 01, 2020, 04:56:01 PM »
No problem with Windows 10 and raw2dng.exe. These are the executables I tried:
https://filehorst.de/d/dBeeBivc


fridaycaleb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 12
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #10 on: December 01, 2020, 05:00:47 PM »
Yes! that worked, thank you so much! The flicker is actually the gym lights strobing lol, but thanks!

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7711
Re: Zero Bit Error?
« Reply #11 on: December 01, 2020, 05:05:11 PM »
Glad to help! But you should know ML doesn't support old RAW file format anymore. Consider updating and using MLV_LITE instead.