Author Topic: Canon m10 with ML  (Read 708 times)

Larry123

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Canon m10 with ML
« on: July 01, 2019, 09:30:53 PM »
Is it true that I can load ML to Canon m10 body and turn it into a 2.5k camera?

Thank you

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6870
Re: Canon m10 with ML
« Reply #1 on: July 01, 2019, 11:17:40 PM »
No! And because M10 runs on PowerShot codebase (see https://builds.magiclantern.fm/ -> Your camera is not listed) you will most likely never see ML on M10.

May I ask where this BS info came from?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1476
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: Canon m10 with ML
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2019, 09:49:07 AM »
It's only true for the original EOS M, the first 'M' series camera from Canon, which has magic lantern support.
Not for the EOS M10, since it runs Powershot firmware, as Walter pointed out.

Seems that there is however CHDK support for the EOS M10.
https://chdk.fandom.com/wiki/CHDK

Only available under 'unstable new development version 1.5.0:
http://mighty-hoernsche.de/trunk/
Camera is listed as 'Powershot M10'

Never used CHDK, don't know if it's safe for your camera and if it ads much new features to the M10  :P


garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1787
Re: Canon m10 with ML
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2019, 05:38:53 PM »
FYI I do use CHDK, ie histograms and Lua scripting.