Best camera for video interview / documentary

Started by Farangi, May 03, 2019, 02:10:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Farangi

Hey all!

First off apologies if this is a thread many times trod, but I couldn't find quite the answers i was looking for.

I am an amateur documentary maker and have been using my old canon 1100d (= rebel t3? I think) to do interviews. ML has unlocked some cool features for me on it (w/o ML the 1100d only shoots video in automatic) but I think I'm ready for an upgrade / second camera.

I've got about $1000 to spend and was looking at the 80d since I have two lenses for my 1100d both of which would fit it. Also it's within budget, has been touted as a great model in terms of what ML can unlock and it meets some of the stuff I want from a new camera.

Requirements are:
Min 60fps
Great image quality
Good focus in low light
Full frame would be great for shallow depth of field as i'll mostly be doing interviews - the effect I want to achieve is focused subject with blurry background.

Budget isn't set in stone it's just what I've got at the moment if the perfect camera is more than that I could wait and try to gather more cash.

Anyway any advice is very welcome, especially if you make documentaries / interviews. Which model do you prefer? Also what features have I not mentioned and I don't even know I want?

Cheers

F

jpegmasterjesse

5D3 is pretty much the flagship ML camera, but the 6D would also be a good full frame choice. I'm assuming you're not shooting RAW for documentary, so you have a lot of good options.

Dmytro_ua

R8 | Canon 16-35 4.0L | Canon 50 1.4 | Canon 100mm 2.8 macro
Ronin-S | Feelworld F6 PLUS

andy kh

80d has  no ML supported yet. 70D is the only ML supported camera that has dual pixel auto focus in video mode and i really love it but if you shoot raw 60fps 5d iii is the only camera to go. All other camera suffer ftom moire and aliasing.
5D Mark III - 70D

Dmytro_ua

Quote from: andy kh on May 03, 2019, 04:53:26 PM