Author Topic: Managing mode change  (Read 268 times)

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
Managing mode change
« on: April 17, 2019, 07:48:22 PM »
@a1ex

I’ve stumbled again  :-[

What I’m trying to do is enter my script in any mode, ie M, Av or Tv, and in the script change/control both aperture and shutter speed, ie run the script in M mode.

Is there a way to switch modes in Lua?

If there is, I can’t find it.

The alternative being to force the script to only run if in M mode.

As usual I’m hoping you have the answer  ;)

Cheers

Garry

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12283
  • Emergencies only
Re: Managing mode change
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2019, 07:57:27 PM »
Mode change is not supported, as I had some issues with it in the past. For example, on 60D, I've got ERR70 in a software-switched shooting mode, but everything was OK when switching to that mode from the dial.

Might be doable, but I wouldn't enable it just because it seems to work; rather, I want to understand what caused the above issue.

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1772
Re: Managing mode change
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2019, 08:18:30 PM »
I thought you might say something like that  ;)

No problem, will restrict script to M mode.

BTW my use case was entering the script in Av mode and then changing shutter speed in the script.

Cheers

Garry