Author Topic: Something seems to be missing...  (Read 249 times)

Cody651

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Something seems to be missing...
« on: April 13, 2019, 01:37:10 AM »
Hello everyone, thanks in advance for any help you can give me. I recently installed ML 1.2.3 to my 5dmkiii (running firmware vers 1.2.3) everything installed and booted up fine, I go into the menu and it seems that my options are pretty lacking. I don't see the option to enable raw like I've seen in previous posts from the same version. If anyone has any suggestions or advice as to what I might have missed during the initial setup it would be greatly appreciated. (Reference to how my menu looks is attached below ) Thanks!


timbytheriver

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
Re: Something seems to be missing...
« Reply #1 on: April 13, 2019, 09:15:47 AM »
Looks like you haven't loaded any 'Modules' yet. These are the various choices you make for functionality. Go to the tab third from right (the little boxes icon) and select from the options there. If you want to record Raw video select:
mlv_lite
crop_rec
mlv_snd
mlv_play

Then restart the camera and your Video tab should have more options to see! :)
5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6673
Re: Something seems to be missing...
« Reply #2 on: April 13, 2019, 09:24:42 AM »
@Cody651: Which ML version is in use?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

Cody651

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Something seems to be missing...
« Reply #3 on: April 13, 2019, 05:35:09 PM »
@timbytheriver thanks for your help! I chose the listed modules but couldn’t find crop_rec. I still get a max out at 1920 when trying to change resolution and a message that’s reading any ratio I go to over 1920 “is not possible in current video mode (max 1920)”.

 
Thanks again for your help and patience, I’m sure I’m just completely overlooking something again.

Cody651

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Something seems to be missing...
« Reply #4 on: April 13, 2019, 05:38:26 PM »
@walter schulz I’m running nightly.2018.jul03.5d123. And am running the canon 1.2.3 firmware

timbytheriver

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 224
Re: Something seems to be missing...
« Reply #5 on: April 13, 2019, 05:42:50 PM »
@Cody651 Ah yes. I forgot! The crop_rec.mo comes from the 4K raw video recording; lossless compression experimental build here: https://builds.magiclantern.fm/experiments.html This enables resolutions above 1080p, but is still in experimental stage.

5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6673
Re: Something seems to be missing...
« Reply #6 on: April 13, 2019, 05:47:38 PM »
The version you are using doesn't contain crop_rec.mo. You have two options now:
Run MLV_REC.mo and (optional) MLV_SND.mo if you want to record sound in cam.
Run MLV_Lite.mo without MLV_SND.mo. There is no sound option available for this module within nightly build.
If you want higher resolutions with these builds you have to enable crop mode by pressing loupe/magnifiy button in liveview. Don't expect continuous recording though. Uncompressed 14 bit RAW in 1080p24 will just bordering cam's card interface speed limit.

If you want to take part in the 4k-ride you have to switch to crop_4k experimental build. You will find some useful information about those modules in experimental build page.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!