Author Topic: MFA on 60D - reversing calibration  (Read 469 times)

ruthenianboy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
MFA on 60D - reversing calibration
« on: February 23, 2019, 11:19:52 AM »
Hello guys,

I am owner of 60D body and I bought new lens. As this lens is not working properly on my body (due to FF/BF per Canon service), I am about to send with body it to service for calibration. As 60D do not have MFA available, I would like to help in this regard and willing to dump body before and after MFA calibration for mentioned lens. Let me know if this may be helpful for development of MFA feature for bodies without this feature. If this is the case, I will need guide to what need to be captured before calibration.

@Moderators: I think this could be tracked in separate topic but merge it with other topics if it is duplicate.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6790
Re: MFA on 60D - reversing calibration
« Reply #1 on: February 24, 2019, 10:18:55 AM »
Thank you for your offer but most likely they won't do any software adjustments but tweak screws/bolts/shims. Which is BTW the proper way to fix what looks like a mechanical misalignement.
Even if there where other (software) adjustments it won't do any good in porting this feature to ML. ML uses what is available in cam and AFAIK cams not offering FMA simply don't have a software hook to grab.
See feature matrix https://builds.magiclantern.fm/features.html -> Modules -> dot_tune
and
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=950.msg1163#msg1163 -> first item
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

ruthenianboy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: MFA on 60D - reversing calibration
« Reply #2 on: February 24, 2019, 11:57:54 AM »
To be honest with you, I dont know how exactly it works. But from discussion I had with seller after they contacted service on my demand, it seems that calibration will be done via some propietary software in service. Thats where my thoughts came from. That's why i though calibration for particular lens is stored in body itself, but it is not accessible to normal user. I am sorry if I am wrong. I am not requesting microadjustment to be implemented. I just offered my situation to capture some valuable(if any) data.  :)



 

srsa

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: MFA on 60D - reversing calibration
« Reply #3 on: February 24, 2019, 12:13:56 PM »
I guess it can't hurt if you make a ROM dump before sending it in and another after receiving it.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16534.0
But that of course doesn't guarantee anyone will jump and implement any calibration related feature.

ArcziPL

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 131
Re: MFA on 60D - reversing calibration
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2019, 02:20:10 PM »
Thank you for your offer but most likely they won't do any software adjustments but tweak screws/bolts/shims.
AFAIK the standard procedure is software. They touch mechanics only if the misalignment is too serious to be fixed by software.

I guess it can't hurt if you make a ROM dump before sending it in and another after receiving it.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16534.0
But that of course doesn't guarantee anyone will jump and implement any calibration related feature.
Sure it won't hurt but from what I believe the calibration data is not in ROM but EEPROM (can be dumped as well).
70D.112 | M50.102 | M.202

ruthenianboy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: MFA on 60D - reversing calibration
« Reply #5 on: September 09, 2019, 03:10:37 PM »
Hello All. My camera come back from authorized service almost 2 with statement there was no issue found (however i got later on information that service noticed AF speed issue but they dont know how to fix it for now). I am not sure if they performed MFA calibration or not. There are few sections in MPU eeprom which has changed after service but it is beyond my knowledge to assume AF calibration data location. Easier and methodological approch may be calibration setup at the table and dump after each action. But SPT software is expensive for this.

I ran linux strings against firmware dump and noticed there are Microdajustment menu entries texts present in firmware. Also there are some other hidden menus and special factory PTP mode.

Code: [Select]
[root]# strings fw/ROM1.BIN | grep -i -e "All by same" -e "Adjust by lens"
1:Adjust all by same amount
2:Adjust by lens
[root]#
[root]# strings fw/ROM1.BIN | grep -i -e "Menu" -e "Factory" | grep "\*\*\*\*\*\*\*"
********** Details Analysis Menu Ver 0.03 **********
************ COMMAND MENU Ver 0.02 ************
********** FACTORY ADJUSTMENT MENU VER 0.01 **********
************ FROMUTILITY MENU Ver 0.09 ************
[root]# strings fw/ROM1.BIN | grep -i -e "FactoryConnect"
FactoryConnect\PTPtoFAPI\PTPtoFAPI.c
Canon EOS FactoryConnect
FactoryConnect\TransparentMemory\TransparentMemory.c
[root@]#


All that brought me to post https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=20507.msg217522#msg217522 which confirm factory menu is present. So now question is if AF adjustment could be performed from this factory menu or via Microadjustment menu executed by particular function call.