Author Topic: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)  (Read 36073 times)

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #175 on: August 29, 2019, 10:55:36 PM »
                     @ DFort & WeEIMC

"when inserting a card that has ML for another camera on it the M50 just goes into a coma"

           Should work if You simply "Hide" ML in a "HidingPlace" Folder/Directoy ~

                                                                      ORR ~ DeanB
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

safwanck

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #176 on: September 01, 2019, 05:54:40 PM »
I am new to all this ML thing, But really want to test out this ML. So today I tested the fishy build on my M50.
The procedure was simple for me, just placed the boot m50.fir into the memory card and updated my firmware from canon menu. After that, I placed the entire fish build into my sd card and by using EOScard made my sd card bootable. Then just booted my camera. And I saw the log getting captured over my display.


And to enter the magic lantern settings, I need to press the delete button, but it didn't take to the ML settings during those presses as much as I need. Then I found that I need to be in video mode to get into ML settings. On video mode, Every press of delete button took me to ML menu.

Also, there is no extra function available on this Fishy build. the modules available are benchmark and self-test modules. Also, the video module in ML menu causes to freeze the camera and the only available option is to remove the battery.

Note guys, I don't know any technical stuff that much right now cause it's my first experience of flashing a custom ROM on Camera. So if any of you guys are free, feel free to let me know about all the technical stuff or at least what I did by flashing that boot m50.fir and how it's going to affect the future of my m50.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6790
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #177 on: September 04, 2019, 09:41:46 AM »
You set the "boot flag" on your cam. It will now check for a bootable card each time battery hatch is closed and each time the cam is powered up from powersave. If you insert an incompatible card (very, very old EyeFi cards) cam will get stuck. If a bootable card is found it will check for autoexec.bin. If no autoexec.bin is found cam will get stuck. Just don't use bootable cards without autoexec.bin.
You haven't flashed a custom ROM to your card. Your firmware wasn't replaced. ML runs from card, not from NVRAM.

And you may consider not going somewhere without checking the consequences of your actions. Maybe consider asking before doing something if you're unable to check the consequences.
Just saying ...
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

lorenzo353

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #178 on: September 11, 2019, 08:51:45 PM »
Hi,

Could you please provide me raw samples in continuous mode (both raw and c-raw) ?
So that I can check it is 12bits or not ?
It should be stored in CMP1, offset 32.

Kind regards

Laurent
https://github.com/lclevy/canon_cr3

OlRivrRat

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 515
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #179 on: September 12, 2019, 05:02:08 PM »
   @lorenzo353

Might be helpful to state Who are You asking these ?s of ~
ORR~DeanB  ~~  80D-ML  &  SL1+ML  &  5D2+ML  &  5DC+ML  &  70D+ML(AliveAgain)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6790
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #180 on: September 12, 2019, 05:17:23 PM »
Search engine -> CHDK lorenzo353

I don't think devs share your problem. See nanomad's reply https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=3096.msg14579#msg14579
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

lorenzo353

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #181 on: September 12, 2019, 09:13:56 PM »
Hi,

I'm documenting the CR3 format here : https://github.com/lclevy/canon_cr3
Any CR3 capable model with continuous model can help, please.

12bits in continuous mode has been discussed in this thread, that's why I'm asking here.

Kind regards

Laurent
https://github.com/lclevy/canon_cr3 and http://lclevy.free.fr/cr2/



71m363nd3r

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #182 on: Yesterday at 02:44:04 AM »
Hi,

I'm documenting the CR3 format here : https://github.com/lclevy/canon_cr3
Any CR3 capable model with continuous model can help, please.

12bits in continuous mode has been discussed in this thread, that's why I'm asking here.

Kind regards

Laurent
https://github.com/lclevy/canon_cr3 and http://lclevy.free.fr/cr2/

No problem, send me your contacts over PM, I will create the files for you.

lorenzo353

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: DIGIC 8 'PowerShot' development (M50, SX70, SX740)
« Reply #183 on: Yesterday at 08:15:35 PM »
Hi,
It seems continuous mode in M50 produces 14 bits, sorry.
But G5 X Mark II and G7 X Mark III do produce 'raw burst', with several pictures in one CR3.
https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canon-powershot-g5-x-mark-ii-review/5

"Another thing to note - the camera saves all the image in a sort of 'wrapper,' with the 'CR3' suffix. To open them on a desktop machine, you'll need to use Canon's Digital Photo Professional software. You can also extract and process individual files from the camera and save them out as JPEGs that way if you prefer."

Kind regards
Laurent