Author Topic: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M  (Read 834 times)

m1k3y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« on: December 28, 2018, 09:54:41 PM »
Hi all!

I need some advice please!
I use Intervalometer in combination with bulb-mode on my canon but only the 1st picture of the series has the set bulb time (e.g. 2m30s) and the rest of the series has 30 sec (max. setting of the camera).
It seems like it switches back from bulb to 30 sec. after the first exposure.
Any help is appreciated.
Thank you!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12241
  • Maintenance mode
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2018, 08:29:06 AM »
It's probably unable to switch back to bulb, for some reason...

Can you share your config file, so we can try to reproduce?

m1k3y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2019, 10:39:52 AM »

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12241
  • Maintenance mode
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2019, 01:06:40 PM »
Quote
# Magic Lantern v2.3.NEXT.2013Aug04.EOSM202

505 Version Not Supported.

m1k3y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2019, 04:02:30 PM »
What version is not supported? ML or EOS FW?
And is there a new version that solves the problem?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2019, 04:06:38 PM »
Top of page -> Downloads -> Download Mightly Builds -> EOS M -> Installation
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

m1k3y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2019, 08:55:23 PM »
will do!
try it soon.
Thanks in advance fro your help

m1k3y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2019, 09:35:42 AM »
Success!!!!
It worked now.

Just one open issue: I set the bulb timer on 35s, the intervalo on every 10 sec, 2 shots, start after 3s and after the first image there where a message on the screen that said "interval time too short (26 sec)" but the 2nd exposure was made perfectly.
Did I miss anything?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2019, 10:02:22 AM »
Did I miss anything?

Math, maybe. ;-)
If you tell the cam to take a pic every 10 seconds (intervalometer) and set exposure duration to 35 seconds (bulb timer) what can a poor cam do?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

m1k3y

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #9 on: January 08, 2019, 10:41:35 AM »
Ok, I wasn't aware that I have to add the exposure duration ;)
Thanks!

dansawyeror

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #10 on: April 02, 2019, 03:07:31 PM »
There is an additional consideration in calculating the time between shots number. I am shooting raw astrophotography. It takes several seconds for the camera to read and write the image. It appears as though this delay must be added to the bulb time to estimate the time between shots number.

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6762
Re: Intervalometer with bulb on EOS M
« Reply #11 on: April 02, 2019, 05:34:00 PM »
I'm aware of 2 additional issues may taking place:
- FRSP takes several seconds to process a picture
- If "Long time noise reduction" is activated, cam will take a second exposure with shutter closed.

Are those the issues you have in mind?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!