Author Topic: Adobe has finally added ProRes encoding to it's Windows video apps  (Read 590 times)

Andy600

  • Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1857
  • Have you tried turning it off and on again?
Colorist working with Davinci Resolve, Baselight, Nuke, After Effects & Premier Pro. Occasional Sunday afternoon DOP. Developer of Cinelog-C Colorspace Management and LUTs - www.cinelogdcp.com

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3647
Re: Adobe has finally added ProRes encoding to it's Windows video apps
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2018, 03:12:12 AM »
This is actually huge for the studio that I work with. They have a deal with HP so there are very few Macs on campus. A part of the reason they rely on Autodesk Flame on Linux is because of ProRes encoding.

In any case, ProRes has become an industry standard so it is good to finally see encoding officially available on Windows.
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

togg

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 390
Re: Adobe has finally added ProRes encoding to it's Windows video apps
« Reply #2 on: December 15, 2018, 09:54:29 AM »
ProRes is a simple codec to understand, I've tried to wrap my head around the choices on windows and, like most of the things on that OS, it was a mess.

domo94

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 80
Re: Adobe has finally added ProRes encoding to it's Windows video apps
« Reply #3 on: December 15, 2018, 09:09:56 PM »
Very great, and LATE, move on Adobe. But it's a great codec nonetheless.
I've been using DNxHD for a minute now for color bit depth encoding and then encoding to h264 for online upload purposes.

Gonna start using ProRes now when I understand which is best for me :)