ML, 50D, and EoS Utility.

Started by Ignyte, December 18, 2018, 03:13:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ignyte

G'day,

Im new to photography and have recently discovered the wonders of bulb ramping.
I'd like to put ML on my 50D and try this out but i'm worried about the possibility of bricking my only camera.

All im looking to do is to use the bulb ramping feature, and have the images it takes stored on my computer through the EoS utility during the timelapse (Something the utility normally does when the camera is plugged in).

Just wondering if anyone can confirm whether or not this works before I give it a fair go.

I'm using what I assume is the latest Canon EoS utility, and it's normally plugged into a windows 8 (I know I know...) netbook when out timelapsing.

Cheers for your help.

Walter Schulz

If you connect an ML enabled cam via USB you won't be able to access ML menu.
There is a way to access rudimentary features with LUA scripting but no PTP support out-of-the-box.

Do you really need ML? Because you can access Canon settings with remote control software and script your own bulb ramping routine. Haven't looked up yet but maybe there are scripts/tools available covering your needs.

PS: We had some cams in our Camera Emergency Dept. temporarily bricked by such remote control tools. Canon SDK allows some settings to be changed through PTP connection without "sanity" check ...

Ignyte

Oh I see, so I wouldn't be able to set up the bulb ramp and then have it start when the shutter release is pressed?

I don't really need ML no, just trying to find a simple (or straight forward, rather) way to achieve those day to night transitions in timelapse without spending much, if any.

Scripts and that are way out of my scope of knowledge. I feel as though I'd bork it if I try to poke about with scripts when I've no clue what I'm doing.

Cheers for the response, Walter!

garry23

@Ignyte

I assumed you have tried non-ML options, eg https://lrtimelapse.com/faq/