Author Topic: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments  (Read 57497 times)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #200 on: January 01, 2020, 04:00:53 PM »
* button comes with haflshutter button for good or worse. The other way around is tricky. I assume yoù know a way to assign the ae(*) button cause I don't.
Cheers

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2048
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #201 on: January 01, 2020, 04:34:42 PM »
 Ok

timbytheriver

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #202 on: January 02, 2020, 12:10:49 PM »
Hi!

Just cloned your crop_rec_4k_mlv_snd_isogain_1x3_presets_2020Jan01 repo and tried to add my iso-regs code into it.

Think maybe I've done something wrong as the new 'Presets' tab is there – but when I try and select it, it doesn't activate. :(

Can you see something I've done wrong? Maybe I need to add things in different places now…  :o


Ignore pls!

For some reason my crop_rec.mo wasn't compiling at all… Compiled separately and it works now.  Sorry…  :-[

Cheers!
5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

timbytheriver

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #203 on: January 02, 2020, 02:07:12 PM »
Cool menu edit + new toys… Thanks! :)

Notice that with Sound recording = ON, the camera start/stop beeps don't sound. Turning Sound recording = OFF brings them back. Is this expected behaviour?


5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #204 on: January 02, 2020, 02:16:39 PM »
There's a reason for most things in here ;).

timbytheriver

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #205 on: January 09, 2020, 04:41:35 PM »
Got these errors every other couple of shots today with latest build:

Live display; text in red:

'fatal no buffers'

then a few seconds later

'audio failed to stop. read state 3'

only a 3kb file is saved with no content.

Pressing menu then allows a proper recording, but the whole cycle repeats again.

I was recording in 3K as usual, with NO audio, so that's odd!

Anyone replicate this error?

Thanks.
5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #206 on: January 09, 2020, 04:55:43 PM »
Tell me exact settings, preset, etc. Preferrably do screenshots or a screenrecording to be sure not to miss anything.

timbytheriver

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #207 on: January 09, 2020, 05:08:57 PM »



These are the error screens, but I noticed that Sound recording was enabled – my bad. However, I was running raw_diag.mo. I disabled that module and it seems to be ok again. Never seen that error before!  :o Good to know!

5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #208 on: January 09, 2020, 05:34:35 PM »
How are you running raw_diag module?
Next time reporting issues tell build, set up, enabled modules etc. Tiring with most, not all, 'test reports'  just thrown out there without even basic info.

timbytheriver

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #209 on: January 09, 2020, 06:08:11 PM »
Quote
How are you running raw_diag module?

Just by loading and enabling the module. I only really use it for the raw info readout window.
5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #210 on: January 09, 2020, 06:13:33 PM »
Yes, but that indicates you are running older builds. In later build you would see that enabling modules is not there. So, build info is vital.

timbytheriver

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 446
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #211 on: January 09, 2020, 08:55:05 PM »
I cloned your repo at commit #5a6f55b 2019‑12‑31 and compiled locally.

I can see that you have now enabled modules by default and that the modules tab doesn't display. But if you add other 'extra' modules in – as I did with a1ex's raw_diag.mo – the module tab then appears and can be accessed to enable these extra modules – but the rest of the modules still remain 'invisible'.

So I don't think it is an 'older build'. ?
5D3 1.1.3
5D2 2.1.2

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #212 on: January 09, 2020, 09:18:05 PM »
Oh, that´s nice. Didn´t know it worked. Jip-Hop worked out the module automation routines. Nice find.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #213 on: January 10, 2020, 11:00:00 AM »
Added mlv capabilities as for eosm here:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=9741.msg224216#msg224216

EDIT: Buggy. Took out the mlv_play fix for now. Needs more testing...

EDIT: Reuploaded. Hopefully bug fixed. Needs testing

Stousen

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 43
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #214 on: January 12, 2020, 06:24:38 PM »
The anamorphic mode is superb, so much less noise in low light situations.

Right bow i have the slow framing preview and a live preview on atomos shinobi working.
Tho the framing is correct on the canon camera its a bit off on the external monitor. I wonder if its possible to arrange it so that i can get the center position on my external monitor aswell?

//Chris

ilia3101

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #215 on: January 15, 2020, 04:00:02 PM »
@Danne do you know why the 5D3 can only record 14 bit with compression in UHD preset?

Could 12/10 bit be added? Or is this something not easy? (I can go in to the code again if needed)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #216 on: January 15, 2020, 04:18:17 PM »
It could probably be added but I don't know how to do it the "right" way. There are comments about reducing bits in mlv_lite.c.

But, meanwhile it should work with my bitdepth workaround by keeping 14bit lossless in RAW video menu and selecting 10 or 12 bit from Movie tab menu. Should do more or less the same.

ilia3101

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #217 on: January 15, 2020, 04:33:47 PM »
Ah ok, this is available with the new "eos m" layout? I will try it out.

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #218 on: January 15, 2020, 04:59:38 PM »
Yes, works, just tested.

ilia3101

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #219 on: January 15, 2020, 09:24:36 PM »
Nice! I will try it very soon. (once I empty my card)

Is this only possible with the recent layout update?

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #220 on: January 15, 2020, 09:29:15 PM »
Can´t remember. I know I added my bitdepth workaround not so long ago to the uhd so that might very well be true. But it´s better to use the latest as I did a lot of cleanup as well so nu reason to stay on the older version.

ilia3101

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #221 on: January 15, 2020, 09:35:30 PM »
I think it's true then, I remember I just couldn't find any way to change bitdepth in the previous build.

I will use the latest of course, I have always done so with magic lantern :)

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #222 on: January 15, 2020, 09:46:34 PM »
I think it's true then, I remember I just couldn't find any way to change bitdepth in the previous build.

I will use the latest of course, I have always done so with magic lantern :)
Strange. Should have been in the sub menu. Anyway. It´s in Movie tab menu now so can´t be missed in the latest version. Just make sure that it´s set to 14bitlossless in RAW video menu:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=23041.msg216899#msg216899

ilia3101

  • Moderators
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 924
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #223 on: January 16, 2020, 01:27:23 AM »
Ah I didn't even think it could have been in crop_rec! Spent an entire holiday choosing between 4 second recording times and 20fps :D

Also why are the modules gone in the new build? How does it all work? How do you load a module? Do you think this is the future of magic lantern layout? It feels a whole lot less modular to me :(

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6928
Re: Danne's crop_rec_4k & ISO experiments
« Reply #224 on: January 16, 2020, 06:55:31 AM »
Future, modular? I rearranged and modified to be able to just start the camera and get on using it. It's just another open source project.
Code is there so you can build your own tweaks if there's something you're missing but since you didn't even find the crop mode sub menu in the last build at least enjoy the oppurtunity to lower the bitdepths again ;).
It's not like the modules are gone. They are simply autoenabled. Is there a module you're missing?