Author Topic: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?  (Read 606 times)

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« on: October 16, 2018, 09:15:57 PM »
good day friends,
I have canon 5D Mark III and a
Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s,
when  I select Raw, ML says that I have 35mb/s? and then skip frames with anything above 1080p pretty much

thats crazy, I have a 160mb/s great sandisk card, why is this happening?

and yes, I do have the preferred card pref setting set to CF , and ML is  of course on  the SD

thank u

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #1 on: October 16, 2018, 09:19:49 PM »
to be more precise
it's in front of my eyes

- my card is SanDisk Extreme Pro, 64GB 160 MB/s, UDMA 7, CF
- preferred card setting in prefs set to: CF

and anything raw above 1080p shows that it will skip frames and record 0, and indeed that's what happens

? help please

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #2 on: October 16, 2018, 09:20:26 PM »
at the moment im using the  experimental 10 bit raw build, but I have also
tried with the official 5d mark iii latest stable build and others
same issue

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6708
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #3 on: October 16, 2018, 09:25:30 PM »
1) Baseline your card. Use a decent UDMA-7 compatible cardreader (USB 3.0) connected to PC and run benchmark test there.
Windows: CrystalDiskMark. MacOS: Blackmagic Disk Speed Test
Cardreaders reviewed in https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.0
Sandisk Extreme Pro reviewed in https://www.cameramemoryspeed.com/reviews/cf-cards/sandisk-extreme-pro-64gb-cf-card/

If Sequential Read/Write rates are within specifications you may perform benchmark test on your cam.

2) Modules tab -> Bench.mo ON -> Restart in photo mode -> Debug tab -> Benchmarks -> Card Benchmarks -> Quick R/W benchmark (1 min).
Post results.

If you are able to run 1080p (frame rate?) card seems to be ok.

Looks like a configuration issue to me.
So give
- Modules loaded?
- Overlays deactivated?
- LV settings?
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #4 on: October 16, 2018, 09:29:43 PM »
This is my card below, if it says  150mb/s write speed, why wouldnt it be able to do it, I will anyway follow your advice and try to install that bench module, weird in any case

SANDISK EXTREME PRO® COMPACTFLASH® MEMORY CARD
256 GB128 GB64 GB32 GB16 GB
Capacity: 64 GB
Read Speed: up to 160 MB/s
Write Speed: up to 150 MB/s
Video Speed: VPG-65
Form Factor: CompactFlash
This industry-leading memory card is optimized for professional-grade video capture, with a minimum sustained write speed of 65MB/s1 for rich 4K and Full HD video.
Buy Now
Find Local

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #5 on: October 16, 2018, 09:31:40 PM »
I just changed that CF for a completely different one,
but it keeps saying the very same thing:   Expect around 0 frames at 35.1 mb/s,
it  keeps saying this very weird 35.1 mb/s with both completely different CF cards,
this must be something related to configuration or etc, very weird

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2018, 09:32:19 PM »
what would be the correct
- Modules loaded?
- Overlays deactivated?
- LV settings?
?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6708
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #7 on: October 16, 2018, 09:34:08 PM »
Install ML on CF-card and test without SD.

And I didn't ask for marketing hot air, I asked for numbers after running tests.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #8 on: October 16, 2018, 09:36:11 PM »
So I followed your advice,
installed bench module,
and ran the 1 minute R/W test, results:

Write Speed: 118 mb/s,
so its not 160, but its 118!!! certainly not 35! :)

so whats up :)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6708
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #9 on: October 16, 2018, 09:37:31 PM »
Install ML on CF and retry recording without inserting SD.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #10 on: October 16, 2018, 09:38:52 PM »
mmm,
but, I thought the advice is to always install ML on SD card, and then record video on separate CF,

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6708
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #11 on: October 16, 2018, 09:39:37 PM »
Yes, and I told you to install ML on CF and retry recording without inserting SD.
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #12 on: October 16, 2018, 09:41:34 PM »
all right, but forgive my ignorance, Im a newbie, there are no risks in recording video in the same card where ML is installed? (all in the CF) ?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6708
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #13 on: October 16, 2018, 09:46:37 PM »
<Sigh>
Photogs and videographers: Assist in proof reading upcoming in-camera help!. Your input is wanted and needed!

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #14 on: October 16, 2018, 10:27:10 PM »
all right sir, I did as you told me,
I installed the 10 bit raw firmware on the CF,
and recorded on the CF,
yes now I am not getting that problem
now I could record RAW up to around 95mb/s, so up to around 10bit Raw 2:35 . 2496x1062, thats
the maximum I can do 2496 x 1062

so now the question is,
why cant I put  ML on SD and record on the CF? is this a bug?
because its not good to record on same card  where ML is installed,  then when card gets full what do I do? and when I want to format the card, etc?

so is this a bug?

javismiles

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #15 on: October 16, 2018, 10:35:52 PM »
another question if possible,
I want to record at 24fps, and yet its like the system chooses the speed arbitrarily, I get 29fps etc,
how can I set 24fps while still recording sound,
i see fps overrtide but then i get no sound it looks like

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3564
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Extreme Pro 64gb 160 mb/s and yet ML says its 35mb/s?
« Reply #16 on: October 17, 2018, 04:52:07 AM »
Discussion should continue in one of the other threads.