Author Topic: t5i raw  (Read 8397 times)

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
t5i raw
« on: June 29, 2018, 04:20:17 AM »
What ever happened to 4k raw and 12 and 10 bit raw coming to the t5i? if it's here already or if there's a test module how dose one find and or enable it? also what about losses compression?

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2018, 05:41:47 AM »
8 bit raw would be nice a nice addition too.

Ballinger

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 19
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2018, 06:44:30 AM »
What ever happened to 4k raw and 12 and 10 bit raw coming to the t5i? if it's here already or if there's a test module how dose one find and or enable it? also what about losses compression?

There is a very experimental build that allows both 2K and 3K resolutions on the T5i/700D.  My best understanding is that it requires overclocking the SD card bus in addition to running a special module on a Crop_Rec 4K build of Magic Lantern.   

Info here:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg202049#msg202049

and here:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5951.msg202957#msg202957


dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #3 on: June 29, 2018, 07:16:01 AM »
I can't 720p raw to work for more than a few seconds with the new build I installed today (I had no issue with that in the past).

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #4 on: June 29, 2018, 07:24:00 AM »
dose anyone know when this will be in the daily builds.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #5 on: June 29, 2018, 07:27:34 AM »
There is a very experimental build that allows both 2K and 3K resolutions on the T5i/700D.  My best understanding is that it requires overclocking the SD card bus in addition to running a special module on a Crop_Rec 4K build of Magic Lantern.   

Info here:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg202049#msg202049

and here:

https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5951.msg202957#msg202957

thanks

dfort

  • Guest
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #6 on: June 29, 2018, 07:52:37 AM »
dose anyone know when this will be in the daily builds.

You can find it in the experiments builds page. If you really want to go cutting edge with the sd-uhs module and a lua script that sets everything on startup look up Danne's builds.

Full 4k isn't quite there yet on the crop sensor cameras.


dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #7 on: June 29, 2018, 08:00:32 AM »
I'd be happy with 8 bit 1080.

dfort

  • Guest
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #8 on: June 29, 2018, 08:45:25 AM »
I'd be happy with 8 bit 1080.

That is possible with Danne's build.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #9 on: June 29, 2018, 03:15:11 PM »
That is possible with Danne's build.

it also seems to be in the 4k build as well cause it's now the main test build. I'm only getting a ~16mb write speed on both the regular build and 4k as well, with a lexar 633x. I can only get continuous 720p at 10 bit or lower! it used to get much much better write speeds and could do 720p in 14 bit. I upgraded my firmware from 1.1.4 to 1.1.5 and upgraded from a two year old build of magic lantern, though i'm guessing the cards just on it's way out. I haven't used raw in over a year, so it's harder to pin down. any ideas?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #10 on: June 29, 2018, 03:23:39 PM »
Not sure if you are already using the SD-uhs hack. But the hack sets the SD interface to a 160Mhz mode.
Now when your card doesn’t handle that mode, it can even get slower with that hack enabled.
Had a sandisk extreme card that normally gives 38MB/s write speed and with the hack enabled it falls down to 20MB/s.
Ordered a new card, sandisk extreme pro and now I have 70MB/s write speed with the SD-uhs hack.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #11 on: June 29, 2018, 03:29:13 PM »
Not sure if you are already using the SD-uhs hack. But the hack sets the SD interface to a 160Mhz mode.
Now when your card doesn’t handle that mode, it can even get slower with that hack enabled.
Had a sandisk extreme card that normally gives 38MB/s write speed and with the hack enabled it falls down to 20MB/s.
Ordered a new card, sandisk extreme pro and now I have 70MB/s write speed with the SD-uhs hack.

i haven't enabled that i'm going to test it with that later today. what camera are you using? and if I encounter bugs who and where do I report them? But I was saying without that hack or anything I used to get a much better write speed. I can't seem to find the sd-uhs hack setting, or is it not in the 4k test build? if so where can i get it?

theBilalFakhouri

  • UHS-I
  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 996
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #12 on: June 29, 2018, 04:49:41 PM »
@dener.3id  4K is here!
 
Experimental crop_rec with higher resolutions for 700D (it Should work for EOS M)

The presets are:
  • Full-res LiveView 5208x3230   @  6.5 fps
  • 3K 2.35:1 3072x1304           @  20 fps
  • 3.5K 3540x1080 Very Wide    @  22 fps
  • 4K 4096x2560                      @  9.5 fps
  • UHD 3840x2160                   @  12 fps
  • 2520x1386 16:9                   @  23.976 fps
  • 1920x1920                           @  23.976 fps (Not working yet)


Follow the link:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg203316#msg203316

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #13 on: June 29, 2018, 06:35:21 PM »
how do i enable sd-uhs?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #14 on: June 29, 2018, 08:49:49 PM »
Once you enabled the module, there’s a new option in the ‘Debug’ menu in ML.
Best to click this option in photo mode, without liveview.
If you click this SD-uhs hack option, the red cardreader led blinks a few times, wait with button pressing and stuff until the cardreader led stops blinking.
When it’s stops blinking it’s ready for use.
Once the camera is set to off, the sd-uhs hack is disabled, needs to be repeated every time you turn on the camera.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #15 on: June 30, 2018, 02:36:07 AM »
Once you enabled the module, there’s a new option in the ‘Debug’ menu in ML.
Best to click this option in photo mode, without liveview.
If you click this SD-uhs hack option, the red cardreader led blinks a few times, wait with button pressing and stuff until the cardreader led stops blinking.
When it’s stops blinking it’s ready for use.
Once the camera is set to off, the sd-uhs hack is disabled, needs to be repeated every time you turn on the camera.

Where can you grab the newest version of the module? Is it in the main test build (4k test is now main test build).

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #16 on: June 30, 2018, 09:15:40 AM »
what setting do i have to use to get higher resolutions?

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #17 on: July 02, 2018, 05:51:47 AM »
I have the 4k build but I can't it to go to anything higher than slightly low than 1080p even with ether crop mode enabled, I don't see any persets for higher resoultion with crop mode like I see in screen shoots of this.
The presets are:

    Full-res LiveView 5208x3230   @  6.5 fps
    3K 2.35:1 3072x1304           @  20 fps
    3.5K 3540x1080 Very Wide    @  22 fps
    4K 4096x2560                      @  9.5 fps
    UHD 3840x2160                   @  12 fps
    2520x1386 16:9                   @  23.976 fps
    1920x1920                           @  23.976 fps (Not working yet)
theres no screen for that that I can tell with crop rec just a bunch of settings that arn't explaned anywere I can find.

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #18 on: July 02, 2018, 11:48:33 AM »
Be sure that you’ve at least enabled the following modules:

Crop_rec
Mlv_lite
Mlv-play
Mlv_snd

Now when these are enabled, you will see a new option in the video tab of the magic lantern menu, called ‘Crop mode’, enter this menu to enable the presets you have seen in screenshots.
Also be sure to go to Raw video menu and check if you have resolution set higher then 1920.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #19 on: July 03, 2018, 04:32:27 AM »
Be sure that you’ve at least enabled the following modules:

Crop_rec
Mlv_lite
Mlv-play
Mlv_snd

Now when these are enabled, you will see a new option in the video tab of the magic lantern menu, called ‘Crop mode’, enter this menu to enable the presets you have seen in screenshots.
Also be sure to go to Raw video menu and check if you have resolution set higher then 1920.

in the crop mode i have a setting for shutter range target yres, delta adtg 0,  delta adtg 1, delta head3,  delta head4, cmos[1] lo, cmos[1 hi], cmos [2]. i see no preset for different resolutions. max is still 1736.

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #20 on: July 03, 2018, 04:50:06 AM »
nothing like this  I have a 700d
    Full-res LiveView 5208x3230   @  6.5 fps
    3K 2.35:1 3072x1304           @  20 fps
    3.5K 3540x1080 Very Wide    @  22 fps
    4K 4096x2560                      @  9.5 fps
    UHD 3840x2160                   @  12 fps
    2520x1386 16:9                   @  23.976 fps
    1920x1920                           @  23.976 fps (Not working yet)

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #21 on: July 03, 2018, 09:11:03 AM »
In that case, you don't have the right Crop_rec module file in your build.
The above is very very new, so it isn't even on the normal donwloadpages yet.

Follow the link from 'theBilalFakhouri' he's the one doing all this for the 700d.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19300.msg203316#msg203316

Read the post in the link and download the 'crop_rec.mo' file
https://drive.google.com/open?id=1WWpXITJ9_hdkkcdBj75AercVol1Pe5n4

Now go to the following folder on your SD card,
 /ML/modules/
And replace the crop_rec.mo file you see there, with the crop_rec.mo file you just downloaded.

Now check crop_rec option in ML again  ;)


dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #22 on: July 04, 2018, 05:31:25 AM »
i'll have to try that thanks, do you know where i can get the sd_uhs hack as well?

dener.3id

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 22
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #23 on: July 04, 2018, 06:58:13 AM »
i get the preset to show up but then the interface becomes slow and sometimes the resolution gets locked at 0x0. sometimes it lets me go higher than normal but there just artifacts in live view. and i get raw detect error when i try to record. I get this in both 720p and 1080p modes. Is there something I'm doing wrong?

Levas

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1741
  • 6d - Nightly build user
Re: t5i raw
« Reply #24 on: July 04, 2018, 09:32:41 AM »
@dener.3id

Let's move to the official 700d/t5i thread, where lot's of people with the same camera are able to help you.
I replied here:
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=5951.msg203565#msg203565