Wide Gamut WF and HDR/DualISO/AutoETTR (newbie's chaos)

Started by adrjork, April 29, 2018, 01:36:11 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adrjork

Hi everyone,

As I wrote many times, I'm a self-taught newbie, and I "use" forums to clarify my messy ideas. So, sorry for my basic a chaotic quesions, but I think that probably other guys could be in my condition and could find useful clarifying this topic:

Since I'm an happy user of Magic Lantern's RAW video, I'd like to understand better the concepts of wide gamut and HDR footage. What I hope to have understood is that HDR refers to light, while gamut refers to color: two different things, but I'm interested into how they are related.

Now, my camera (5D3) is set on AdobeRGB, and I shoot videos in RAW. I've read (in this forum) that RAW footage captures more infos even than AdobeRGB, so it should mean that RAW footage has yet wide gamut (perhaps not Rec.2020, but it should be at least as wide as DCI-P3 or even more). So, simply shooting in RAW should let me work in wide gamut workflow. (Right?)

Now, in order to obtain a wider dynamic range, Magic Lantern offers at least 3 tools: HDR, DualISO, and Auto ETTR. More or less, I should have understood that HDR is a tripled-frame capturing to obtain high dynamic frames to both raise shadows and prevent highlights clipping at the same time (right?), while DualISO should do the same thing but this time through a dual-frame capturing and reducing vertical definition (right?), while Auto ETTR should maintain the "distance" between shadows and highlights, raising the shadows and clipping a bit the highlights that are still recoverable thanks to Davinci "recover highlights" button (right?)
Now, these three methods are different, but it seems to me they are oriented to a similar purpose: obtaining the widest dynamic range.

What I hope to have understood is that both HDR RAW and non-HDR RAW videos are good for wide gamut workflow. (right?)