Matching camera Liveview colour to approximate Cinelog-REC709

Started by saf34, March 29, 2018, 03:50:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

saf34

Hi all, I shoot handheld footage on a Canon 5D mk iii.  And I'm wondering how others manage colour while previewing from live view?

Basically: I find that when I import footage that looks good on Live View, I always need to bump up exposure by about 1EV to get a similar exposure in the shadows in REC709.

I can just expose to the right of course.  But then I can't make aesthetic decisions from the live view in real time.  I'd much rather be able to see something that is close to the final result for this kind of work.

My workflow is:
- shoot RAW,
- Adobe ACR to Cinelog-C (usually have to bump up exposure by 1EV)
- After Effects to Cinelog-C DNxHR 444 master

How do other people deal with this?  Or am I missing something (I am pretty new to this)?

Many thanks,
Stewart

Dmytro_ua

Maybe there's a better solution but did you try to lower the brightness of camera screen to match your exposure in post production?
R8 | Canon 16-35 4.0L | Canon 50 1.4 | Canon 100mm 2.8 macro
Ronin-S | Feelworld F6 PLUS

Andy600

Hi @saf34,

You shouldn't be bumping up exposure in ACR with Cinelog as this adversely affects the math. If you need to offset exposure only do it in AE as described in the user guide.