5D3 14-bit, 4k upload, grade and edit in Resolve 14

Started by allemyr, January 29, 2018, 11:20:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

allemyr

Hi Magic Lantern members,

I get better at grading raw footage all the time I think. Started to upload to Youtube 4k instead of Vimeo since i like the quality of youtube now a bit more.

Just did a quick edit from some clips during some months, nothing special maybe but quite awesome quailty this camera with ML has to offer.

Have followed Juan Melaras in colorgrading some years and I really appriciate his blog and grading tips tried to use them here.

Think the footage looks good even though it's upscaled in Davinci Resolve from 1080p to UHD

Best Regards

Karl

manoj.palanivelu

fantastic!

I could not get 4k working in 5d3.

I am new to magic lantern and can you share your work flow starting from camera settings?

I downloaded crop_rec build from https://builds.magiclantern.fm/experiments.html and tried using crop rec with mlv_lt.

Appreciate your help!

Thanks,
Manoj

allemyr

Hi!

Thanks for your reply.

This footage is just upscaled to 4k, it's shot in 1080p 14-bit.

The reason I upscale it, is because of Youtube compresseion differences between 4k and 1080p. The 4k does have more! then 4 times the bitrate i suspect compared to 1080p. And even if you watch it at 1080p the 4k upload, the footage looks better then a 1080p upload watched in 1080p. But I think Davinci Resolve does an excellent job at upscaling, ofcourse you see it in some parts in the image that it's upscaled but its looking so much better then 1080p at Youtube. Why I don't bother with Vimeo anymore is that you have to pay a lot for large file uploads, I think the only plan that suits me is business and its crazy expensive. Even the Pro is limited, I'am a plus member right now just to have my old videos there.

Sorry to say, but I'am maybe the wrong person to answer the in camera 4k feature, in my opinion it isn't worth it. Upscaled 1080p looks fine!