Author Topic: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card  (Read 990 times)

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« on: December 16, 2017, 01:27:29 AM »
I did not find this in any searches that I did, but it may already be answered and someone can point me there.  I have a 5D3 running ML on 1.2.3 firmware.  I would like to record to a video capture card, without actually recording to the CF card in the camera.  Recording in H.264 to the CF card stops at 29:59 (I am aware of the limitation).  Is there a way to do this?  Essentially, open the shutter and have it output continuously until my battery dies?  I appreciate any help here that will get me beyond the 30 minute limit, without going to a larger CF card AND recording raw (not an option).

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11216
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #1 on: December 16, 2017, 01:39:49 AM »
I believe this might do the trick, although I did not have the patience to test it.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=20908.msg193014#msg193014

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #2 on: December 16, 2017, 03:48:42 PM »
Alex -

I wrote the following script and ran it.  But the 5D3 keeps turning off at one minute.  Is there a setting that I am missing somewhere to override that?

Code: [Select]
function main()
    menu.close()
    console.hide()
while true do
            msleep(1000)
end
end

keymenu = menu.new
{
    name   = "Keep Alive",
    help   = "Keeps Live View open indefinitely",
    select = function(this) task.create(main) end,
}

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #3 on: December 16, 2017, 03:59:45 PM »
A1ex -

Nevermind, I forgot to disable the "Auto Power Off".  I am now testing it against the 30 minute issue.  Will report back.

Scott

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11216
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #4 on: December 16, 2017, 04:31:55 PM »
[...] with the lua_fix or crop_rec_4k build, start a Lua script that does nothing, e.g.
Code: [Select]
-- Powersave workaround
while true do
   msleep(1000)
end

Your script looks much more complicated (the above is a complete script, not just a snippet); are you sure you have the right ML build?

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #5 on: December 16, 2017, 04:53:51 PM »
a1ex -

The reason I wrote it as a function is that it would automatically run when the scripts get loaded and I wanted to be able to call it from the menu.  I have now tested it against the 30 minute auto-stop and what happened was that the camera shutter closed, then re-opened immediately.  Not exactly what I was looking for, as I am recording this to an HDMI capture device and that caused me to lose several frames.  Any idea why it restarted at 30 minutes?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11216
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #6 on: December 16, 2017, 05:16:01 PM »
Yes, emphasis added in the above post.

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #7 on: December 16, 2017, 05:37:23 PM »
Forgive my ignorance.   I am new to ML and to scripting.  To which did you add emphasis?  The fact that I wrote a more elaborate script or the type of ML build that I need.  I am currently running your magiclantern-Nightly.2017Oct31.5D3123 release.  Is that not correct?  With regard to the more elaborate script, it was automatically going into that loop at boot and I couldn't make any camera setting changes.   Please kindly advise.

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #8 on: December 18, 2017, 06:44:10 PM »
a1ex -

I appreciate the initial help, truly.   But when that help turns toward arrogance, I can do without it.  I had a legitimate question regarding ML.  I realize that ML is not a panacea for all things in this world, but I was hoping to use it to accomplish what I needed, without going to the expense of multiple video cameras.  So, thank you for the help you provided and I hope that you are able to set aside your arrogance, just enough, to help someone who is not familiar with all of the various builds and "emphasis".

Scott

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6009
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #9 on: December 18, 2017, 07:11:59 PM »
@scottwilkes: Top of page -> Downloads -> Downloads (pull-down menu) -> Experiments

Ceterum censeo experimental builds page esse delendam.

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #10 on: December 18, 2017, 07:28:37 PM »
@scottwilkes: Top of page -> Downloads -> Downloads (pull-down menu) -> Experiments

Ceterum censeo experimental builds page esse delendam.

Thank you.  From the documentation on that page, it appears that I need the 4K version for continuous shooting.  I will try that one and report back.  I appreciate the pointer!

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2798
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #11 on: December 18, 2017, 07:34:39 PM »
I was almost ready to post this when I had to take a detour to find out the meaning of "Ceterum censeo…"  ;)

I hope that you are able to set aside your arrogance, just enough, to help someone who is not familiar with all of the various builds and "emphasis".

I don't see the arrogance but I do see the emphasis.

This gives the easiest workaround: with the lua_fix or crop_rec_4k build...

Those builds already do what you are trying to do:

...it would automatically run when the scripts get loaded...

In addition:

Any idea why it restarted at 30 minutes?

Those experimental builds should have this addressed too.
5D3.* 7D.* 700D.115 EOSM.* EOSM2.103 500D.112

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #12 on: December 18, 2017, 07:53:57 PM »
I was almost ready to post this when I had to take a detour to find out the meaning of "Ceterum censeo…"  ;)

I don't see the arrogance but I do see the emphasis.

Those builds already do what you are trying to do:

In addition:

Those experimental builds should have this addressed too.

I am just going to let things lay where they are at this point and not wade any deeper into a1ex's reply (or lack thereof).  I truly do appreciate the help and the pointer to the correct build.  This is a very important project to me and I wanted to make sure that I captured everything I could, as it happens.  I look forward to its completion and posting a link to an excerpt of his piano recital.  Thank you and Walter again for the help.  And yes, I had to look up his Latin phrase as well!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11216
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #13 on: December 18, 2017, 09:13:28 PM »
Yeah, sorry for answering your question (with link AND quote with the relevant details for your issue AND emphasis on the keywords you have missed), rather than moving this topic where it belongs...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Emphasis_(typography)
http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html#not_losing
http://wiki.magiclantern.fm/faq#how_do_i_record_for_more_than_12_minutes

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #14 on: December 19, 2017, 05:59:12 PM »
I appreciate all the help with this.  Unfortunately, it did not prevent the shutter from closing and re-opening at 30 minutes.  I changed the script to the very simple one that a1ex recommended and have it running.  I also changed the shutter to half-sticky.  I am also running the magiclantern-crop_rec_4k.2017Oct28.5D3123 build, which should be right.  It's not the end of the world (my capture card continues through the shutter movement), but it would have been nice to have a fully uninterrupted recording, greater than 30 minutes via my capture card.  If anyone has any other ideas that might help, please let me know.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11216
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #15 on: December 19, 2017, 07:54:15 PM »
Found the issue and hopefully fixed it (tested against the 1-minute Auto Power Off); new build will appear shortly.

TODO: this should be added in the main menu.

(the sticky half-shutter was confirmed to work many times, but it's quite clunky in my opinion; that's why I was trying to suggest something nicer, that does not lock the GUI like half-shutter does)

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #16 on: December 19, 2017, 08:22:45 PM »
Found the issue and hopefully fixed it (tested against the 1-minute Auto Power Off); new build will appear shortly.

TODO: this should be added in the main menu.

(the sticky half-shutter was confirmed to work many times, but it's quite clunky in my opinion; that's why I was trying to suggest something nicer, that does not lock the GUI like half-shutter does)

Thank you, a1ex.  I look forward to trying it out when you release it....

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #17 on: December 20, 2017, 12:11:03 AM »
a1ex -

I just tried out your new build and it seems to have fixed the issue!  I have my 5D3 powered externally and just sitting there in Live View mode, outputting HDMI to my video capture card in my PC and the shutter did not close/open at 30 minutes.  However, I do have one question.  In my current configuration, I am using a Hauppauge Colossus 2 card to capture the HDMI signal.  This card is reporting that the incoming signal is 1920 x 1080i at 60 fps.  Is there any way to get Live View to output 1920 x 1080p at 30 fps (or some other rate, so just long as it's not "I")?  I have searched the forum for Live View related topics and gone through the ML menu thoroughly, but cannot find out how to change what is being output by Live View.  Any additional pointers would be greatly appreciated.  Thank you for fixing this so quickly!

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11216
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #18 on: December 20, 2017, 12:25:18 AM »
Sorry, no experience with changing HDMI resolutions. There is a menu named HDMI frame rate in 1.2.3, but I've never tried it.

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 63
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #19 on: December 20, 2017, 01:34:22 AM »
5D Mark III 1.2.3:
Canon menu: 'SET UP2' > 'HDMI frame rate': 24p

scottwilkes

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 16
Re: Recording HDMI out to a video capture card
« Reply #20 on: December 20, 2017, 03:26:07 AM »
5D Mark III 1.2.3:
Canon menu: 'SET UP2' > 'HDMI frame rate': 24p

Thanks.  I saw that and it does change the Live View to 24 fps.  But, I was hoping to be able to get 30 fps out of it.  Oh, well, 24 will have to be good enough.