Author Topic: 5d mark II bricked?  (Read 2986 times)

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
5d mark II bricked?
« on: June 07, 2017, 09:31:20 PM »
I possibly ruind my camera. At least I get realy banded pictures now.
I had installed ML and after some playing with its features I switched te cf-memorycard. After every shot an error 70 appeared. By deleting al settings this disapeared but life view isn't'working anymore and I can't restore the firmware 2.1.2. The display says it can't find it on the memorycard. The same for the latest build of ML.

Is there a possibility to get my camera back in a good working order.

Please help!!


walter_schulz

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 379
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2017, 10:25:33 PM »
Do you habe your R0M*.BIN files at hand? Don't link them, just tell.

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2017, 10:54:12 PM »
Sorry,I dont have them

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2017, 11:23:45 PM »
And it is allmost midnight now and tomorrow have to get up early. I appreciate your help very much but will have to reply tomorrow. Thanks!!

reddeercity

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1636
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2017, 04:45:37 AM »
Do have any Log files ?
If you do have another CF card that doesn't have magic lantern on it does it still cause the Liveview problem or error70 ?
This maybe some useful info in this thread https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=18806.msg178955#msg178955

g3gg0

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3109
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2017, 01:17:17 PM »
I can't restore the firmware 2.1.2. The display says it can't find it on the memorycard.

to clarify:
 - magic lantern does not replace any firmware
 - if you started without ML and you cannot update firmware, it's most likely not ML's fault
 - the image areas with weird color are also most likely not MLs fault (*)

(*) = what is technically not impossible is that using ML - especially mlv_lite in a certain release - caused some properties toget overwritten.
but according to your very short issue report, i conclude that you didn't use the highly experimental raw rec build, right?
additionally from experience this scenario is less likely than

 a) a canon firmware bug (yeah there are a few) caused this behavior
 b) your hardware is faulty (also this happens quite often, ML never caused any hardware faults)


so yeah,

1) try to backup the ROM*.bin files, save them in a safe place and delete them from the card.
then ML will create new ones, save them also somewhere.
then you have a *most probably* before-ML memory dump and one *after* ML which then can be compared.

2) tell us more about what modules/features you installed




Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: [email protected]
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2017, 02:59:20 PM »
Hello g3gg0
 I am not an expert on this matter as you have allready noticed.
I presume that aboarding ML by taking out the cf-memorycard to quickly caused some problems in the rom.
Thats why I tried to reload the canon firmware on the camera.
But the camera says it cannot find it on the re-formatted cf-card while I can see, on my computer, that the fir.file is on it .
After that I reformatted the card again, put the latest version of ML on it, but the camera says again it doesn't recognise it on the card.

Can you please tell me how I can backup the rom*.bin files? I am really new in this kind of things.

By the way the camera worked perfecty, has only some 10.000 clicks on it, but after I aboarded ML as ascribed above, the problems started.   

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #7 on: June 09, 2017, 03:43:36 PM »
Do have any Log files ?

If you do have another CF card that doesn't have magic lantern on it does it still cause the Liveview problem or error70 ?

The camera even makes pictures but with all the colorating en banding on it. The display says sometimes it can not show it but does do it nevertheless in a smaller format

This maybe some useful info in this thread https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=18806.msg178955#msg178955
I formatted both my cf memory cards. So when they were on that I wiped them of

Magic lantern doesn't work anaymore on my camera but the live view function doesn't work and I get those clororised and bandend pictures.

Can you or anybody tell me how I can get the camera back in good working condition please?

Ilia3101

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #8 on: June 09, 2017, 06:53:36 PM »
@gertjan More info needed if you want more help...
tell us more about what modules/features you installed
...no one has any idea what it could be without any information
5D2

g3gg0

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3109
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #9 on: June 09, 2017, 08:01:14 PM »
...caused some problems in the rom.

from that sparse information you shared, it looks like some unrelated hardware issue, not a "problem in the ROM"
but please answer my question about modules and features before.

please also describe what is working, what not and what the exact effect is.
probably a video (youtube, vimeo) would help.
Help us with datasheets - Help us with register dumps
magic lantern: 1Magic9991E1eWbGvrsx186GovYCXFbppY, server expenses: [email protected]
ONLY donate for things we have done, not for things you expect!

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #10 on: June 10, 2017, 06:50:55 PM »
from that sparse information you shared, it looks like some unrelated hardware issue, not a "problem in the ROM"
but please answer my question about modules and features before.

please also describe what is working, what not and what the exact effect is.
probably a video (youtube, vimeo) would help.

Thanks All for helping me out!!
When I start up the camera the normal Canon menu's appear, the info button works and so on. I can't see any traces of ML any more. So I can't say which modules are installed. Te last thing I did was playing with some video options in ML. Because I had to take some pictures I took out the  memory card, probably to quickly. Then I had a lot of err 70's. Could only take one shot at the time and saw that the pictures were colorised en banded. Allso the display says it can't show the taken pictures on it  but does do it nevertheless but only in a small version or with a questionmark.
I really don't know if there is any thing left form ML in the camera because the trash can button doesn't work to start the menu for ML nor the live view button.
Thats why I think I need to reinstall the original canon sofware. But when I follow  the procedures for that the display says it is not on the memorycard.
Somewhere in this community I read something about by means of the Eos utility software to install an older firmware for the camera and after that  the latest 2.1.2. So tried to find older firmware but could not find it.
Can that be a solution?
 

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #11 on: June 10, 2017, 07:37:57 PM »
ML is not loading because you formatted the card. Since you don't have any log file, you can try to put ML back - it will try to save a log for every ERR70 event. You will also need to make the card bootable (EosCard).

Reinstalling Canon firmware will most likely solve nothing. As long as you can load ML, the firmware is fine (ML computes a checksum at startup, to prevent loading on wrong firmware versions).

If a firmware cannot be found on the card, it's usually because either the firmware is not on the card (FIR file in root directory), or the card was not formatted in the camera (the bootloader filesystem driver is very picky), or the FIR file does not have exactly 8.3 characters in its name on an EXFAT card (does not apply to 5D2), or if the "card present" signal is not working (the CF driver from the main firmware ignores it, but the bootloader requires it in order to load a FIR or autoexec.bin (so, if you are able to run ML, you can exclude this as well).

The current symptoms point to a possible hardware issue, but I want to confirm it with the logs.

If you removed the memory card too quickly, you would know right away, because the camera would lock up. For 5D2, this will show no signs of life (no LEDs, not reacting to any buttons, not even the on/off switch) until you take the battery out and put it back. If that did not happen, the card was not removed in the critical moment. What other side effects may happen during the lock-up is unknown to me. I've got my 5D2 locked up in this way thousands of times, but the warnings for this operation were given because of another 5D2 apparently had its ROM erased after removing the card in this way (or at least that was my conclusion 5 years ago, when our understanding of Canon's boot process was extremely limited). TLDR - I doubt this card removal process affected your camera in any way.

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #12 on: June 10, 2017, 10:50:58 PM »
ML is not loading because you formatted the card. Since you don't have any log file, you can try to put ML back - it will try to save a log for every ERR70 event. You will also need to make the card bootable (EosCard).

Thanks again for helping me!

I have formatted the cf card in the camera and put the fir file I used before back on it. In the Eoscard program I made it bootable. Put it back in the camera started the firmupdat and than I get the screen that says there is no firmware on the card and I have to remove the battery tot remove that message.
Doing the same procedure with canon firmware go's the same.


Reinstalling Canon firmware will most likely solve nothing. As long as you can load ML, the firmware is fine (ML computes a checksum at startup, to prevent loading on wrong firmware versions).


If a firmware cannot be found on the card, it's usually because either the firmware is not on the card (FIR file in root directory), or the card was not formatted in the camera (the bootloader filesystem driver is very picky), or the FIR file does not have exactly 8.3 characters in its name on an EXFAT card (does not apply to 5D2), or if the "card present" signal is not working (the CF driver from the main firmware ignores it, but the bootloader requires it in order to load a FIR or autoexec.bin (so, if you are able to run ML, you can exclude this as well).

The card not present is detected by the camera

The current symptoms point to a possible hardware issue, but I want to confirm it with the logs.

If you removed the memory card too quickly, you would know right away, because the camera would lock up. For 5D2, this will show no signs of life (no LEDs, not reacting to any buttons, not even the on/off switch) until you take the battery out and put it back. If that did not happen, the card was not removed in the critical moment. What other side effects may happen during the lock-up is unknown to me. I've got my 5D2 locked up in this way thousands of times, but the warnings for this operation were given because of another 5D2 apparently had its ROM erased after removing the card in this way (or at least that was my conclusion 5 years ago, when our understanding of Canon's boot process was extremely limited). TLDR - I doubt this card removal process affected your camera in any way.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #13 on: June 10, 2017, 11:40:03 PM »
If you made the card bootable, you shouldn't have to run Firmware Update again; therefore, if you can exclude user error (e.g. by trying the card in another ML-enabled camera with CF slot - doesn't have to be 5D2), you might have some trouble with the card or the card slot.

To reproduce the behavior in QEMU, set the "CF detect" register to 1 (meaning CF card not present) and run with "boot=1" -> it will not load autoexec.bin (saying that CF is not present), but it will boot the main firmware and initialize the CF driver.

Any bent pins inside?

gertjan

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 8
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #14 on: June 11, 2017, 12:15:16 AM »
If you made the card bootable, you shouldn't have to run Firmware Update again; therefore, if you can exclude user error (e.g. by trying the card in another ML-enabled camera with CF slot - doesn't have to be 5D2), you might have some trouble with the card or the card slot.

To reproduce the behavior in QEMU, set the "CF detect" register to 1 (meaning CF card not present) and run with "boot=1" -> it will not load autoexec.bin (saying that CF is not present), but it will boot the main firmware and initialize the CF driver.

Any bent pins inside?

Hello a1ex thanks again,
Unfortunately I dont have another camera tot check the cf-card on. I tested the card on another card reader detached to a laptop and that seems to work ok.
Your second advice is a bit to tecnical for me. Can you explain to me as a laiman how to do that please?

I checked the cameraslotpins and they are ok.
 



a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11480
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: 5d mark II bricked?
« Reply #15 on: June 11, 2017, 01:10:30 AM »
I meant, you should check whether the card is actually bootable (whether ML loads from it on another camera). You can use any CF camera that has ML enabled (e.g. you may borrow one from a friend for a test). Even if it's not a 5D2, using the card with 5D2 ML on it will still display something on the screen (so you'll know if the card is prepared correctly).

You can also check whether the card is bootable in QEMU, but that's a bit advanced.