Author Topic: Porting a Canon firmware update  (Read 40870 times)

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7496
Re: Porting a Canon firmware update
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2018, 09:21:42 AM »
Offtopic. You are asking for ports for new hardware. This thread is about porting an existing ML version to higher firmware version.

See https://builds.magiclantern.fm/ -> "Your camera is not listed?" and linked threads for Digic VI and VII.
Esp. https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=19737.msg200799#msg200799
Below -> ROM dumpers for 5D4 and 6D2 available: https://builds.magiclantern.fm/ -> ROM dumpers

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Porting a Canon firmware update
« Reply #26 on: May 20, 2018, 05:17:46 PM »
I'll add another link:

ML on EOS-M2
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=15895.msg185084#msg185084

Note that even a camera that should be very similar to the cameras that have already been ported to ML can present quite a few challenges. Cameras like your 5D4 and 6D2 use Digic 6, 6+ and 7 processors. So far ML is working on cameras with Digic 4 and 5 processors.

Porting ML shouldn't require any physical modifications. In fact much of it can be done via QEMU once you're got a firmware dump.

Of course invasive hardware hacking is another way to figure out what makes digital cameras tick -- or rather click?

https://nada-labs.net/2014/finding-jtag-on-a-canon-elph100hs-ixus115/
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102

giuliom92

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Porting a Canon firmware update
« Reply #27 on: May 04, 2020, 11:25:36 AM »
Hello dfort,
I’m having issues porting the firmware, for the EOS 2000d, everything’s fine until I try to disassemble with the script, the script returns
Offset + filesize - 1 > 0xffffffff. We can’t wrap around!

And I tried to adjust the path but it didn’t work, what can I do?

dfort

  • Developer
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3751
Re: Porting a Canon firmware update
« Reply #28 on: May 05, 2020, 07:49:10 AM »
The 2000D has a Digic 4+ processor. Not sure what offset is needed when disassembling.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
5D3.* 7D.206 700D.115 EOSM.203 EOSM2.103 M50.102