Author Topic: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView  (Read 428429 times)

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12318
  • Emergencies only
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #350 on: April 13, 2017, 12:18:06 PM »
Any easter egg planned to support other cams  ;)?

hint, hint ;)

beauchampy

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 302
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #351 on: April 13, 2017, 01:31:25 PM »

The issue seems to be in 1920x1080 48p. Hopefully fixed, but I'm seriously thinking to reduce the default resolution to something like 1040 (thus breaking the promise of 1080p48). Any objections?

Ouch, so no more 16:9 slow motion? This is kinda a big deal for someone like me to *has* to deliver in 16:9 to some clients..

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12318
  • Emergencies only
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #352 on: April 13, 2017, 01:55:55 PM »
You still have the option to fine-tune the internal parameters until you get continuous recording with no errors or corrupted frames. No programming knowledge is required (just fiddle with numbers from the menu), but it can easily take hours of tinkering until you find a sweet spot.

starimage

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #353 on: April 13, 2017, 02:18:18 PM »
First of all, thank you so much for the tremendous work and the joy that you give us.
At me a following problem - on all last experimental insertions in a Ņropmode the screen becomes pink and there are diagonal strips. In the raw mode this does not happen

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #354 on: April 13, 2017, 02:25:49 PM »
Okay so I went in for a second test. Over all here is what I am finding

3k 2.35:1 14 Bit lossless Preview auto is very stable

1920x1080 48p, 14 Bit lossless, Preview auto, out of focus scene - not stable lots of crashes even when not Rec out of focus scene

1920 2.35:1 48p, 14 bit lossless, preview auto, out of focus scene - not stable lots of crashes even when not Rec

1920 2.35:1 60p, 14 bit lossless, preview auto - seemed more stable did not crash. Pressed half shutter and it crashed

1920 2.35:1 60p, 14 bit lossless, preview real time - seamed more stable no crash

1920 2.35:1 48p, 14 bit lossless, preview real time - seemed more stable

1920 2.35:1 48p, 14 bit lossless, preview - framing crashed

There were more rec attempts in there but that is all I can remember for now. Unfortunately Ill have to stop testing for a bit. Here are my asserts

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2111 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2111 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2118 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2118 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2118 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2118 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2118 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2111 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2111 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2111 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

Magic Lantern version : crop_rec_4k.2017Apr12.5D3113
Mercurial changeset   : dcdf7432df74 (crop_rec_4k) tip
Built on 2017-04-12 20:31:48 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 163K + 3116K




a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12318
  • Emergencies only
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #355 on: April 13, 2017, 02:42:03 PM »
48p might be a little better in Apr13.

Otherwise, see the last 2-3 messages. Decreasing vertical resolution in the crop_rec submenu is the only way I know to reduce the frequency of these "crashes" (actually corrupted frames).

DeafEyeJedi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3346
  • 5D3 | M1 | 7D | 70D | SL1 | M2 | 50D
crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #356 on: April 13, 2017, 03:59:09 PM »
The issue seems to be in 1920x1080 48p. Hopefully fixed, but I'm seriously thinking to reduce the default resolution to something like 1040 (thus breaking the promise of 1080p48). Any objections?

Yes. Let's keep tinkering down on this one please. 1080p 48p is crucial. Especially for HDR video kind of work.
5D3.113 | 5D3.123 | EOSM.203 | 7D.203 | 70D.112 | 100D.101 | EOSM2.* | 50D.109

squig

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 518
  • Crash test dummy MK3
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #357 on: April 13, 2017, 04:39:56 PM »
Upscaling in post is a thing. I've shot stuff in 720p crop mode that I'd be comfortable projecting on a 40 foot screen. I can put nitrous in an old Honda, that doesn't make it smart. Reliability trumps  (for want of a better word) a few more pixels every time.

Vegandelight

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #358 on: April 13, 2017, 05:22:03 PM »
I havent tried the latest build but i tried running a manual lens on the camera today, the screen doesnt turn on when in video mode. Works in photo mode.

HAs anyone experienced that?

mageye

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
  • Atheist
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #359 on: April 13, 2017, 05:44:39 PM »
Yes.

On Samyang 35mm (manual)

I get: 'Ensure a lens is attached. Press START STOP button to activate movie shooting.'

I think it's just a lens communication thing
5DMKII | 500D | KOMPUTERBAY 32GB Professional 1000x |Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III | Zoom H2 (4CH. audio recorder) | Mac OS X 10.9.2 | Photoshop CC | After Effects CC | Final Cut Pro 7

Vegandelight

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 27
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #360 on: April 13, 2017, 05:53:04 PM »
Yes.

On Samyang 35mm (manual)

I get: 'Ensure a lens is attached. Press START STOP button to activate movie shooting.'

I think it's just a lens communication thing

Thats a normal error, but when you press START STOP the screen goes black and you can hear the mirror locking up like it should. But no image.

mageye

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
  • Atheist
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #361 on: April 13, 2017, 06:27:53 PM »
Oh. Well I get the image so who knows what's happening there?
5DMKII | 500D | KOMPUTERBAY 32GB Professional 1000x |Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III | Zoom H2 (4CH. audio recorder) | Mac OS X 10.9.2 | Photoshop CC | After Effects CC | Final Cut Pro 7

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12318
  • Emergencies only
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #362 on: April 13, 2017, 06:33:34 PM »
When it happens here, pressing MENU twice solves it (see first post).

mageye

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 296
  • Atheist
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #363 on: April 13, 2017, 06:42:46 PM »
Back to the crop record.

I have noticed something which at first may appear bizarre:

Indoors I get significantly longer record times at higher resolutions than I do outdoors. This has happened repeatedly over a few days now.

I am thinking it has to do with light levels, detail and compression.

eg.

I have been able to record over 16 seconds at 3840x1280@23.975 inside and just about 2 - 4 seconds at the same settings outside!

(14-bit lossless compression)
5DMKII | 500D | KOMPUTERBAY 32GB Professional 1000x |Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | Samyang 35mm f/1.4 ED AS UMC | Canon EF 75-300mm f/4-5.6 III | Zoom H2 (4CH. audio recorder) | Mac OS X 10.9.2 | Photoshop CC | After Effects CC | Final Cut Pro 7

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #364 on: April 13, 2017, 07:24:37 PM »
Testing April 13 build. Much more stable for sure! Compression seems to be tricky still. I'm not the biggest fan of how slow settings (shutter ISO ect) appear to change when in Framing LV but I know it serves a purpose to get proper preview with low processing power.
If we can some how cap the data rate that would be insane. But then I guess it would be lossless at that point.

Higher detail low contrast scene, F1.6 1/125 (1/98) ISO 800
1920 2.35:1 14 Bit lossless 1920 48p preview auto - fairly long rec
16:9 Did not make estimated rec time

1920 2.35:1 14 Bit lossless 1920 60p preview auto - Did not make estimated rec time

3072 2.35:1 14 Bit lossless 3k 1:1 23.976 preview auto seamed good.
16:9 Did not make estimated rec time

On same scene I changed the shutter speed F1.6 1/50 (1/98) ISO 800 then none of the above modes made there estimated rec time.
It seems that if more detail is brought out of low exposure zone, less info gets tossed which means higher data rate.

No crashes/bad frame warnings until I lowered the shutter down to 1/30 in 3072 2.35:1 14 Bit lossless 3k 1:1 23.976 preview auto. Then it crashed/bad frame warning ML assert

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2120 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2120 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3

Magic Lantern version : crop_rec_4k.2017Apr13.5D3113
Mercurial changeset   : cf07f797b9c3 (crop_rec_4k)
Built on 2017-04-13 10:34:53 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 163K + 3115K

hindra

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 41
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #365 on: April 13, 2017, 07:46:19 PM »
Anyone else just try 1080p raw with the 1080p all-i proxie with the new april 13th build? Is it broken? Here is what happened to me today.

1080p raw w/ proxie broken, raw to CF and all-i to SD - Stops recording after a few seconds, camera locks up, preview still works, global draw on or off. After messing with proxie, 14bit lossless no longer working? recording at 90+mb/sec for 1080p as stated on my liveview monitor.

ML ASSERT:
0
at mlv_lite.c:2113 (compress_task), task compress_task
lv:1 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : crop_rec_4k.2017Apr13.5D3123
Mercurial changeset   : cf07f797b9c3 (crop_rec_4k)
Built on 2017-04-13 10:35:29 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 166K + 3785K


ML ASSERT:
RAW_IS_IDLE
at mlv_lite.c:592 (measure_compression_ratio), task shoot_task
lv:1 mode:3


Magic Lantern version : crop_rec_4k.2017Apr13.5D3123
Mercurial changeset   : cf07f797b9c3 (crop_rec_4k)
Built on 2017-04-13 10:35:29 UTC by jenkins@nightly.
Free Memory  : 167K + 3119K


I uninstall ML, format card in pc, then format in camera, then load ML software and reload firmware to set bootflag.

Still recording at 90mb/sec and in canon menu at format menu it shows no use of CF card. I am also now having issues recording with any of the crop_rec options. Recording stops very quickly. What did I break?  :(

EDIT:
Lossless is still working, looking at footage the 1080p raw stills are only 1.90MB
SL1 100D.100A - 5D - 7D2 - 5D3 1.2.3

Quentin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 131
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #366 on: April 14, 2017, 10:53:18 AM »
Cant hide my excitement.
ML makes my camera as good as cameras costing $$$$$$
and still ML moves on ...
Gratitude!

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #367 on: April 14, 2017, 02:51:00 PM »
@a1ex Tested the April 14th Build last night here are my results..

3K 2.35:1 14bit Lossless = Ok
               12bit Lossless = Liveview splits in to two screens and image is not really viewable. Recording stops quickly and compression error pops up on screen
               10bit Lossless = Same
                 8bit Lossless = Same
 
1080p 45/48fps 3x3 16:9 - 14bit Lossless = Records for a few seconds than crashes camera
                                        12bit Lossless = Same
                                        10bit Lossless = Same
                                          8bit Lossless = Same 

1080p 60fps 3x3 16:9      - 14bit Lossless = Records for longer time than 48fps, than after crashes camera
                                        12bit Lossless = Same
                                        10bit Lossless = Same
                                          8bit Lossless = Same 
 
Note after trying the slowmo functions camera turns on but ML Liveview only shows a black screen, without magic lantern sd in camera liveview works. 

@Quentin Very exciting

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12318
  • Emergencies only
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #368 on: April 14, 2017, 03:05:16 PM »
Reproduced - looks like we've got some image processing module that has to be reconfigured for correct resolution. That means, solving this would be one tiny step closer towards fixing LiveView.

(I've only tested the 8...12-bit settings in plain 1080p, without crop_rec)

goldenchild9to5

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 534
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #369 on: April 14, 2017, 03:20:34 PM »
@a1ex Yeah LiveView seems to be very complicated wish I knew coding to help out. Do you think LiveView will ever be as smooth as 1080p in 3k - 4K mode?  Gonna try them in 1080p today, and I'm gonna keep testing.  All those new feature ad-ons makes this camera an elite camera.  Thank you for your hard work. 

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 479
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #370 on: April 14, 2017, 03:59:44 PM »
12, 10, 8 bit Lossless!!!!!!!!!! Am I reading this correctly? Oh man. This is unreal!

anto

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 21
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #371 on: April 14, 2017, 04:06:32 PM »
Grazie a1ex! Magic!

Inviato dal mio HTC One utilizzando Tapatalk


zeus12

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #372 on: April 14, 2017, 04:07:36 PM »
10 bit, 8 bit compressed raw? Am I dreaming? Thanks for your ingenious work!

GutterPump

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 180
  • 5DIII/5DII/550D
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #373 on: April 14, 2017, 04:43:57 PM »
Just tested the new 14 april build.

I'am able to record in crop mod with 8 10 and 12 bits lossless. (but now in crop mod, i can't use more than the 2:35 ratio "eg : 3104x1320"  and FPS are locked to 29 if we dont use FPS override. Even if we are in PAL)

This is just crazy in what the 5D mark III is become.

This mean we will really record 3.5k 4k continue.

---

Here a zip with DNG if some want check how look 8/10/12 bits lossless

https://www.dropbox.com/s/pj7db1izytkj3zj/8_10_12bitslossless_samples.zip?dl=0

Three samples from 3284x1320@24 clip

Danne

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6003
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #374 on: April 14, 2017, 04:56:48 PM »
Quote
This mean we will really record 3.5k 4k continue.
  :o