Author Topic: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView  (Read 327947 times)

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 4442
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1575 on: May 01, 2018, 08:27:56 PM »
Set preferred card to sd card. It will send H.264 to SD while RAW goes to CF card...

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1576 on: May 01, 2018, 10:30:06 PM »
Thank you! It works. I have never used this setting before, but recorded on both cards. Very strange.
Canon 5D3,1.1.3 CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme, 90MB/s, 64GB.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1577 on: May 01, 2018, 10:50:11 PM »
Changing preferred card in ML menu is not required - all you need is to change the current card in Canon menu. H.264, being a Canon feature, uses that setting. The "preferred card" option only operates at startup to change the selection from Canon menu. It does nothing else - read the help.

On this branch, RAW/MLV always goes to CF if there's one inserted (for speed reasons).

vstrglv

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 161
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1578 on: May 02, 2018, 10:51:13 AM »
Changing preferred card in ML menu changes preferred card in Canon menu (after reboot). So in order to record on two cards preferred card in Canon menu must be SD.
Canon 5D3,1.1.3 CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme, 90MB/s, 64GB.

pc_bel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1579 on: May 02, 2018, 03:30:33 PM »
Thanks :)

First post recommends something else (real-time uses too much CPU), though I might have something that will help (check twitter).

I'm curious too... Checking Twitter every day but nothing yet.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1580 on: May 02, 2018, 03:55:41 PM »
Have you checked on April 1st? It was there when I've written that. It's still there. What do you expect?

OK, maybe it wasn't interesting enough, judging from other forum posts. Anyway, my CF card is dead from that experiment, so I'm taking a short break.

The source code is online, you can push it forward while I'm taking care of other parts of ML (not video-related).

pc_bel

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 132
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1581 on: May 03, 2018, 03:49:02 PM »
Aaahhh, ok!! SD card overclocking...
I didn't expect nothing. Just I didn't know what were you talking about.
Thanks for the clarification.

unfilmde

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 42
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1582 on: May 06, 2018, 08:00:43 PM »
I'm a big proponent of Magic Lantern. I lead the Creative Cow Canon DSLR forum and constantly recommend it as well as work flows.

My question I have for this forum and maybe it's obvious and I'm missing it, but if I install the latest experimental build of the 4k version of ML on my Canon 5D Mark III with 1.3.2 firmware, do I get the same nightly build as "magiclantern-Nightly.2018May01.5D3123" which I currently have installed, WITH the ability to do 3K/4K cropped? or are the normal feature in "magiclantern-Nightly.2018May01.5D3123" missing and it is only focused on3K/4K cropped?

In other words do I get everything the normal nightly build has plus the addition of 3K/4K cropped?

TIA!



pgrandaw

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1583 on: May 07, 2018, 04:59:50 PM »
Hi a1ex + ML geniuses, thank you for all your amazing work!

Wondering if you can shed some light on a buggaboo I'm having. All of my normal 1080p/24 RAW footage is great. I load the Raw video v2 (mlv_rec) for that and shoot 14bit lossless and it looks fantastic!

However, when I replicate your settings exactly for shooting 1920x818 48p for slow-mo, the footage just comes out with a black preview (or one broken image preview for all dngs) and unrecognizable as a dng for use after conversion (MLV Mystic, MLVFS, raw2dng, Mlrawviewer). Here are my settings:

-magiclantern-crop_rec_4k.2018Mar10.5D3113 (I've also tried 2018May1 build)
-5d Mark III firmware 1.1.3 (I've also tried v1.2.3 - no luck!)
-Modules: crop_rec, mlv_lite
-RAW Video: On, 1920x818, 2.35:1, 14 bit lossless ~50%, preview: Real-time, no Sound recording
  (says in green - 62.9MB/s, 120x2.2MB, 48.000p (50%). Continuous recording OK.)
-Crop Mode: 1080p45/1040p48 3x3
-Canon Menu: 1280x720 60fps ALL-I
-FPS override : OFF (automatically shows gray 48.000, Rs.83% which should be great)
-ISO: 100
-Shutter 1/130
-Global Draw: I've tried both On and Off, same result
-CF card for record: SanDisk Extreme Pro 128gb 160mb/s, SD card for firmware: SanDisk Extreme Pro 32gb, 95mb/s

I've tried every Data Format configuration. The only one that works has been 10 bit uncompressed.

Were you able to get 14bit Lossless to work, and if so, could you tell me what I'm missing? I've reloaded all the firmware exactly how it's supposed to be done, tried v.123 as well as v.113 (what I'm using now) and nothing seems to work, the footage is not in a supported format when converted to dng (I've narrowed it down to where it seems the original mlv's are corrupt in some way). When I switch to mlv_rec (v2) I am able to record usable footage so it doesn't seem to be the camera or the cards, but I don't get the same size options as using mlv_lite.

I'd love to be able to shoot RAW slo-mo at 1920x818 2.35:1 48fps if possible. I'd be grateful for any help!!

Thanks!   :)
Canon 5D3,1.1.3 CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme, 90MB/s, 32GB.

JCut

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1584 on: May 07, 2018, 10:58:47 PM »
Were you able to get 14bit Lossless to work, and if so, could you tell me what I'm missing?

Maybe it's your method of conversion ?  Your MLV conversion must be able to decode the lossless format.  I'm using MLVFS but there's an updated version that can convert lossless files.  You could try uploading a short clip to see if anyone else can decode it.

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1585 on: May 08, 2018, 10:33:00 AM »
14bit lossless is only in mlv_lite.mo not mlv_rec.mo

Have you tried MLV App ? same thing?
If it still not working I assume the MLV files is corrupted. Because as a1ex said:

Regarding 1080p48 - it was pushed a bit over the safe limit, so I've reduced its resolution to 1040. You still have the option to go back to 1080 in the crop_rec submenu; however, you'll get a lot of errors. With some fiddling, you can probably get 1060 (e.g. set Target YRES to 1060 and Delta HEAD3 to -20), but I wouldn't trust it yet.

So maybe you can override it to 45fps or lower the resolution in 48fps ?

EDIT: I saw you have already lowered the resolution to 1920x818, so maybe it's about converting method, Try MLV App.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

pgrandaw

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1586 on: May 08, 2018, 05:00:19 PM »
Thanks theBilalFakhouri and JCut!

Have you tried MLV App ? same thing?

EDIT: I saw you have already lowered the resolution to 1920x818, so maybe it's about converting method, Try MLV App.

Switching to the MLV App did the trick. The footage converted just fine! I ran a load of tests today and I'm able to do pull 1920x1040 16:9 in 14bit lossless at 45fps just fine. I tried to do it at 48fps but only got 9 secs. However when I turned Global Draw off, I was able maintain continuous recording. (Also the 1920x818 works great at 48fps.)

Again, many thanks for your help. Sometimes it's the simple things.

One question - when forcing 45fps for 1920x1040, I can't select 1/130th shutter speed but can do 1/80 or 1/180. Which would you guys recommend?
Canon 5D3,1.1.3 CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme, 90MB/s, 32GB.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1587 on: May 08, 2018, 05:05:56 PM »
when forcing 45fps for 1920x1040

That should be done from Canon menu, as FPS Override is not fully compatible with crop_rec at the time of writing. Refer to previous posts for details.

Quote
Because as a1ex said:
Quote from: a1ex on August 26, 2017, 11:27:03 PM
    Regarding 1080p48 - it was pushed a bit over the safe limit, so I've reduced its resolution to 1040. [...]

[...]

I saw you have already lowered the resolution to 1920x818 [...]

FYI, lowering the resolution in the raw recording menu has absolutely nothing to do with what I said back then. The video mode configuration (including the likelihood of getting corrupted frames) is given by crop_rec settings, so if you have problems with randomly corrupted frames, you should reduce the vertical resolution in the crop_rec submenu, not elsewhere. Reducing the resolution in the raw recording menu simply selects the crop area that ends up recorded, but does not affect the image capture process in any way.

This does not apply to pgrandaw's issue; it's just something to keep in mind when recommending things for troubleshooting.

pgrandaw

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1588 on: May 09, 2018, 12:24:09 PM »
That should be done from Canon menu, as FPS Override is not fully compatible with crop_rec at the time of writing. Refer to previous posts for details.

Thanks a1ex, yep I have the Canon menu set to 1280x720/60. I just didn't know if I should manually set the FPS override to 45p but it seems to be capturing 48p with a 2.35:1 ratio so that's awesome. I won't set any override.

I know you've heard it a million times but thank you!
Canon 5D3,1.1.3 CF-SanDisk Extreme PRO,160MB/s, 256GB, SD-SanDisk Extreme, 90MB/s, 32GB.

pewpow

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1589 on: May 09, 2018, 02:18:26 PM »
I am experiencing different shutter speed recording in resolutions higher than 1920x1080, mainly in the 3.5k 1:1 mode. I set my shutter at 1/50 for my regular 1080p 14 bit recording but when I change to lets say 2880 resolution, the maigclantern shutter speed suddenly shows 1/30 or so, but also after having imported the footage it says 1/30 while my Canon shutter speed is on 1/50.

Also the whitebalance doesn't work in crop mode 3.5k 1:1. everytime I 'half-press shutter' in 3.5k mode, the liveview has a completely different tone than when not in crop mode

Firmware 1.2.3 and 1.1.3(on this firmware now), 5DIII, komputerbay 1066x 64gb

kye

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 9
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1590 on: May 20, 2018, 11:33:25 AM »
Is there any discussion or development on a >1080p H264 mode?

With the 40MB/s cameras the limitation is SD write speed, so maybe we can pipe the enhanced resolution of crop mode into a compressed file?

I know we will have other bottlenecks in the system (like reading from the sensor, the digic processor compression, etc etc) and probably can't even do 3K, but even 2.5K H264 mode would be spectacular!

(Many thanks for what the devs have already achieved - in asking this I feel like a kid asking for more presents after already opening a bunch of awesome ones already!)

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6236
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1591 on: May 20, 2018, 11:47:41 AM »
H.264 encoding for 1080p is done in hardware (blow up from native LV resolution to Full HD, noise reduction, sharpening) and IMO there is not that much knowledge about chip's abilities.
Don't hold your breath.

kimbray

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1592 on: May 20, 2018, 08:16:36 PM »
Is there a quick printable/savable user guide for this experiment version. I keep forgetting the steps to set this up on camera.. Any help appreciated. Thanks!

Walter Schulz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 6236
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1593 on: May 20, 2018, 08:23:50 PM »
Video on page 1, post 1 doesn't help?
And storing those settings (config preset) would be helpful, too.

kimbray

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 15
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1594 on: May 20, 2018, 08:32:12 PM »
OK relooked at video again. Yes I can do that way. Then save as presents.. Thanks! Been a while since I did the 4K and want for a trip I am about to take. CHEERS!

ibrahim

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 167
  • 5D3 / 600d
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1595 on: May 27, 2018, 12:59:42 AM »
With the expterimental crop_rec will 5d3 be able to transfer a 4K output through hdmi to an external monitor that supports 4K or is the camera restricted to 1080p even though a monitor would support 4K?
Two Canon 5D Mark IIIs & Canon 600d (Magic Lantern nightly builds) | Ronin-M | Rokinon 35mm T1.5 Cine AS UMC | Samyang 85mm T1.5 UMC AS Cine VDSLR II   | Canon EF 24-105mm f/4L IS USM | Canon EF 50mm f/1.8 II | etc
Dual sound system: Tascam DR-60d MKII | Audio Technica AT899 | Sennheiser MKE 600

jimiz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 37
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1596 on: May 28, 2018, 10:56:40 AM »
hdmi> same preview like lcd.... :-X

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1597 on: May 28, 2018, 06:43:30 PM »
For 700D users let's try the new resolution 2520x1384 ~16:9 @ 23.976

Download the hardcoded adtg_gui for 700D from here

1-Put into modules folder (you must ran a build from crop_rec_4k branch)
2-Enable adtg_gui --> go to adtg_gui submenu --> Advanced --> Enable DIGIC Registers
3-Go to PLAY mode and back again to live view
4-Select 14-bit lossless from mlv_lite (12-8bit lossless not working in higher resolutions @a1ex why and what is the solution?)
5-Go back to adtg_gui submenu again --> Advanced --> then apply the preset "1:1 2.5K 16:9 cope mode (700D)" then magnification and get into x5 crop mode.

Check mlv_lite resolution!

Don't about weird live-view in non crop mode this is normal. The live view is working in x5 mode.
Make your tests and feedback!

Same steps for the 3K 3072x1304 @ 20fps using this adtg_gui --> replace it (don't worry about adtg_gui,, I am trying to implement it to crop_rec module)

The live view is not working in this mode! you must choose Framing in mlv_lite to see what's happening.

And feedback again for corrupted frames  :P
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11721
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1598 on: May 28, 2018, 06:57:22 PM »
12-8bit lossless not working in higher resolutions @a1ex why and what is the solution?

Other image processing modules have to be reconfigured for the higher resolution. The solution is probably somewhere in these huge logs, but I didn't try to decipher them yet.

That's massive progress btw - two weeks ago I was completely clueless where to start looking; now I believe I've narrowed it down to a few thousand registers :D

O jus a few thousand registers  to try, I'm almost there ;D


P.S. To see the source code for the above modules:
Code: [Select]
cd magic-lantern/modules/
./module_hginfo_dump.sh adtg_gui.mo

theBilalFakhouri

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 219
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1599 on: May 28, 2018, 08:09:04 PM »
Who said the live view is very hard to fix?

The Slicers registers has arrived!

ADTG[807c] Slicing and Tilting
ADTG[8048] Overlapping
ADTG[80a0] Strong Tilting
ADTG[8084] Strong Tilting
ADTG[80a4] Tilting

e.g Let's break the live view by decreasing the resolution a small step: C0F0[6804]=0x4540298 to 0x4540297 (2520x1080 to 2512x1080 on 700D X5 mode)

Now this how it looks the live view:
LV 000 00000" border="0

Let's try to fix it with above registers,, what about ADTG[80a0]=0x1090000 to 0x1080000
LV 001 00000" border="0

A lot better?

This is simple example but the ugly news I couldn't do it for increasing the resolution,, the live view freezes when adjusting ADTG[80a0]  in the opposite way.

There also registers for stretching the live view.

I will edit the post later.
700D 1.1.5 | no more ISOless LV err 8