Author Topic: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView  (Read 265738 times)

tigerbengal2009

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1550 on: March 31, 2018, 10:33:57 AM »
Hi everyone, a quick question/clarification about mlv_lite 60p
Canon 5d MIII firmware 113, ML4k firmware March 10 2018, lexar 64gb 1066x.
canon menu : video 1280x720 60p ALL-I
modules loaded: mlv_lite, crop_rec
RAW video ON, 1920x800
crop mode, enable, 1920 50/60 3x3 selected

I cannot get continues recording...only 20, or 25 30 seconds.

If I press the magnify  button one time, 5x, the video is no longer 59.940 (60p) it changes to 29.776 (30p) is that normal? or is anything else I have to change to get the 60p when I am in 5x?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11218
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1551 on: March 31, 2018, 11:01:10 AM »
If I press the magnify  button one time, 5x, the video is no longer 59.940 (60p) it changes to 29.776 (30p) is that normal? or is anything else I have to change to get the 60p when I am in 5x?

The x5 mode is only affected by the x5 preset in crop_rec; all the others operate on regular (non-zoomed) modes. By default (even with vanilla Canon firmware), the x5 zoom mode operates at 29.776 FPS on 5D3 (not to be confused with 29.970 aka 30p) and captures a 3.5K wide image (YMMV on other models). Only a small part gets displayed on the screen, but the entire frame can be recorded.

The x5 preset will override the FPS in x5 to 24/25/30p, as selected in Canon menu, for convenience, but that won't give you 3.5K at 60 FPS.

The "1920 1:1 tall" preset also operates on 50/60p - you may be looking for that.

whysodifficult

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 18
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1552 on: April 01, 2018, 01:05:45 AM »
Hm, i set shutter speed at 60, but on footage it's always 51. When set 30, it's also lower. Is this a familiar problem? 5DM3, 3-3,5k crop



Quentin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1553 on: April 01, 2018, 06:47:38 AM »
Its 1st of April. The Front Image of ML website shows a broken camera :(
I guess we will have news soon

jimiz

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 28
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1554 on: April 01, 2018, 08:59:56 AM »
HAPPY BIRTHDAY "3,5 K" ML !!!!!    ;) :D

X-RAY

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 34
  • Germany - 5DIII
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1555 on: April 01, 2018, 01:14:46 PM »
So, is there something to talk about today?  ???
In any case, happy birthday! :-D
www.frankenfotograf.com
instagram.com/frankenfotograf

tigerbengal2009

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1556 on: April 01, 2018, 09:53:14 PM »
Hi A1ex, thank you for your response, at first I didn't understand what you mean about using the 1920 1:1 tall, but after trying it , the look is close to the x5, thanks for the advice.

My main goal is to record 1920x800 at 60p, and for some reason I can only have 14 seconds  of recording. Using all the settings recommended
-5d Mark III firmware 1.1.3
-Canon Menu: 1280x720 60fps ALL-I
-RAW Video: On, 1920x800, 16:9, 14 bit loss less, preview: Real-time
-crop mode 1920 50/60 3x3
-fps override : OFF
-iso: 100
-vutowb
-Shutter 1/130
-USING a fast card lexar 1066x 64gb

ML Main menu said you can record continuously.

I only want to be able to record 1 minute but what  am I doing wrong???? Hope you can point me in the right direction, thanks A1ex


The x5 mode is only affected by the x5 preset in crop_rec; all the others operate on regular (non-zoomed) modes. By default (even with vanilla Canon firmware), the x5 zoom mode operates at 29.776 FPS on 5D3 (not to be confused with 29.970 aka 30p) and captures a 3.5K wide image (YMMV on other models). Only a small part gets displayed on the screen, but the entire frame can be recorded.

The x5 preset will override the FPS in x5 to 24/25/30p, as selected in Canon menu, for convenience, but that won't give you 3.5K at 60 FPS.

The "1920 1:1 tall" preset also operates on 50/60p - you may be looking for that.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11218
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1557 on: April 01, 2018, 10:02:51 PM »
HAPPY BIRTHDAY "3,5 K" ML !!!!!    ;) :D

Thanks :)

preview: Real-time

First post recommends something else (real-time uses too much CPU), though I might have something that will help (check twitter).

tigerbengal2009

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1558 on: April 01, 2018, 11:06:20 PM »
yes I changed preview to Frozen LV, same thing a few seconds as before.

OK I'll wait for twitter post.

By the way Happy Birthday ML 4K...Thank you very much A1ex and all the great people who made possible this awesome feature for the 5d Mark III !!!


Thanks :)

First post recommends something else (real-time uses too much CPU), though I might have something that will help (check twitter).

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 478
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1559 on: April 04, 2018, 03:22:04 AM »
So I absolutely love MLV Lite and the Crop rec 4k module. So many awesome things in the newest build. I had a couple of thoughts.
It would be awesome to be able to get into our favorite crop rec 4k mlv lite settings faster like custom presets. Presests specific to MLV lite and crop rec 4K.

Ex: on 5D3 I use 3k x5 mode so if I went into my hypothetical module I would pick 3k and my settings would come up
3072
2.35:1
23.976
Canon 1920x1080 23.976
x5 zoom
canon zoom enabled
1/50 shutter
12bit lossless
framing
sound on
all gets chosen.

Or my 60fps option:
1920
2.35:1 (1920x800)
60fps
Canon 1280 60p mode
1/125 shutter
10bit uncompressed
Real time live view
No sound
All gets chosen.

I threw the shutter option in there because it's just one more step we don't have to take if we are trying to stick with a certain shutter degree ex 180° shutter.

That way we can get in and out of our favorite crop rec 4k MLV lite settings faster when doing some run and gun.

Also it's real tricky monitoring in the framing modes. I see how they help with write speed and its incredible that we even get framing period but I would love to be able to contribute to better live view. Especially for the less intensive settings.

I realize NONE OF THIS IS AND EASY TASK. And I am sure most of this has been mentioned. I am sorry for my brain storming but I thought I would throw it out there. I'm just a humble tester and user so take this all as a grain of salt. I am overjoyed with 1920x1080 24fps RAW with sound and fast start by itself. Just contributing my thoughts.

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11218
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1560 on: April 04, 2018, 03:02:29 PM »
Should be doable with Lua scripts. Save these under ML/SCRIPTS:

5x.lua
Code: [Select]
-- 3K 24p x5 with sound

-- close ML menu to get into LiveView
menu.close()

-- change settings from ML menu
menu.set("Movie", "Crop mode", "3.5K 1:1 centered x5")
menu.set("Movie", "RAW video", "ON")
menu.set("Movie", "FPS override", "OFF")
menu.set("RAW video", "Aspect ratio", "2.35:1")
menu.set("RAW video", "Data format", "12-bit lossless")
menu.set("RAW video", "Preview", "Framing")
menu.set("Sound recording", "Enable sound", "ON")
menu.set("Overlay", "Global Draw", "ON, all modes")
menu.set("Display", "Clear overlays", "OFF")
-- etc

-- FIXME: user needs to switch to 1080p24 from Canon menu
lv.zoom = 1

while menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "") ~= "23.976" or not camera.gui.idle do
   display.notify_box("Please switch to 1080p24 from Canon menu.")
   msleep(500)
end

-- ready to enter x5 crop mode
lv.zoom = 5

-- finally set the resolution
-- fixme: doesn't seem to work if you have fine-tuned it
menu.set("RAW video", "Resolution", 3072)

-- finished!
display.notify_box(string.format(
        "Ready!\n%s %s",
        menu.get("RAW video", "Resolution", ""),
        menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "")
    ),
    2000
)

60p.lua
Code: [Select]
-- 1920x800 60p, no sound

-- close ML menu to get into LiveView
menu.close()

-- change settings from ML menu
menu.set("Movie", "Crop mode", "1920 50/60 3x3")
menu.set("Movie", "RAW video", "ON")
menu.set("Movie", "FPS override", "OFF")
menu.set("RAW video", "Aspect ratio", "2.35:1")
menu.set("RAW video", "Data format", "10-bit")
menu.set("RAW video", "Preview", "Real-time")
menu.set("Sound recording", "Enable sound", "OFF")
menu.set("Overlay", "Global Draw", "ON, all modes")
menu.set("Display", "Clear overlays", "Recording")
-- etc

-- close x5 zoom, should it happen to be enabled
lv.zoom = 1

-- FIXME: user needs to switch to 720p60 from Canon menu
while menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "") ~= "59.940" or not camera.gui.idle do
   display.notify_box("Please switch to 720p60 from Canon menu.")
   msleep(500)
end

-- finally set the resolution
-- fixme: doesn't seem to work if you have fine-tuned it
menu.set("RAW video", "Resolution", 1920)

-- finished!
display.notify_box(string.format(
        "Ready!\n%s %s",
        menu.get("RAW video", "Resolution", ""),
        menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "")
    ),
    2000
)

Was it hard? You can customize pretty much any ML settings. You can assign these presets to hotkeys or create custom menus, too. See the Lua API for more.

The only rough edges were:
- When switching the video setting in Canon menu, which is not available to Lua. A long time ago, ML had the option to switch video modes from code... until I've got a corrupted H.264 (fixable by clearing Canon settings). Maybe worth a second look, after understanding how these settings are changed.
- With the dynamic raw video resolution menu (doesn't seem to work well if you have fine-tuned it to some value not in the pickbox)

Tip: use these often enough and they will appear in the Recent (star) menu.



BTW, why did you choose 10-bit uncompressed (70%) over 14-bit lossless (50-65%) for 60p? Are you shooting at ISO 6400+ ?

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 478
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1561 on: April 04, 2018, 03:40:31 PM »
So So So Awesome! I need to try scripting. I have been using ML for to long not to try scripts

BTW, why did you choose 10-bit uncompressed (70%) over 14-bit lossless (50-65%) for 60p? Are you shooting at ISO 6400+ ?

I had some issues when shooting in 14 bit lossless at ISO 100 when shooting up at the trees on overcast day. Using March 10 2018 build 5d3 113.

Can shutter speed be changed with Lua too? 1/125 with 60 or 1/50 for 23.976?

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 11218
  • 5D Mark Free
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1562 on: April 04, 2018, 07:43:20 PM »
That might be a bit too verbose, but works:

Code: [Select]
camera.shutter = 1/50

See also Bracketing with flash (another simple example).

Danne

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3844
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1563 on: April 04, 2018, 09:13:01 PM »
Thanks for easy to follow lua examples. A piece here and there helps moving forward.

hjfilmspeed

  • Senior
  • ****
  • Posts: 478
  • 5D III and IV
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1564 on: April 04, 2018, 10:41:44 PM »
Modifying a lua script from a1ex... this is a proud day for me especially since it worked. Thank you thank you thank you for scripting this a1ex!!!

These have shutter speed changes depending on frame rate. The shutter change has to be put after the frame rate change otherwise you will crash the script since the canon wont allow you to use a shutter lower then 1/60 in a 60p mode.

Check this before you use because I KNOW nothing about ML code but I was able to quickly toggle between 1920 2.35:1 24fps and 1920x800 60fps. Much faster. I assume this will only work in manual mode since shutter speed is being modified.
Code: [Select]
-- 1920x800 60p, no sound

-- close ML menu to get into LiveView
menu.close()

-- change settings from ML menu
menu.set("Movie", "Crop mode", "1920 50/60 3x3")
menu.set("Movie", "RAW video", "ON")
menu.set("Movie", "FPS override", "OFF")
menu.set("RAW video", "Aspect ratio", "2.35:1")
menu.set("RAW video", "Data format", "10-bit")
menu.set("RAW video", "Preview", "Real-time")
menu.set("Sound recording", "Enable sound", "OFF")
menu.set("Overlay", "Global Draw", "ON, all modes")
menu.set("Display", "Clear overlays", "Recording")
-- etc

-- close x5 zoom, should it happen to be enabled
lv.zoom = 1

-- FIXME: user needs to switch to 720p60 from Canon menu
while menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "") ~= "59.940" or not camera.gui.idle do
   display.notify_box("Please switch to 720p60 from Canon menu.")
   msleep(500)
end

-- finally set the resolution
-- fixme: doesn't seem to work if you have fine-tuned it
menu.set("RAW video", "Resolution", 1920)

camera.shutter = 1/125


-- finished!
display.notify_box(string.format(
        "Ready!\n%s %s",
        menu.get("RAW video", "Resolution", ""),
        menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "")
    ),
    2000
)

Code: [Select]
-- 1920x818 24p with sound

-- close ML menu to get into LiveView
menu.close()

-- change settings from ML menu
menu.set("Movie", "Crop mode", "OFF")
menu.set("Movie", "RAW video", "ON")
menu.set("Movie", "FPS override", "OFF")
menu.set("RAW video", "Aspect ratio", "2.35:1")
menu.set("RAW video", "Data format", "12-bit")
menu.set("RAW video", "Preview", "Real-time")
menu.set("Sound recording", "Enable sound", "ON")
menu.set("Overlay", "Global Draw", "ON, all modes")
menu.set("Display", "Clear overlays", "OFF")
-- etc

-- FIXME: user needs to switch to 1080p24 from Canon menu
lv.zoom = 1

-- close x5 zoom, should it happen to be enabled
lv.zoom = 1

while menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "") ~= "23.976" or not camera.gui.idle do
   display.notify_box("Please switch to 1080p24 from Canon menu.")
   msleep(500)
end

-- finally set the resolution
-- fixme: doesn't seem to work if you have fine-tuned it
menu.set("RAW video", "Resolution", 1920)

camera.shutter = 1/50


-- finished!
display.notify_box(string.format(
        "Ready!\n%s %s",
        menu.get("RAW video", "Resolution", ""),
        menu.get("FPS override", "Actual FPS", "")
    ),
    2000
)

Definitely triple check these before using ha ha warning I stink at this it might break your cam ha ha.

Quentin

  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 107
Re: crop_rec on steroids: 3K, 4K, 1080p48, full-resolution LiveView
« Reply #1565 on: April 12, 2018, 08:51:34 AM »
Hello everyone

I use latest experimental build on my Canon 5d Mk3.
I had the MLV Sound module enabled.
I do not see the Switch that records sound in Camera Audio menu.
I used the Raw Recorder module that records sound.
I recorded pictures successfully with some warning messages about sound.
Any clue ?