Some doubt on MLV utilities

Started by adrjork, March 22, 2017, 02:42:10 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

adrjork

Hi everyone,
I'm pretty new to MagicLantern, I've read a lot of pages about utilities to convert MLV RAW (no audio) into DNG, but there are so many apps and so many versions... I'm confused and I'd like to make a clear point about it. Could you help me, please?

Let start saying that I work with an Hackintosh (Nvidia GPU) and OSX 10.12.3 Sierra.
Up to now (similar Hackintosh with Yosemite) I've always used simply RAWMagic to convert mvl RAW (no audio) into DNG, but since I use Sierra the app crashes always on startup.
---If you know how to solve this issue, please help, thanks.---

So I decide to move to another app: MlRawViewer or raw2dng. Raw2dng 0.13 can't load my mlv RAW files (?), instead it seems that 0.9 version can do. I also tried MlRawViewer 1.4.3 and I've noticed that the White Balance seems to be NOT the same as the original shot, so here I have some question:
1. About both raw2dng and MlRawViewer: do I need to install Adobe DNG Converter? And if so, do I simply need to install it, or should I use it in someway? And once installed, do the 2 apps respect the original White Balance? (RAWMagic had an autodetect WB function.)
2. RAWMagic had a vertical stripes correction function: it seems that MlRawViewer has it too (right?), but what about raw2dng?
3. MlRawViewer is the only one that asks me to set the color curve (linear, log-C, sRGB, etc.). I think I prefer to make all the color changes later in Davinci, so I suppose it's better in this step to maintain the original curve of the original shot (right?) But which is the original curve? I use a Canon 5D3 and I've semply noticed in the Canon menu that the color space is set to sRGB: does this mean that the original curve is sRGB?