Error 70

Started by Brian Blagowsky, February 24, 2017, 08:55:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brian Blagowsky

I have a 5DII which I rent out. I started shooting with it yesterday, and after a few minutes, I received a prompt that the card was full. I had forgotten to check the card before recording.  The last person that used it had left numerous files on that card.  When I tried to remove that card and insert another, I received a prompt that the card needed to be formatted to work with this camera.  I tried to reformat the card, but the camera wouldn't let me reformat the card.  I ejected that card and tried another. Same thing. I tried several more cards, and could not get any of them to work with the camera.  I can turn the camera on without a card in it, and then insert a card, but I get an Error 70 message. Does anyone know what that means?

It seems as if the camera is perhaps locked up in some kind of boot up

I have tried to use Disk Utility to erase and reformat a card (Mac OS X Extened Journaled) and recopy some older ML files from July 2013, and that would not work.  I downloaded the latest Nightly Build, and tried copying those files to a reformatted card, but that still isn't working.  Can anyone help?

a1ex

ERR70 covers over 1000 error conditions, so unless you can get a crash log, there's no way to guess what causes it.

Normally, ML saves such logs as soon as it encounters this condition (so, just start from a ML card, and make sure ML is actually loading).

Brian Blagowsky