Author Topic: Latest Lua fix and step size  (Read 3822 times)

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Latest Lua fix and step size
« on: January 07, 2017, 05:13:41 PM »
Didn't know where to post this.

I'm using the latest nightly experimental: https://builds.magiclantern.fm/jenkins/job/manual_lens_info/5/artifact/platform/EOSM.202/magiclantern-manual_lens_info.2017Jan06.EOSM202.zip

I'm using this test script:

Code: [Select]
test_menu = menu.new
{
    name = "Show keypress",
    choices = { "Off", "On" },
    value = "On",
}

function event.keypress(key)
    if key == KEY.INFO then
        repeat
lens.focus(-1,3,false)
until lens.focus_distance >= lens.hyperfocal
    return false
    else
        return true
    end
end

All it does is move the lens to the hyperfocal after pushing the [INFO] button.

The thing is: change the step size, 1 vs 3, doesn't seem to change the lens drive on my EOSM.

Not sure why?

Any ideas?

Cheers

Garry

Licaon_Kter

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 519
  • M

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Re: Latest Lua fix and step size
« Reply #2 on: January 07, 2017, 06:02:03 PM »
@Licaon_Kter

Not sure: but I don't think so.

But I need someone to confirm, ie who does the changes to lens.focus (if any).

Cheers

Garry

dfort

  • Guest
Re: Latest Lua fix and step size
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2017, 06:13:10 PM »
Do these comments help: https://bitbucket.org/hudson/magic-lantern/pull-requests/748/focus-backend-updates-precise-focus/diff ?

I jumped into the deep end when trying to help a1ex and went way over my head. Looks like there are still issues with the EOSM and 6D to resolve before we can get more precise focusing control. Right now it looks like focus control isn't working at all with EF-M lenses.

garry23

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2218
Re: Latest Lua fix and step size
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2017, 06:22:51 PM »
Daniel

I can drive an EF lens OK, bt can't change the step size via lens.focus.

Also, sometime it wont start moving, but will work OK if I give it a little 'nudge'.

Cheers

Garry

Audionut

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3657
  • Blunt and to the point
Re: Latest Lua fix and step size
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2017, 03:41:29 AM »
I would like to see all LUA related stuff (somewhere) in the scripting section.  http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?board=53.0

That's what that section is there for.  ;D