Author Topic: "Scroll" HDMI output  (Read 3315 times)

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
"Scroll" HDMI output
« on: December 29, 2016, 12:42:07 AM »
Many HDMI monitors have 1:1 view (pixel per pixel) but most of them can display only center of view. Scroll display is not possible.

Is it possible add feature "Shift HDMI output" to "Arrow/SET shortcuts" for display optional part of view in center of HDMI output?


80D shifting the display buffer (from Twitter by a1ex ?):
https://twitter.com/i/status/1094263460672794624

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12198
  • Maintenance mode
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2017, 06:16:13 AM »
Somehow this one slipped through the cracks, but is really easy to implement.

http://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=21108.msg194848#msg194848

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2017, 08:51:23 PM »
Quote
However, the feature you are looking for is really easy to do - just change the display buffer address (start from the full-screen magic zoom code or HDR video flicker workarounds, and tweak from there). Scrolling left to right should be straightforward; scrolling up and down will display additional things (likely noise), but if you can zoom on the external monitor, that should be harmless.
Please, can someone help with implementing?

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2018, 12:34:50 AM »
Quote
Please, can someone help with implementing?

Hope dies last :-)

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2002
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2018, 04:37:07 AM »
Interesting never notice this before , I can see this to  be very useful specially in 3x crop mode or even 4k , UHD resolution .
I have a old Zacuto hdmi evf that has 1:1 , auto scaling etc. ...
I'll have a look and see what I can do .
loaded the TFT_SIO Communication module from dfort downloads (thanks I don't have to compile myself to save time)
I see so promise already  :)  ran it on top of startup log memspy  build from a1ex
A series of brute force regs. started to move the liveview screen right & left about 150 to pixel vertically,
Almost seems it's moving to the OB range , I try and get a screen shot later .

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2002
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2018, 01:19:34 AM »
Some 5D2  HDMI Log information here  , hopefully it will be helpful in development of this feature request 

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2002
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #6 on: February 04, 2018, 07:25:41 AM »
Found out what the HDMI chip is on 5D2 "TDA19989AET/" data sheet below
https://media.digikey.com/pdf/Data%20Sheets/NXP%20PDFs/TDA19989.pdf

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2018, 11:30:41 PM »
Without any progress?

reddeercity

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2002
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2018, 07:53:36 AM »
Sorry haven't had the time to look at this again , this is very low on my priority list at the moment
I'm focusing more on Lossless Compressed raw , 3.5k/UHD/Raw& Mjpeg plus 10-12bit raw video on digic iv cams in particular  5D2

a1ex

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 12198
  • Maintenance mode
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #9 on: June 05, 2018, 05:13:10 PM »
FYI: https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=16040.msg202394#msg202394

Quote
Anyone who understands the above stuff will be able to implement this feature request in no time.

domasa

  • Freshman
  • **
  • Posts: 86
Re: "Scroll" HDMI output
« Reply #10 on: September 22, 2018, 11:46:54 PM »
Quote
Anyone who understands the above stuff will be able to implement this feature request in no time.

Is there developer with no time? ;)