Canon T5i (700D) Raw video Camera write speed too slow?

Started by dutchbushcraft, June 09, 2016, 08:16:50 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

dutchbushcraft

Hello everyone,

I am sorry to ask this without proper introduction. I am new to filming with DSLR's but wanted to up my quality of my videos.
I bought a sandisk extreme 64gb classified as 90mbs write and 95mbs read. http://www.dataio.nl/sandisk-64gb-sdxc-extreme-pro-uhs-i-95mbs/?gclid=CjwKEAjwp-S6BRDj4Z7z2IWUhG8SJAAbqbF3Jis3FdTYesgJzLxo5Agm9qo3zn_g2hiY9TsvTocHpBoCto_w_wcB

The 700d predicts that I would write 80mbs with raw video on 24fps. However as soon as I start recording after a second or 3 it starts skipping massive amounts of frames. I did a speed test on my  pc using crystal disk mark. I get exactly 90mbs / 95mbs as advertised. However, the benchmark on the canon 700D maxed out at 37mbs. What am I doing wrong here? Does the card need to be formatted in a certain way to achieve max write speeds with the canon?

Thanks for your help!

Walter Schulz

SD-card interface in 700D is limited to about 41 MByte/s in write mode. 720p24 should be no problem. Anything beyond is not expected to record continuously.

dutchbushcraft

wesley426

Hello, I'm using the same camera... I'm wondering if you have posted your workflow/settings anywhere... Thanks for sharing if you have. I was not able to get the raw video working very well... I would experience dropped frames on anything past 12.5 frames per second... So right now I'm just using the dual ISO HDR video module instead... Thanks for sharing any ideas or suggestions.

Walter Schulz

1. Benchmark your card.
- Modules tab -> Bench.mo ON
- Restart cam, photo mode
- Overlay tab -> Global Draw OFF
- Debug tab -> Benchmarks -> Card Benchmarks -> Quick R/W benchmark (1 min)

Fast cards should pass 40 MByte/s writing.

2. Check RAW resolutions settings.