Timelapse Questions

Started by limey, November 08, 2016, 11:34:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

limey

I have a lot of experience shooting timelapses with ML now for a few years. However, I'm about to embark on a month long timelapse. I think the cameras (3) will run 24 hours a day with plugin adapters.

What I want to know is will AutoETTR be the best method? I have done some timelapses where the AutoETTR looks like its failing and not adjusting the exposure properly. Particularly from daytime to Sunset. Is it something to just keep the faith in and let it be or will it need to be massaged?

limey

Additional info. These cameras will be largely unmanned for the month, however, I plan to check on them every 3 days. I'm wondering if a timer on the outlet would be a good idea since no activity will occur at night so no point firing shots.

If I used this timer, would it not allow the timelapse to restart when the power came back on? Unfortunately I don't have time to test it.
https://www.amazon.com/Enover-Programmable-Digital-3-prong-Appliances/dp/B0191ZGELS/

PaulHarwood856

Hey limey,

I'm not quite sure about the second post, but if you shoot time lapses with ML, I would enable Post DeFlicker if you can. This might be able to fix any issues that come up with Auto ETTR. Also, have you considered HDR video at all? For extended dynamic range?

- Paul Harwood

a1ex

Figuring out how much to adjust an overexposed picture is much harder than the other way.

Therefore, you may want to underexpose a bit (reduce exposure target, increase highlight ignore) and use the SNR limits for shadows and midtones (they are easy to meter and statistically robust).

Mixing dual iso will most likely give trouble; either keep it enabled at say 100/1600 all the time, or keep it off (this depends on whether you will have DR issues with your scene). Keeping it off is probably the best choice.

The longest ETTR timelapse I've tried was about 24 hours.