Author Topic: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6  (Read 198301 times)

heder

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 152
  • No time for caution
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #425 on: January 25, 2021, 08:31:59 AM »
Hi petabyte

Briliant idea to make a video  :), a image says more than a 1000 words.

Your console says your trying to enter ML via space key , your console = "Key event: 39 -> 0xc01"
But you should be using delete key, my console = "Key event: 59 -> 0401"

(But If you are infact using delete and QEMU translated this into key event for space, then the problem is qemu and then you should recompile and use SDL)
Embedded SW engineer. Canon 20d, 40d, 350d

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #426 on: January 30, 2021, 08:28:14 PM »
I had figured that out, but thanks. I had to press A.

deviousfusion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #427 on: February 01, 2021, 10:54:45 AM »
Some updates:
The 1300D has UART port accessible by removing the thumb grip above the DPAD. Some 1300D do not have the connector soldered on, but the pads on the PCB are visible. I was able to probe test the pins and got a pinout diagram:

Pin No.|    1|    2|    3|   4|    5|    6|
STATE|   0V|  3V3|  3V3|   G|  3V3|  3V3|
Func.|MPU Rx|MPU Tx|UNKNOWN|GND|CPU Rx|CPU Tx|

Console outputs
Probing pin 2 gives:


Probing Pin 6 gives:
Code: [Select]
#
  2010: 14066.703 [FM] FM_Suspend : Normal
 Firm Jump RAM to ROM 0xFE0C0000
K404 READY
     0:    13.602 [STARTUP]
K404 ICU Firmware Version 1.1.0 ( 4.4.6 )
    57:   119.351 [RSC] hMemoryQueue (0x660012) hStorageQueue (0x680014)
   121:   137.499 [RTC] PROPAD_GetPropertyData : PROP_RTC 0xfd
   122:   138.857 [RTC] ChangePropertyCBR 0x0, 0x4000
   123:   139.113 [RTC] RTC_Permit 0x20
   134:   139.440 [SND] Seq LPC fin
   151:   142.332 [ENG] [ENGIO](Addr:0x4fb40000, Data:0x   30000)
   154:   150.577 [WB] AdjustWb Done.
   168:   152.797 [TERMINATE] SHUTDOWN init comp
   170:   152.884 [TERMINATE] Abort init comp
   192:   156.561 [MC] PROP_GUI_STATE 0
   197:   156.859 [MC] JobState 0
   200:   157.573 [MC] PROP_LCD_OFFON_BUTTON : 1
   202:   157.758 [MC] PROP_VARIANGLE_GUICTRL : Enable
   205:   158.770 [MC] regist master CardCover
   248:   174.656 [PRP] M:37 F:0 L:0 P:B T:1
   378:   254.481 [LV] [GMT] PROP_TEMP_STATUS : STATUS_NORMAL
   498:   264.995 [LV] InitializeLiveViewDefectDetection
   902:   299.478 [MD] Init RCh1=0, RCh2=0
   905:   300.002 [MD] Set RCh1=d, RCh2=18
  1292:   863.742 [INDEV] INDEV_Initialize
  1299:   865.931 [HDMI] [MID] HDMI_IP_Initialize
  1315:   885.667 [IMPP] H264E InitializeH264EncodeFor1080pDZoom
  1316:   885.741 [IMPP] H264E InitializeH264EncodeFor1080p25fpsDZoom
  1352:   906.774 [MR_MOV] (Empty Func) MVW_RegisterXmpDataCallback
  1422:   929.689 WARN [LVDS] First Get DTS_GetAllRandomData
  1524:   940.646 [GUI] MainEventHandler PROP_QR_DIDNOT_EXECUTE(0)(0)
  1570:   945.934 [STARTUP] startupInitializeComplete
  1572:   946.095 [MC] cam event guimode comp. 0
  1732:   996.044 [MC] cam event guimode comp. 0
  1829:  1171.131 [DISP] TurnOnDisplay action Type=0

Now here is where I'm stuck. I do not know what the connector is called.  This is what it looks like (its not JST):

deviousfusion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #428 on: February 06, 2021, 10:04:15 AM »
Some more updates:

I was able to find the connector: https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/jst-sales-america-inc/A06SUR06SUR32W203A/9947452

Once that was wired in, I was able to enable the bootflag



Now the fun part begins. Gonna follow @heder's instructions to get a build on QEMU first.

vicenzzopaiva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #429 on: February 06, 2021, 06:57:48 PM »
VERY nice, great work here.
I’m temporarily with a 1300D, alongside with the M and the 1200D. Let me know if i can help with anything
EOS M - 2.0.2 - Danne's feb21 build
70D    - 1.1.2 - ArcziPL’s mar19 build

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #430 on: February 10, 2021, 08:48:01 AM »
A "big step" forward ...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

mdlockyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #431 on: February 10, 2021, 05:24:33 PM »
This is awesome.

moloch

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 3
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #432 on: February 10, 2021, 07:28:55 PM »
amazing work!

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #433 on: February 16, 2021, 07:10:31 PM »
Ok ... I was able to run ML on 1300D...at least start with ML ... I think... but DISP keys, MENU, Play, SET stops working ....
If I hold down the SET button and turn on the 1300D, the buttons work ... and if I enter the menu, I see:
Code: [Select]
Ver. firmware 1.1.0-ml-offSo ... start ML ...
But if I start normally ... I can't get into ML.
All I have to do is dig...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #434 on: February 17, 2021, 01:00:27 PM »
First boot with ML:


... and the first self-test...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

heder

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 152
  • No time for caution
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #435 on: February 17, 2021, 01:50:55 PM »
"thumbs up"  ;D

Embedded SW engineer. Canon 20d, 40d, 350d

Cukmekerb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #436 on: February 22, 2021, 07:25:23 PM »
Wow this is really cool! I've been lurking here for a long time (2019) but never posted. I'm really excited that you've managed to get this to work. I have a bit of experience programming (though never C and I've also never used QEMU) and a 1300D, so I'd be willing to help. Let me know what I can do, I'd love to use this.

kiksy

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #437 on: March 01, 2021, 10:18:26 AM »
I used ML extensively on my old 550d which I later sold. Got a bargain 1300d a year or so ago and really excited to see ML might be possible on it!

Cukmekerb

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #438 on: March 22, 2021, 01:26:36 AM »
Hey, I tried to find the latest repo for 1300d ML but couldn't. Where is the most recent code?

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #439 on: March 29, 2021, 06:58:05 PM »
I believe the same question was answered in the last page.
https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=17969.400

small3687

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #440 on: May 11, 2021, 11:02:55 AM »
I've been watching this since I bought a 1300D in 2018. I put magic lantern on an old powershot and have been looking forward to putting it on my 1300D someday.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #441 on: May 13, 2021, 07:52:13 PM »
Hello!
A working version ... what I tested was intervalometer, which until now after 2-3 frames, I received error 70. Now it works ...I hope  :P
If there are others to test ...
https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021May13.1300D110.zip
There are still problems to be solved ... but I hope this is the beginning ...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

glaucohf

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #442 on: May 13, 2021, 09:39:12 PM »
Nice! I missed the file ML-SETUP.FIR at this zip.

Can you send it for us?

vichu

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #443 on: May 15, 2021, 04:42:50 PM »
I have a canon-1300D with firmware version1.1.1, I tried downdating it to the previous version1.1.0 and 1.0.2 using the utility software, I followed the tutorial in this forum,

at the last step the utility software prompts to press the SET button to update the firmware, but there is no prompts popping up in the camera back screen(even after i close the software prompt by pressing ok button),
do i have to press the SET button in the black screen? or do i have to unplug the device and proceed to software update as usual?

I tried both but neither of them worked,

when I unplug the device and proceeds the software update there is still the older firmware version warning showing up,

when I tried pressing SET button while in the black screen nothing happens, just black screen till I switch the device off.
I am doing everything as said in the tutorial.

Edit: I just noticed this method to downdate the firmware from 1.1.1 to 1.1.0 and it worked.
can some one update this on the general downdate tutorial section?
vichu

CanonCasey

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 7
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #444 on: May 16, 2021, 03:12:16 PM »
I would test, but I'm not sure if there's anything I need to do to get it working as it won't install ML. I've installed ML on different cameras before, but this one just won't run the nightly.
Astrophotographer/Photographer

denizza

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #445 on: May 16, 2021, 05:32:55 PM »
Hello, I can test it. I am pretty much noob with ml so can you tell me what should I test and how? And can I brick my 1300d with it?

Walter Schulz

  • Contributor
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8085
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #446 on: May 16, 2021, 06:16:36 PM »
To users asking to test this build: It doesn't work out-of-the-box!

ATM there is no option to generate a FIR file to enable camera bootflag. ATM enabling bootflag requires a non-standard operation via cam's UART interface. https://www.magiclantern.fm/forum/index.php?topic=7531.msg233933#msg233933

If you know how to do that (I guess if you have to google UART first you don't) you want to contact devs on discord.

To clarify: Only those able to access and handle UART properly will be able to test ML for 1300D in the present state!
And yes: You can damage your cam by doing so.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #447 on: May 21, 2021, 01:19:29 PM »
A new version.
https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021May21.1300D110.zip
I activated some menu functions + some software changes.
If you can help me with tests. Thank you.
P.S. I come back with the changes made in the source

New version:
https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021May26.1300D110.zip
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 44
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #448 on: June 04, 2021, 03:09:43 AM »
I'm working on getting Picture Transfer Protocol (USB) to enable the boot flag.
Here is a working demo: https://github.com/petabyt/sequoia-ptpy

It's highly unstable, and takes around 30 or so attempts in order to
get a OK response from the camera.

I've only been able to test it on the 1300D, but I think this
might work on all Canon DSLRs.

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 170
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #449 on: June 05, 2021, 02:06:11 PM »
A new version. I solved the problem with prevent Canon firmware from turning off LiveView after 30 minutes.
It works in both photo and video mode.
https://bitbucket.org/ccritix/magic-lantern-git/downloads/magiclantern-Nightly.2021Jun05.1300D110.zip
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2