Author Topic: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6  (Read 160326 times)

heder

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 146
  • No time for caution
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #425 on: January 25, 2021, 08:31:59 AM »
Hi petabyte

Briliant idea to make a video  :), a image says more than a 1000 words.

Your console says your trying to enter ML via space key , your console = "Key event: 39 -> 0xc01"
But you should be using delete key, my console = "Key event: 59 -> 0401"

(But If you are infact using delete and QEMU translated this into key event for space, then the problem is qemu and then you should recompile and use SDL)
Embedded SW engineer. Canon 20d, 40d, 350d

petabyte

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #426 on: January 30, 2021, 08:28:14 PM »
I had figured that out, but thanks. I had to press A.
Astrophotographer, C, x86 ASM programmer
https://github.com/pufflegamerz/
Canon Rebel T6/1300D

deviousfusion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #427 on: February 01, 2021, 10:54:45 AM »
Some updates:
The 1300D has UART port accessible by removing the thumb grip above the DPAD. Some 1300D do not have the connector soldered on, but the pads on the PCB are visible. I was able to probe test the pins and got a pinout diagram:

Pin No.|    1|    2|    3|   4|    5|    6|
STATE|   0V|  3V3|  3V3|   G|  3V3|  3V3|
Func.|MPU Rx|MPU Tx|UNKNOWN|GND|CPU Rx|CPU Tx|

Console outputs
Probing pin 2 gives:


Probing Pin 6 gives:
Code: [Select]
#
  2010: 14066.703 [FM] FM_Suspend : Normal
 Firm Jump RAM to ROM 0xFE0C0000
K404 READY
     0:    13.602 [STARTUP]
K404 ICU Firmware Version 1.1.0 ( 4.4.6 )
    57:   119.351 [RSC] hMemoryQueue (0x660012) hStorageQueue (0x680014)
   121:   137.499 [RTC] PROPAD_GetPropertyData : PROP_RTC 0xfd
   122:   138.857 [RTC] ChangePropertyCBR 0x0, 0x4000
   123:   139.113 [RTC] RTC_Permit 0x20
   134:   139.440 [SND] Seq LPC fin
   151:   142.332 [ENG] [ENGIO](Addr:0x4fb40000, Data:0x   30000)
   154:   150.577 [WB] AdjustWb Done.
   168:   152.797 [TERMINATE] SHUTDOWN init comp
   170:   152.884 [TERMINATE] Abort init comp
   192:   156.561 [MC] PROP_GUI_STATE 0
   197:   156.859 [MC] JobState 0
   200:   157.573 [MC] PROP_LCD_OFFON_BUTTON : 1
   202:   157.758 [MC] PROP_VARIANGLE_GUICTRL : Enable
   205:   158.770 [MC] regist master CardCover
   248:   174.656 [PRP] M:37 F:0 L:0 P:B T:1
   378:   254.481 [LV] [GMT] PROP_TEMP_STATUS : STATUS_NORMAL
   498:   264.995 [LV] InitializeLiveViewDefectDetection
   902:   299.478 [MD] Init RCh1=0, RCh2=0
   905:   300.002 [MD] Set RCh1=d, RCh2=18
  1292:   863.742 [INDEV] INDEV_Initialize
  1299:   865.931 [HDMI] [MID] HDMI_IP_Initialize
  1315:   885.667 [IMPP] H264E InitializeH264EncodeFor1080pDZoom
  1316:   885.741 [IMPP] H264E InitializeH264EncodeFor1080p25fpsDZoom
  1352:   906.774 [MR_MOV] (Empty Func) MVW_RegisterXmpDataCallback
  1422:   929.689 WARN [LVDS] First Get DTS_GetAllRandomData
  1524:   940.646 [GUI] MainEventHandler PROP_QR_DIDNOT_EXECUTE(0)(0)
  1570:   945.934 [STARTUP] startupInitializeComplete
  1572:   946.095 [MC] cam event guimode comp. 0
  1732:   996.044 [MC] cam event guimode comp. 0
  1829:  1171.131 [DISP] TurnOnDisplay action Type=0

Now here is where I'm stuck. I do not know what the connector is called.  This is what it looks like (its not JST):

deviousfusion

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #428 on: February 06, 2021, 10:04:15 AM »
Some more updates:

I was able to find the connector: https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/jst-sales-america-inc/A06SUR06SUR32W203A/9947452

Once that was wired in, I was able to enable the bootflag



Now the fun part begins. Gonna follow @heder's instructions to get a build on QEMU first.

vicenzzopaiva

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 11
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #429 on: February 06, 2021, 06:57:48 PM »
VERY nice, great work here.
I’m temporarily with a 1300D, alongside with the M and the 1200D. Let me know if i can help with anything
EOS M - 2.0.2 - Danne's feb21 build
70D    - 1.1.2 - ArcziPL’s mar19 build

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 159
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #430 on: February 10, 2021, 08:48:01 AM »
A "big step" forward ...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

mdlockyer

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #431 on: February 10, 2021, 05:24:33 PM »
This is awesome.

moloch

  • New to the forum
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #432 on: February 10, 2021, 07:28:55 PM »
amazing work!

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 159
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #433 on: February 16, 2021, 07:10:31 PM »
Ok ... I was able to run ML on 1300D...at least start with ML ... I think... but DISP keys, MENU, Play, SET stops working ....
If I hold down the SET button and turn on the 1300D, the buttons work ... and if I enter the menu, I see:
Code: [Select]
Ver. firmware 1.1.0-ml-offSo ... start ML ...
But if I start normally ... I can't get into ML.
All I have to do is dig...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

critix

  • Contributor
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 159
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #434 on: February 17, 2021, 01:00:27 PM »
First boot with ML:


... and the first self-test...
Canon 1300D, 500D, EOS M, EOS M2

heder

  • Developer
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 146
  • No time for caution
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #435 on: February 17, 2021, 01:50:55 PM »
"thumbs up"  ;D

Embedded SW engineer. Canon 20d, 40d, 350d

Cukmekerb

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #436 on: February 22, 2021, 07:25:23 PM »
Wow this is really cool! I've been lurking here for a long time (2019) but never posted. I'm really excited that you've managed to get this to work. I have a bit of experience programming (though never C and I've also never used QEMU) and a 1300D, so I'd be willing to help. Let me know what I can do, I'd love to use this.

kiksy

  • Just arrived
  • *
  • Posts: 1
Re: Canon EOS 1300D / Rebel T6
« Reply #437 on: March 01, 2021, 10:18:26 AM »
I used ML extensively on my old 550d which I later sold. Got a bargain 1300d a year or so ago and really excited to see ML might be possible on it!